We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fors Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reyyan Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aziyade Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kupeli Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oba Hotel(Istanbul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
56
173
131
63
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
173
131
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquebar loungehotel is locatedhagia sophiatouristic attractionsbuffet breakfastwithin walking distanceold cityfew minutes walknice roomon footbeautiful citysultanahmettramcemberlitasironheart
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 462 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel was decent enough - it has a nice reception area and a very pretty lobby and staircase that has paintings at every floor, which I really liked. There is a rooftop bar/restaurant which has a very nice view of Istanbul by the sea with a laid-back yet classy atmosphere (sit at the tables on the right for view of the Blue Mosque and Sokollu Mosque, in the middle tables if you want to look at the sea). The drinks are pricey and watered down though.

The rooms were average, they have a dull green-brown colour theme and the bathroom needs a ventilation system because it smells a bit musty. However, it is clean and tidy although new towels need to be introduced - the ones they have are clean but old. The beds are a bit hard and they really need fuller pillows. The room overall is decent enough, but I expected more from a 4 star hotel. The breakfast has something for eveyone, not very tasty but edible. I especially enjoyed the kommissbrot and the cherry juice.

It is on a pretty good location. Even though Istanbul's streets are steep, the Blue Mosque is less than 10 minute walk away. The Grand Bazaar is roughly about the same, so you are well connected to the Sultanahmet area which has popular sightings (Agia Sophia, Topkapi Palace), good restaurants and tram connections. Things are closer than they look on the maps so there is plenty to see and do in this area.

A bit expensive for the accomodation quality it offers, but is still not bad.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleksandraP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Daer Alexandra,
Please accept our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel.
Thank you for your commends.It is very importent for us to make your future stays with us increasingly of the services we provide.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for if you need something from Istanbul...
Sincerely Yours
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

In Sept 2012 we planned a comprehensive two-week trip to Turkey involving five different locations, with lots of day trips to cultural and historical sights and including relaxing boat trips.

Our tour started with a few days in Istanbul, and from there we flew to Antalya on the Mediterranean coast. We then took a bus to Fethiya, then on to Kony, and Goreme in Cappadocia before flying back to Istanbul.

After all this, by the time we got back to Istanbul we were ready for a little pampering but also still wanted to be near all the attractions. The Grand Yavuz Hotel fitted the bill, you walk into a pleasant and spacious reception and a warm welcome from the staff. Although in the midst of all the action the hotel is quite, clean and we had a really nice fair size room and bathroom. The restaurant on the roof gave a wonderful view of the Bosphorus which complimented the food beautifully. We felt totally relaxed and at home. Thank you Mevlut Uysal of Pomegranate Tours for arranging our wonderful holiday and ending it with just what we needed.

Pat Knight and David Murrell

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PatDavidMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Pat Knight and David Murrell,
Thank you for your nice review about our hotel.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.
Sincerely Yours
Mehtap Yildirim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel. Good size rooms.Our room was quiet. Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. Great location. Nice resturant bar roof top with great views. I would stay here again........................

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gena5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Marlzy,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel again.
Kind Regards
Mehtap Yildirim
Grand Yavuz Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were here in july 2012 for 4 nights with 3 persons. This hotel is a reasonable 3 star hotel, not worth 4 star. Unfortunately our room was on the second floor, so no breathtaking view. The breakfast - always the same but sufficient - was at level -1, so no view there. There is an ATM machine in the reception hall.
The best thing we liked at the hotel was the restaurant on the 7th floor: fantastic 180 degrees view, good airco, quiet atmosphere, reasonably priced food of good quality, very discrete and friendly waiter, this was exactly what we needed to come at rest after a full day Istanbul excitement.

Room Tip: 4th floor and upper have a nice view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LudoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Ludo,
Please accept our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel.Your comments are very importent for us to improve the quality of the services we provide.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Hotel is located very central. From the breakfast room an very good view over the city. Clean rooms, and friendly service. For sure I would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Mohamed,
First of all I would like to indicate you that we are sory you were not hapy during your stay in our hotel.
We will evaluate your complains.

But,we would like to give some informations for guests who want to come to our hotel :
We serve 50 items in breakfast
We have official 4*
Our triple rooms with two beds and extra bed or 1 dbl bed 1 single bed .
We mention this in the reservations to the travel agencies and to the guests who book direct from hotel.
A.C is central.If there is no technic problem it is working well.
Standart room size :14-17 square meters.
We do not give coffee or tea maker in rooms.
We have 24 hours room service.You can have free hot water form room service 24 hours.
the hotel's discretion to determine extra services

Sincerely Yours
Mehtap Yıldırım

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews