We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit, but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galata Tower

Galata Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.75*
and up
Morning Galata Tower and City Tour of Istanbul
Ranked #21 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Built in 500 A.D., Galata Tower is one of the dominating landmarks of Istanbul. It was used as a watchtower to help defend the city.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The view from the Tower was great, especially given that it was sunset. But, even during winter, thus a presumably smaller crowd, I couldn't help but feel like I was packed in a can of sardines on the walkway around the top of the tower. The walkway is about one and a half persons wide- that with everyone stopping to take pictures and taking in the view made it a bit annoying. I would recommend the stop to a claustrophobe, but otherwise sort of worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,959
    2,121
    876
    181
    83
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
668 reviews
468 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Panoramic View of The City And Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

A pleasant walk across the Galata bridge and the meandering streets, fish market and other shops will lead you to the Galata Tower. It's quite steep, so you can always stop for refreshment in one of the many cafés. But the trip is worth it, fantastic Panoramic views across Instanbul, The Bosphorus, Sea of Marmara and The Golden Horn. There are lifts to take you up and down, a nice cafe and even a fair priced restaurant. The walkway at the top is quite narrow, but alright if people follow the instructions of walking one way round, chaos if someone hasn't read it or ignores it! Still it adds to the fun! If you can choose a day when there is less haze, the views are wonderful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Ridiculous price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had heard a great deal about this location and was curious to see the view. Not a long wait at supper time but then she hit me - over 80 Lira ($40. CDN) for two. I asked three times if I had the price right. I thought: "I am not wanting a pass to Disneyland - just a view of the city" and waded back through the cue. Once bitten, overly shy. What is charged to go up into the Empire State Building?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 22Duckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“superb view / long queue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

waited for over 1 hour to get to the terrace. Worth it! However, i don't want to think how it is during full season. better have strong nerves. especially if you plan to see the sunset: the people might actually stop on the terrace for good 20 minutes, maybe even more so the queue kind of gets stuck.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlinRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant area, nice shops and a great wine bar. Didn't go up the tower but impressive from outside none the less. Makes for a good pic

Helpful?
Thank PietiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galata Tower also viewed

 

Been to Galata Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing