We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but practical”
Review of Taksim Gonen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taksim Gonen
Ranked #502 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at the Gonen Hotel for 5 nights April 2014. The hotel is located centrally just a skip and a jump from Taksim square. The main shopping area and fish market are walking distance, public transport is close by and taxi to anywhere in Istanbul is easy and affordable.
Breakfast is good. The room I had was small. As I was alone it was OK but for two people it could be a little to small for comfort. The walls of the rooms are very thin as I could hear my neighbor snoring all night. If you are sensitive, this might not be the place for you.
Hotel staff where very friendly. Wifi is free and works very well. Skyping is not a problem.
There is a fitness studio in the basement with an indoor pool. The Pool on the roof was closed as it was still early spring.
There are also many great restaurants, supermarkets and shopping possibilities close by.
For people who prefer practicality to luxury, this is an option for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinocchio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 271 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our room was too hot, temperature was over 30 Celsius at winter time (8 Celsius outside). We were sweating during the duration of our stay and two of us ended up getting sick and having a lousy vacation. We left our window open at all times, even when we were out and even when we were sleeping, but room was still too hot. We even tried leaving our door open. We asked the reception repeatedly to lower the central heating of the hotel but each time they told us there was nothing they could do, because it was either on or off!

Room service is awful, as staff doesn't speak English. One of a number of similar incidents: we asked them to take away our service room tray and after calling us back twice to clarify what we wanted, they came to our room to bring an empty plate!

Rooftop restaurant was always closed.

Everything else that can be considered 'positive' is really not worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iRiA_Cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect but the hotel is so bad, the survive , the breakfast , the internet connection , even the design of the rooms are all very bad. I'll never think to stay there again .and I personally do not advice this hotel at all. Expensive for nothing.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank MohamedO592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

stay at the taksim gonen for 3 night, the hotel is located in the heart of istanbul just 5 minutes walking from taksim square which is the main square and you can catch there transportation to almost every place in istanbul. the rooms are small but you can ask for the delux rooms which is a bit more expensive but much bigger. shower got jacuzzi inside. the hotel have 2 pools one indoor and one on the roof, and there is also spa and hamam near the indoor swimming pool. breakfast is good with a lot of local product to choosh from. in short word recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lior15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour group. Good (but noisy) location though Taksim Square is rather tatty and dirty at the moment with a massive police presence in the evenings. It seemed quite safe and although there was a demo while we were there was no risks to hotel guests. The walls of my room were thin and I could hear the TV very clearly from the adjoining rooms - earplugs a must for this part of Istanbul too!. .My room was a good size for a single traveler though other travelers had very small rooms for 2 people. The bathroom was tiny. Good to have tea/coffee making facilities and complementary water. Breakfast OK, staff OK.

Room Tip: all are probably noisy due to the location, some are much smaller than others and couples may be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJohnsonSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I went to this hotel with my company to use one of their meeting rooms, they put us at the roof without any air conditioning, it was very hot and noisy. I'm thankful that i didn't book my room there. Their lunch was not that good so i kept having salad every day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdullahAltamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Gonen Hotel, commendably near Attaturk Airport, is well-appointed and elegant with an excellent, if expensive, restaurant and staff who are eager to be helpful. Our room was not large but luxuriously fitted and very comfortable. However, the courtesy bus system needs simplifying as we waited for over an hour for transport from the Airport because advance instructions were unclear. Reception staff were not properly trained in the use of their computer system and re-confirming our onward flight took ages and several mistakes which wasted some time. The hotel is in two blocks and lifts and room numbers are confusing. It is a good welcoming hotel and its anxiety to please made up for its defects.

Room Tip: Make sure that the courtesy bus service is properly explained!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#262 of 1,163 in Istanbul
211 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#988 of 1,163 in Istanbul
280 reviews
Beyoglu
The Central Palace Hotel
The Central Palace Hotel
#400 of 1,163 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
Mercure Istanbul Taksim
#83 of 1,163 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#166 of 1,163 in Istanbul
940 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#326 of 1,163 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Gonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Gonen

Address: Aydede Cad. No: 15 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#326 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $71 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taksim Gonen 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taksim Gonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taksim Gonen Istanbul
Hotel Taksim Gonen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing