We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #218 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Used this hotel for a two day business meeting and had a great experience. We were very well looked after and the lunchtime food in the restaurant matched the view - fantastic!

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, a little dated and old but is very modern inside.It jas grand builfinds next door as It' is right next to the Swedish Embassy and the Russian Embassy is at the back.

The location is great, surrounded by restaurants and bars and just round the corner from the stunning Gallata tower too.

Rooms are good quality, although be careful to ask for a non smoking room if that is important to you. Great shower in the bathroom.

Overall - very good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank woollyscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

I delighted to receive a very positive comment from a valued guest.
As you mentioned, Richmond Istanbul has a unique location and surrounded by historical areas and shopping centers in the heart of the İstanbul. I also thank you for your comment about the equipment qualities of our rooms.

I will be pleased to welcome you once again at Richmond İstanbul and we provide you with the very best standards of our hospitality.

Best Regards

Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    185
    49
    16
    8
See reviews for
84
132
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are very clean, bathrooms as well, the staff are helpful and always cheerful, great location on Istiklal Street, Şişhane metro is 30 meters away... noisy at night if you are on lower floors...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AZock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.

We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guest since we use this information for the continuous improvement of our hotel.

Thank you again for your comment about the unique location of the hotel and the services of our team. They are all working hard to provide you best service and your appreciations will improve their motivations.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

A really great hotel. Rooms really lovely and bed comfortable. Well stocked mini bar and bathroom amenities. Had a meal in the restaurant on the 6th floor, possibly the best meal I have ever had. I have eaten all over the world at some of the best restaurants and this restaurant is up there at the top.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jordan25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, amenities as well as you like the quality of restaurant and general services. I’m truly joined to you regarding the taste of meals at our restaurant and I personally want to share with all our future and repeat guests to experience of fabulous Bosporus view in our Restaurant as well.

I absolutely appreciate your repeat business, and thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff.

Best Regards

Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Second time in this hotel,people working there very kind.
Rooms are monderne but very narrow,
The noise of the all around tavernas is big also at the high floors,also noise from the other rooms.
Breakfast a little poor for 4 stars hotel ...
The entrance hall is also very small

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalsayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.

Your opinion is a valuable source giving us the guidelines to find the way to enhance the quality of our service and to keep it always up to the standard. I am truly honoured with your kind appreciations about the comfort of our rooms and guest services. We took notice of your “average” points for noise and the variety of breakfast .We will certainly think about how to improve the performance of both.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards

Ulustan Muhluoğlu

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It is a kind of boutique hotel in an excellent location right in Istiqlal street, it takes 20 minutes walk to the famous Taksim square, however there are many options to reach the square by the traditional tram, the metro station is few steps from the hotel, the Tunnel is also few steps from the hotel, it will take you to Ortakoy area where you can use the train to reach the attractions of Istanbul like blue mosque, Haja Sofia, Grand Bazar, Phosphorus etc... The hotel is clean, cozy and staff are attentive, the room offers good amenities, bathroom is spacious.

Room Tip: The rooms with Phosphorous view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.

I delighted to receive a very positive comment from a valued guest. It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room , amenities as well as you like the guest relation services and the unique location of the hotel. For your next trip I personally want to advise ‘to try our restaurant which has a fabulous Bosporus view’ ‘to explore and feel the historical atmosphere of the Pera Museum and Galata Mevlevi Ensemble’ which is located near to Richmond Istanbul as well.

I absolutely appreciate your repeat business, and thank you again for your kind words about our hotel and the quality of staff services as well.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoglu

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location on the Main Street leading to taksim square. There is a metro station a few mins walk as is the tunel tramway that takes you to the tram way which allows you to get to sultanhamet.
The executive rooms are small but nice. The hotel really needs to upgrade to double glazing as the noise from the street outside can be really loud and we were on the 5th floor.
Staff were helpful and tried to make reservations for us.

Wasn't keen on breakfast but the basics were ok

Free wifi which is great.

The view from the 6th floor restaurant fabulous. Def recommend it for a drink. Dinner was pretty expensive there. Only downside is it doesn't open till 6pm so you can't see sunset in winter which would be great.

I would def stay there despite the noise.

Enjoy your stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.

I delighted to receive a very positive comment from a valued guest. As you mentioned, Richmond Istanbul has a unique location and surrounded by shopping, business and historical areas. It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the quality of breakfast , , the view of restaurant and executive rooms. On the other hand, we will consider your comment about noise from the Street side. Your opinion is a valuble source giving us the guidelines to find the way to enhance the quality of our service and to keep it always up to the standard.

I absolutely appreciate your repeat business, and thank you for your kind words about our hotel and the quality of staff services as well.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Richmond hotel for 3 nights in September. We got a good deal - cheap for a hotel that is situated on Europe side, and right on Istiklal Street, probably the busiest, most thriving street in Istanbul (Europe). The rooms were spacious, good bathroom, perfect place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Very clean. Most definitely the place to stay if you are looking for a 4 star hotel in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

We thank you also for your high appreciation and we are very glad to know that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We hope that nice memories from your vacations in Turkey will help you to get over the common daily stress.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#470 of 1,149 in Istanbul
100 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#126 of 1,149 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#125 of 1,149 in Istanbul
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#119 of 1,149 in Istanbul
462 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#131 of 1,149 in Istanbul
638 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#192 of 1,149 in Istanbul
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Istanbul

Property: Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Address: Istiklal Cad. No:227 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80670, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#212 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Istanbul is the only hotel on the Istiklal Street, the center of entertainment, culture and shopping in Istanbul. Located in the historical Pera area, the hotel has a unique Bosphorus and Istiklal Street view. Situated close to the business centers, Richmond İstanbul is 30 minutes away from Ataturk International Airport. Just a few steps away from the hotel lie the historical Saint Antoine Church, Galata Tower, the lively street full of art and taste; French Street, the first contemporary art museum of Turkey: Istanbul Modern, and the second oldest subway in Europe: The Tunnel.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Richmond Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Richmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing