We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place”
Review of Grand Yavuz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Ranked #623 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“decent place”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I liked the place.
It is clean; rooms are of o'k size, housekeeping is efficient.
It is located on very quiet street - but Blue Mosque is hardly 10 minutes walk!!!
breakfast was good.


thank you, Turkish airlines and Grand Yavuz for splendid stopover in Istanbul!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Creatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
We were pleased to welcome you in our hotel.
We ar hapy that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcome you in our again soon.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need help.
Sincerely Yours
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    164
    127
    60
    37
See reviews for
71
163
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I like to know how Hotels in Turkey earn their stars. The Yavuz has nice public areas, and a reasonably accommodating staff, but thats were it ends. The rooms are small and very outdated. The bathrooms are even smaller and not nice. There is a mini bar and room service, but no place to sit down to eat or drink.

The mattresses are rock hard (not firm, hard) and bedding, pillows and towels are old and worn. The location is ok at best. It is in a seedy but apparently safe part of town. The usual tourist attractions are in walking distance if you don't mind climbing a steep hill before getting to the Grand Bazar area.

At best this would be a three star hotel, but I have stayed at nicer places with two stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Wolfgang,
Thank you for your commends and review about our hotel.
But,your commends are very importent for us to improve our service.
I reported your suggestions.
Our standart rooms sized 14-17 Square Metres.We do not have chance to change the room size.
We have official 4* and provide the service required.
Istanbul is no a flat city.It is hilly wherever you go.
We have some complaints about bathroom smell.While we take measures to stop it but it is because of city infrastructure problem when there is southwest wind.

We hope you come back again and see our changes about your commends.

Sincerely Yours
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My mother, sister and I vacationed in Istanbul this past summer. We stayed at the Grand Yavuz and really enjoyed the whole experience of this beautiful city. First, I would like to say that the view from our room (4th floor) was breath taking. Our balcony overlooks Sea Marmara and the Princess Islands. There was quite a bit of culture shock our first hour in the hotel room because the “Call of Koran” was very loud and at all times of the day—4am!!. There has to be a speaker near the window. FYI—it’s LOUD!! The room was good, and we were only there to sleep and shower; it did its purpose. The breakfast became redundant after so many days so we ate elsewhere. The Turkish bath—umm, no thanks, it’s not worth it, and I will defiantly not do it again! The staff was pleasant, but there were a couple of grouchy people working. Beth is one of the nicest persons to work with; I think she is the reservationist. The location was excellent. We walked every day to shop, eat, and sightsee. I recommend the barbecue, Kabob and Pide, there is a shop that is on the south end of the hotel. Upon leaving the doors, walk left along the sidewalk, going downhill and about 20 steps away there is a pizza (Pide) shop on your left just before you get to the streets intersection. It is run by a lovely man and his son Ridvan. When you go, tell them the American ladies sent you. OK—if you are going to all the tourist attractions, you will be walking uphill, very steep hills. So bring good shoes. We are planning to go back to Istanbul and stay again at the Grand Yavuz. We feel in love with this beautiful ancient city, and I hope you do to. Enjoy your stay and be safe.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you commit to it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Andrea,
Please accept our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel.We are hapy that you enjoyed your stay.Your commends are very importent for us to make your future stays with us more comfartable .
But,you know the Ezan is our call for prayer.
This is our religious culture and you can hear Ezan whereever you stay.
And Yes,Istanbul is very Hilly everwhere :)))
We would like to improve our quality with your commends...
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you want to come back again.We offer you the best price and services ....I hope you will be more satisfied on your next stay...
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to the Grand Yavuz Hotel.
Sincerely Yours
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eccles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

great hotel the staff were excellent very friendly and helpful spoke good english
the hotel is about half way down hill between Divanyolu cadessi and the coast the marmaris sea, the room we had ''402'' was roomy no squeezing around the bed's the room looked just as in the hotel photos it was comfortable the was bedding changed each day but the room could do with some drawer space as there is only one in the desk and one between the beds.The breakfast was the usual buffet style no problems there, the meal we had in the roof top restraunt was very good,the only real problem was no food or drink was allowed from outside and there was no kettle in the room '' we have small travel kettle for just these occasions'' if you do the same just dont make it obvious what you are doing, if you need tea coffe milk and water there are plenty of small shops and supermarkets within five minuets walk of the hotel.If you dont fancy staying in for a meal in the evening there are some very nice restraunts one or two minutes up hill on Pierre Loti cadessi or you can just as easily walk up to Divanyolu and try any of the many restraunts in nearby Sultanhamnet. just down hill there is a small local park which is very nice in the evening with a very nice bakers close by for fresh bread in the morning if you are going to have a picnic later in the day

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbohoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear our guests,
Please accept our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel.
We will do our best for your commends to make your next stay more enjoyable and comfortable.We do not have cattle in rooms but,we have 24 hours room service and you get hot water anytime you need for free .
I hope to see you in our hotel again.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you want to come back to Istanbul.

Sincerely Yours
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

After 4 nights in this place I couldn't wait to leave. We had to move rooms after the first night for maintenance and went to an even worse room. No air-conditioning through the day which frankly is unacceptable. Very little information was given about the hotel services and whilst breakfast was ok, it was the same every morning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oztraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Our Guests,
Please accept our sincerely thanks for having chosen our hotel.
Your review taken into account but we have to inform the guests who wants to stay in our hotel.
We have 50 items in breakfast.We change fruits,we make different cakes everyday.
Our standart room size 14-17 square metres.
We have ofiicial 4*
We give you better service with your commends for your next visits to our hotel.
Kind Regards
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel staff is quite nasty, it seems that you are annoying them. Medium standard rooms, so not a real 4 stars hotel! They don't do the cleaning up of the room, in fact we used two glasses and they didn't change or wash them, just put them in order. You can't drink or eat in the room, even tough you buy something from the minibar. The position of the hotel is central, but not very accessible. We think that there are many other hotels in better position and, above all, in better conditions! We also tried the Sokullu Pasa Hotel, which is definitely better!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maicol_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Cris,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.Your commends which in our control taken into the consideration .
We clean the rooms everyday,change the glasses,towels everyday .Only the sheets change every two days.
We could help you better if you had made your complaints during your stay .
All our effort is to provide you the best service.But,Istanbul is Hilly and about everywhere is the same.Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about it.
I hope you come back to our hotel again and we give you the best service.
Kind Regards
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Gosford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Grand Yavuz is in old Istanbul, 1km walk to Grand Bazaar.
Hotel very clean, staff efficient but could speak better english.
Rooms small but ok. Breakfast ample and included.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammoEastGosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehtap, Manager at Grand Yavuz Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Our Guest,
Thank you for having choosen Grand YAVUZ HOTEL.
Your commends taken into our account about English Speaking staff.
We have now 5 receptionest and all they know English , some German,French,Spanish
Your commends are very importent for us to make your stay comfortable.We hope to welcoming you in our hotel again.
Sincerely Yours
Grand Yavuz Hotel
Mehtap Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Avicenna Hotel
Avicenna Hotel
#212 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,084 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#766 of 1,140 in Istanbul
107 reviews
Sultanahmet
Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul
Innova Sultanahmet Istanbul
#345 of 1,140 in Istanbul
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Ali Hotel
#267 of 1,140 in Istanbul
172 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Premier Hotel
Sarnic Premier Hotel
#359 of 1,140 in Istanbul
309 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
#192 of 1,140 in Istanbul
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Yavuz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Yavuz Hotel

Property: Grand Yavuz Hotel
Address: Piyerloti Caddesi No: 71/B | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#377 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Yavuz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Yavuz is a comfortable Istanbul Hotel That combines elegance and luxury. Grand Yavuz Hotel's 111 newly renovated bedrooms and suit offers a unique and unforgettable Istanbul experience.With our convenient location in Sultanahmet "old city" you are in walking distance to major historical places.- Blue Mosque 5 minutes by foot.- Hagia Sophia 5 minutes by foot.- Topkapi Palace 5 minutes by foot.- Underground Cistern 5 minutes by foot.- Grand Bazaar 5 minutes by foot.- Archeological Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Anatolian Civilisation Museum 10 minutes by foot.- Spice Bazaar 20 minutes by foot.- Suleymaniye Mosque 15 minutes by foot.- Dolmabahce Palace 15 minutes by car.- CNR Exhibition Center 25 minutes by car.- TUYAP Exhibition Center 40 minutes by car.- Abdi Ipekci Arena 15 minutes by car.- Tramcar Station 5 minutes by foot.- Seabus Station 15 minutes by foot.- Bosphorus Ferry Station 15 minutes by foot.- Ataturk Internatıonal Airport 25 minutes by car.- Istanbul Modern Arts Museum 15 minutes by carYou can se our guests book: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Yavuz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Yavuz Istanbul
Hotel Grand Yavuz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing