We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class museum”
Review of Air Force Museum

Air Force Museum
Ranked #217 of 1,051 things to do in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum displays various aircraft as well as historic objects used by the Turkish Air Force.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First class museum”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A fantastic display of Turkish Air Force aircraft including F-16, all in excellent condition. Exhibits are slightly too close together for easy photography - wide angle recommended. Inside are a limited number of older exhibits and an impressive model collection which is well worth a look in itself.
I visited on a 'public holiday' - Sugar Feast or Şeker Bayramı – the End of Ramadan, but it made no discernable difference - it was still open as normal - but very quiet. Museum seemed to be staffed by conscripts (national service still applies in Turkey). English is not widely spoken here although some of the inside exhibits do have English translations.
The train line is currently disrupted due to track upgrades, with no through service Istanbul- Yesilkoy. A bus service passes the door however. I used a private pre-booked (from the UK) taxi service from the cruise port - charge 30 Euro (each way)(Mercedes minibus), took about 50 mins - Efendi Travel (recommended)(driver very helpful and courteous). Bus/train would be cheaper. If Turkish Air Force aircraft are your sort of thing - this is a great way to pass a couple of hours. It does exactly what it says on the tin!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
204 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not much in English. Displayed random events/people rather than any historical lineage and development.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great museum to check out, but more than half the displays are in Turkish only, with no English translation. Almost all aircraft are US-made, and the museum doesn't show anything past the mid-90s. No F-16 on display, and none of the non-US aircraft/helicopters were on display outside (except the French passenger aircraft). Turkey had the world's first Air Force yet this museum didn't do that justice. I couldn't figure out who their Air Force heroes are...who are Turkey's great Air Force/military leaders, that have changed the face of Turkey’s military today…nothing on Gen Ertan. Nothing showing Air Force participation in conflicts after WWII (Bosnia, Kosovo, Iraq, Afghanistan). Third largest Air Force in NATO...nothing on their tankers, AWACS, UAVs, satellites, tactical airlifters doing humanitarian operations, or the Joint Strike Fighter they are procuring. And the worst part--nothing on their enlisted personnel keeping them all flying. TAI needs to move this museum to Ankara, spend some money on it, and turn this place into something great (or at least modernize it).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank C130driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice impession at rainy day”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A day was rainy and windy, but i decided to visit this museum, because i heard of this museum a lot, my friend, former turkish pilot, told me about all aircrafts at this museum. I may say i was not disappointed absolutely. There i saw turkish kids, pupils with teachers, and they were very impressed too. I am not child, i am grandma of 3 grandkids, but i felt myself as child really. I took some photos, i with share them with you. My advice: come to Istanbul and visit this museum at Yesilkoy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bulgaria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect for aviation buffs”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The museum was just over the other side of the road from the Yesilkoy train station - an short suburban train journey from Sirkeci station. It costs only 4 YTL entrance plus 8 YTL for camera. We visited it on a bitterly cold day but it was really interesting - most of the display has English translation - has a small gift shop and a cafe. Well worth a visit if you like planes. Husband was in seventh heaven as he said there were planes on display that you couldn't find anywhere else in the world. Recommended!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
550 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,017 helpful votes
“For the Fans of Aviation History”
Reviewed November 7, 2009

If you are interested in aviation or if you have some spare time before your flight at the airport and you want to see one more spot in Istanbul, I would recommend you this museum run by the military. It is about the aviation history of Turkey going back to Ottoman times. From uniforms of air force personnel to first women to fly in Turkish skies it covers the whole time scale with objects, maps, even films. Outside, in the garden of the museum, different planes and helicopters are exhibited. In the museum shop, souvenir objects, toy planes and all aircraft related books, puzzles etc. are sold. As the museum is situated quite far from the downtown Istanbul, it would be better to visit it on the way to the airport.

Helpful?
5 Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Force Museum also viewed

 

Been to Air Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing