We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #175 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is at a perfect location, right there on the Istiklal street, one of the busiest streets of Istanbul, loads of small good restaurants around there. Grand bazaar and the other historical attractions are walking distance, just across the bridge. And if they tell you at the hotel you cannot get there by foot don't listen cos it is really just a few minutes away, if you take a taxi you will be stuck in traffic for hours and will never make it.
You go left as you come out of the hotel and just keep walking until you see the bridge, walk the bridge, it is a beautiful walk, when you get to the other end look for an underground passage to get to the other side where the Grand Bazaar is.

It is a very steep downhill from the hotel to the bridge and then uphill on the way back but I think it is worth walking it. You can take a break half way thru at the tower, have a coffee or something at one of the charming little cafes and enjoy just sitting around watching people or reading a book.

A downside of the hotel for me is the size of the rooms and the non fitness center.
The rooms are very very tiny, the lights are truly very dim, but all amenities are available including toothbrush , toothpaste, razor and cream etc etc the beds are a 5* comfort beds which is good.

Breakfast is average.

May be I would recommend this hotel for its location but not for anything else. They need to work on their rooms and breakfast and reception staff quality.

Room Tip: The room is so tiny I could barely move and I was on my own. If we were two, it would have been a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RittaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULUSTANM, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

I also thank you for your comment about the location of the hotel. It was however sad to read your negative comment for the room and the services. Both positive and negative comments will help us to improve our standarts.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Ulustan Muhluoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    183
    49
    15
    7
See reviews for
83
131
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fabulous hotel with one of Istanbul's premier shopping street literally on your door step. Three of us shared a large triple room. Great value, lovely restaurant on roof level although very pricey and staff not very friendly. Reception and housekeeping staff are great though. Breakfast is a very well stocked buffet. It's two tram rides or a 40 TL taxi ride from the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar etc. Lots of restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamBamDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULUSTANM, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room as well as you like the breakfast and the location of the hotel. We will also consider your comment about the Restaurant Staff.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel. I loved it when I first stayed in last year on a business trip and I came back again this year for leisure. Loved the hotel for its location and service. Since one of my holiday agendas was shopping, I couldnt find any better location of a place to stay, as the famous Istiklal Cad. was right on the door step. There were also plenty and variety of restaurants and cafes along the street, for us to snack around. There's also a good eating place right across the hotel called Yemek Kulubu. All in all, we had a good stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ineszKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULUSTANM, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul. We greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests to achieve the highest quality standards.

I am also greatful to you regarding your positive feedback about our fabolous location of the hotel and our services. Your opinions will improve our motivation and we will continue to provide the best service to our guests.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Was our first time in Istanbul and we have. Our stay was perfect, the hotel is clean and confortable. The hotel location in Istiklal Cadessi is perfect, and the hotel has a restaurant on the top with an amazing Bosphoro view at night.
When we have arrived in Istanbul, the Airline company have lost our luggages, so we went to the hotel. The staff have made contact directwith the airline company and provided that it be delivered in the next day. Was perfect.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabiormart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULUSTANM, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

We are also extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Richmond Istanbul Hotel. Your comments will encourage us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Insider tip! Used to top hotels all over the world this one is one of my favorites. Charming and simply excellent in all categories. Will come back on my next trip to Istanbul. Only problem might be that the street is not accessible by car (taxi is ok).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wavechamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULUSTANM, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

We are thrilled to read your feedback and very pleased to know that we met your expectations during your stay. Vehicles are allowed to enter into Istiklal Street from 6:00 am till 10:00 am. but other than that our guests may come to the corner of the hotel at any time of the day and our staff is more than welcomed to help them.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

A couple things that make a hotel fantastic. Comfy bed, hot showers (with water pressure) and not having to go down to the front desk to get a working key. Not only did this hotel have all these, it was even better. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous. Lots of variety. The servers were very attentive and you could ask them for additional items that weren't on the buffet. I was surprised by the lack of noise considering the location. And to top things off, the wireless even worked perfectly for us! That was a bonus. I hope to visit again and stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULUSTANM, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services. We will be informing for all our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

the hotel was clean and the people very friendly and helpful. we debated going to the old part but this turned out to be a perfect choice. Lots of local eating places and a great atmosphere with a pedestrian only street which was buzzing. travel to old town easy and interesting. would use again if we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ULUSTANM, General Manager at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

Our mission is to provide the best in service and personal attention to each guest and it motivates us very much when our guests inform about their opinions.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#143 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#573 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#158 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Peak Hotel
The Peak Hotel
#312 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Beyoglu
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Pera
Beyoglu
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#37 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Istanbul

Property: Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Address: Istiklal Cad. No:227 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80670, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#213 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Istanbul is the only hotel on the Istiklal Street, the center of entertainment, culture and shopping in Istanbul. Located in the historical Pera area, the hotel has a unique Bosphorus and Istiklal Street view. Situated close to the business centers, Richmond İstanbul is 30 minutes away from Ataturk International Airport. Just a few steps away from the hotel lie the historical Saint Antoine Church, Galata Tower, the lively street full of art and taste; French Street, the first contemporary art museum of Turkey: Istanbul Modern, and the second oldest subway in Europe: The Tunnel.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Richmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing