We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Richmond Istanbul
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$503
$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$98
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$196
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
210
201
56
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
201
56
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsistiklal streetgreat locationnostalgic trammetro stationnice hotelgalata towersea viewrooms are cleanfifth floorbreakfast buffet isstayed daysrestaurants and cafesthe hotel staffthree nightsearly checkmin walkpublic transportation
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 493 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Richmond hotel for 3 nights in September. We got a good deal - cheap for a hotel that is situated on Europe side, and right on Istiklal Street, probably the busiest, most thriving street in Istanbul (Europe). The rooms were spacious, good bathroom, perfect place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Very clean. Most definitely the place to stay if you are looking for a 4 star hotel in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, General Manager at Richmond Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

We thank you also for your high appreciation and we are very glad to know that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We hope that nice memories from your vacations in Turkey will help you to get over the common daily stress.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at the Richmond Istanbul in November 2013 during a 4-day business trip. It's located in the heart of Istiklal Street right next to the Russian Consulate. The hotel is good if you're there for a business trip or to spend all your time outdoors, not for relaxation. The rooms were clean (mine was an executive room, and I think that's the only type they have), it had its own toilet and shower (no baths). All the amenities you needed were there, shampoo, shower gel, toothpaste, disposable toothbrush, hair dryer ... towels. The room had a mini-bar but the prices were high so I just bought what I needed from a store about a minute's walk to the right of the hotel as you come out the main door. There was a TV, phone, and they had smoking rooms. My room was overlooking the inside of the hotel, and if you want to sleep well at night, it would be a good idea to ask for a room that wasn't overlooking Istiklal. You have a lot of shops and street artists and it can get pretty noisy. I was lucky!

The breakfast was very good and had a good variety of local foods and the international stuff you're used to. You won't be at a loss for what to eat for breakfast. The hotel doesn't have a gym or a pool. It has a nice bar, though.

The hotel doesn't have late check-out. And they didn't organize our transport from the airport. They called us a cab when we were leaving to the airport though, and you can easily find cabs at the airport.

The hotel is not easily accessible by car. Istiklal is a very narrow street. But the taxi will drop you close enough for you to get to the hotel easily. There is an intersection close by to the hotel where our taxi stopped. When you do take a taxi from the airport to the hotel, make sure you know the price before hand. Ours cost 50 liras each way.

A tip would be to get your own adaptor (like Egypt, Turkey has two hole electricity sockets, so go prepared). Wi-Fi is available for free at the hotel and it's quite reliable. I made viber calls to my husband at home every day I was there. But me being me, I bought a local SIM card with a plan and used it for the internet when I was out of the hotel.

Take a stroll down Istiklal in the evenings, you have all sorts of shops that sell souvenirs, clothes, etc. I also made it a point to eat at Simit Sarayi, which is like a local fast food chain in Turkey (Simit is some kind of baked bread, with sesame or without. Simit Sarayi had sandwiches made of Simit at reasonable prices). Gezi park is not far off from the hotel, and I have encountered a few demonstrations and some riot police. Nothing violent, but it was interesting to see things like that. There are a lot of live musicians, and I found bargains on boots and coats in shops like Cetinkaya. You have international brands there as well, if local stuff are not your thing.

Make sure you explore the alleyways on istiklal, you will find amazing things, fried fruits, nuts, and souvenirs and you can bargain your way with vendors. Much better than the Grand Bazaar if you ask me.

We took a ferry across to the Asian side of Istanbul, which didn't boast much, but it was still good to see. It's about 6 liras per person to ferry across and it's about 20 minutes on foot from the hotel to get to the ferries.
Would I stay there again? Yes, the next time I'm there exploring (didn't have much time as it was a business trip), but not for relaxation.

Room Tip: Get Turkish Liras not Dollars or Euros.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, General Manager at Richmond Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your detailed comments with us.

Feedback is such a valuable source of information, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and enables us to continually strive to improve our standards. It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the rooms as well as you like the breakfast, general services and the unique location of the hotel. Also regarding your comments about late check out, airport pick up and drop services ı want to inform that we are providing late check out services upon to our availability as per request and also we are providing special transfers with fair prices for our guests if they needs .For your next trip except the local restaurant and shopping areas I personally want to advise ‘to try our restaurant which has a fabulous Bosphorus view’ ‘to explore and feel the historic atmosphere of the Pera Museum and Galata Mevlevi Ensemble which is located near to Richmond Istanbul as well. ’

We will be pleased to welcome you once again at Richmond İstanbul and provide you with the very best standards of our hospitality.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Richmond hotel in Istanbul is ideally located at the old city center in Istanbul. There were plenty of restaurants and activities as soon as you stepped out of the hotel front door. During our stay there (3 nights) in September 2013, there were a group of demonstrators sitting on the street against their government's policy decision while a group of police standing across the street from them. We took photos with both groups (my wife stood side-by-side with police & demonstrators separately) and they welcome us to do so. As a tourist, my wife and I never felt in danger with this situation since Turks were very friendly to tourists. They would not spread their anger toward their government to tourists and they understood how important tourism is to Turkish economy. By the way, this was our 3rd time traveling to Turkey and we enjoyed our visit each time.
Even though Richmond hotel is an old hotel but its room was clean. The hotel staffs were friendly as most of Turks do to tourists. The breakfast we had there was decent and we have no complaint about it.

Room Tip: None we can offer at this time.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.

We thank you for your high appreciation about our unique location, quality of room and attitude of our staff. We are very glad to know that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. As you mentioned, Richmond Istanbul has a unique location and all our guest has a chance to visit different lovely places like Pera Museum, Galata Tower, Historical Tunnel etc. during their stay and my team are all working hard to provide you best service and your appreciations will improve their motivations. And I m truly sharing your observation about the general attitude of the population of Turkey which is a part of Street even they had different aim to being together because the hospitality is one of the most important characteristic of our culture as well.

We will be pleased to welcome you once again at Richmond Istanbul and provide you with the very best standards of our hospitality.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel on Istilkal Street is a luxurious place, everything is well executed. Great breakfasts, beautiful rooms. You can walk up and down the shopping street and people-watch, have a cuppa whatever, find reasonable lunches and dinners. The Tunel funicular (for the Galata Tower and close-by ferries) is at the end of Istilkal and Taxim Square (the infamous park and the Military Museum) at the other.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the street as it is busy day and night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenighir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room as well as you like the breakfast and the unique location of the hotel. Your feedbacks and comments are highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is very well located at the famous Istiklal Street. Plenty of restaurants, shops to choose and easy to access touristic area. The staff is just extremely friendly and efficient. Good breakfast with nice view of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms facing opposite to Istiklal Street are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your special comments with us.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services. We will be informing for all our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further. I'm truly sharing your comments regarding our unique location and I m advising all our guests to prepare their agenda to visit Historical Tunnel, Galata Tower and Pera Museum before arrival to Istanbul.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews