We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the Roof Top Bar for the View”
Review of Grand Yavuz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Ranked #561 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Didn't stay here but friends did and said it was good. We joined them for drinks at the roof top bar (enclosed) and restaurant. Fantastic views over historic Istanbul and drinks cheaper than the cafe and restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank pbchurchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you for the information about our hotel.
You are right about our prices.It is realy cheaper than outside cafes.
We have very nice view and good rates and very clean ,hygienic.....
We hope to welcome you in our hotel and you can check our rooms too
I hope your friends enjoyed their stay.
Please welcome to our hotel to drink coffee again .
Kind Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 447 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am very unhappy that Turkish airline which is the most favorite airline of me put its passengers at this hotel due to missed connection.
This hotel so called 4 star however there are many 3 stars hotel in Istanbul that are much clean that this one.
Except the breakfast restaurant and its average service everything fits in 2 stars class including staff.
Towels in room were very thin and look yellow. Beds were OK, No slippers and toothbrush.
Safe deposit box in room did not work!

Room Tip: There are other much better hotels , if this location is interests you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Our guests,
You stayed in our hotel for short time with Turkish Airlines.
I hope you come again for longer stay and you can see that our hotel service is very good.
The safe Deposit Boxes working in rooms but,you need to get the key from reception.It is free service for Turkish Airlines passengers.We would like to make your stay very comfortable because you are coming tired after long flight.
We are official 4* hotel in the old city town of Istanbul.Our towels are washed everyday.The color is not extremly white because every day washed but,it is very clean.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you come to Istanbul again.
We will do our best to make your stay much better.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Yavuz for 6 nights from 1st March on an HF City Break. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Although the hotel was busy we were rarely aware of that. Breakfast consisted of a buffet with a large choice of items, quickly replenished by the efficient staff. We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and enjoyed our meal. Staying at the Grand Yavuz meant that we were able to walk or take a tram to the destinations on our itinerary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Sally,
Please accept our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel.We are happy that you were satisfied with our services and foods and enjoyed your stay.We are grateful for your informations and suggestions....
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you or your friends come to Istanbul,we help you for anything...
Kind Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We love Istanbul and the Grand Yavuz and have been staying here since 2003, usually more than twice yearly as we have friends in the area; the staff are always very helpful and we have always been given the best of rooms. All the tourist attractions are within walking distance and there are plenty of local restaurants if you don't want to eat in the hotel. Breakfast is wonderful with an array of things to tempt the appetite. Lovely city lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Lynda,
Please accept our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel again.
Please inform me the next time you come again to our hotel.
I will give you the Suit room to thank you for this nice review about us.
You made us very happy.
I hope every time you stay here you enjoy your stay......
Best Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were put up in this hotel by Turkish Airlines for our long layover (14 hours) in Istanbul, but it was during the day so we didn't sleep there. The rooms were basic but decent, the bathroom was very clean but the carpet could use some shampooing. Amenities are few and basic. Hair dryer is unusable. TV is the old kind and wifi is super slow. Service is polite.
AWFUL cigarette smell in the hallways.
The location is EXCELLENT!! It is near everything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Turkish Airlines Passanger,
Thank you for your review about Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Your suggestions are very importent for an effort to improve our services for future stays.
We hope welcoming you again to our hotel for longer stay.
We can do our best to make your stay comfortable.
It is very difficult to sleep in the hotels after long flight.
The Airlines passengers are coming here tired and they do not see the good services and nice things in the hotel and area.
We hope you give us a chance to welcome you again and we can make your stay unforgetable.
Please do not hesitate to contact us ,we give the best room with best available rate.

Kind Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Was put by Turkish airlines due to a missed connection in this hotel which is at some weird location and far away from the airport and the city.

The staff is very very rude and incourteous. They treat you like they are doing a favour by hosting you because you missed a connection.

It seems like a standard hotel contracted by Turkish for missed connection passengers, as there were too many of them.
Lunch and dinner that they serve in lieu of airline coupons are best avoided. After telling them that I wont eat the nonsense that they are providing for in lieu of the coupons given by the airline, and that I don't mind paying for a proper meal, did they give me a menu and let me order a la carte, though did not bill me separately for it.

Its not a four star but a two star at best. Rooms have mildew smell. Bathrooms have just a soap and shampoo. No dental kit, which is not provided upon request either(being contracted for serving missed connection and delayed passengers, this is one thing they should have)

The rooms have only facilities of a standard two star do it yourself lodge. The lock to my room did not work and could be opened without a card. The lockers in the cupboard did not work either.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRATIKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Turkish Airlines Passanger,
Thank you for your review about Grand Yavuz Hotel.
We are official 4* hotel working with Turkish Airlines since 14 Years.
The Turkish Ailines has responsible for the free offers giving to the guests.
We offer you what is writen on your woucher.They pay for set menu and we give you the set menu option only.
You pay extra if you choose A'lacarte.
We have Doctor room in the hotel but,we do not give any medicine to the guests.It is not legal.
Your suggestions are very importent for an effort to improve our services for future stays.
We hope welcoming you again to our hotel for longer stay.
We can do our best to make your stay comfortable.
The Airlines passengers are coming here tired and they do not see the good services and nice things in the hotel and area.
We hope you give us a chance to welcome you again and we can make your stay unforgetable.
Please do not hesitate to contact us ,we give the best room with best available rate.

Kind Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Even though this is a 4 star hotel every 3 star hotels I've been to in Istanbul is significantly better. Rooms are in decent shape for this part of the world but lack basic amenities for 4 star hotel - nothing but soap and shampoo.

I was put in this hotel by Turkish airlines because of a missed connection. They provided the dinner at the hotel. I LOVE Turkish food. The food they served at the hotel is the WORST I ever had in Turkey!

There are many much better and less expensive hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mscada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Our Guest,
Airlines passengers stay in our hotel very short time.
I hope you will be our guest for longer stay and we can have chace to change your mind obout our hotel.
Turkish Airlines Passengers are very importent for us.
Because they come tired and nervous....We have to make their stay comfortable after long flight and you must relax before your next flight.
Your feedback will be evaluated about our foods...
Best Regards,
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Reyyan Hotel
#236 of 1,175 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Fors Hotel
#559 of 1,175 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#401 of 1,175 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Tilia
Hotel Tilia
#999 of 1,175 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yigitalp Hotel
Yigitalp Hotel
#356 of 1,175 in Istanbul
369 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#346 of 1,175 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Yavuz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Yavuz Hotel

Address: Piyerloti Caddesi No: 71/B | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $38 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Yavuz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Yavuz is a comfortable Istanbul Hotel That combines elegance and luxury. Grand Yavuz Hotel's 111 newly renovated bedrooms and suit offers a unique and unforgettable Istanbul experience.With our convenient location in Sultanahmet "old city" you are in walking distance to major historical places.- Blue Mosque 5 minutes by foot.- Hagia Sophia 5 minutes by foot.- Topkapi Palace 5 minutes by foot.- Underground Cistern 5 minutes by foot.- Grand Bazaar 5 minutes by foot.- Archeological Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Anatolian Civilisation Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Spice Bazaar 20 minutes by foot.- Suleymaniye Mosque 15 minutes by foot.- Dolmabahce Palace 15 minutes by car.- CNR Exhibition Center 25 minutes by car.- TUYAP Exhibition Center 40 minutes by car.- Abdi Ipekci Arena 15 minutes by car.- Tramcar Station 5 minutes by foot.- Seabus Station 15 minutes by foot.- Bosphorus Ferry Station 15 minutes by foot.- Ataturk Internatıonal Airport 25 minutes by car.- Istanbul Modern Arts Museum 15 minutes by carYou can se our guests book: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Yavuz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Yavuz Istanbul
Hotel Grand Yavuz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing