We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Location”
Review of Taksim Gonen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taksim Gonen
Ranked #557 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel and Location”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very much enjoyed staying at this hotel for a week.
Breakfast buffets were superb.
Two swimming pools - a rooftop pool with panoramic views over Istanbul, and a surprisingly long indoor pool and gym.
Rooms very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.
Location is good - airport buses stop a few hundred metres away, easy to get to the historic sites via the funicular and tram.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    112
    59
    26
    18
See reviews for
47
67
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

from an easy going couple that is well travelled...stayed 6 nights with a large group of family and friends that travelled from all over the world to attend our wedding. while suite was satisfactory it could do with refurbishing. things like shower and fridge didnt work and they never got to fix it properly. staff is not as friendly as one expects in Turkey and specially considering 15 rooms were booked through us, they made no effort really...

thou the biggest dissatisfaction was to have a few personal belongings missing that we left behind in the bathroom and another guest left for us at reception, in both cases they never showed up and house cleaning never found, we know and so does our guest that they were left at hotel but at reception they insist they were not found. I'm starting to think they were not happy with our tips...?

on the positive side, location and the great roof top pool with amazing views, pretty nice place to cool down on a summer day. breakfast is good, but after 6 mornings you would expect waiters to know what you want...

finally our experience here was not as positive as we would have wished but then again who cares, we had a lovely week and a better wedding :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gullivertravels75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is just Ok for the price you get. The rooms need some refurnishing. The service at reception is not specially helpfull. The best part of the hotel is the swimming pool at the roof top. The place to lay down is small, but the views are astonishing.
Breakfast buffet is nice if you like to have it turkish style, mainly local cheeses, Olives, tomatoes, Bread and tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarCisIgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

watch your cloths we had three rooms bath room in first floor are too small ,my wife and teen s cloths are missing and when we check out they told us that we owe 268 lira for turkish bath ,we never use that . and they did 3 family in same group the same way.july14-july 21

Room Tip: first floor rooms are too too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amman
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went to Istanbul from 19 Jun, 2012 - 23 Jun, 2012. The hotel is very good, we needed nothing more. we booked a triple room and it was the best triple room I have ever stayed in, it was large enough with three beds. The breakfast buffet was very good with various kind of fruits, but mainly the same everyday,and we didn't mind that. The best thing about this hotel is its location, it's one minute away from Taksim Square, and within walking distance from some sightseeing places as Dolmabache, Galata Tower. However if you don't prefer to walk you'll find an underground metro station in Taksim. Don't forget to walk in Istiklal street (in Taksim Square) where you'll find many restaurants, cafe' and shops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmmanLaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

clean good rooms , excellent location , not so special restaurant's menu for breakfast ,I think the worst properties of this hotel is that you can't see any view of that beautiful golden gulf or black sea , download speed is too slow , lobby is so small in size with an ugly decoration , sport's room is also is so small and have few instrument for exercise

Room Tip: there is no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOPARO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, well situated in quietish side street. Friendly pleasant staff. Our room was long and narrow with a double and single bed. Well appointed adequate bathroom. Cafe on ground floor serving light meals and drinks, with a host of restaurants within walking distance. Nice open air pool on top floor with great view. Istanbul has the biggest traffic jams I have ever seen!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#570 of 1,140 in Istanbul
136 reviews
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#268 of 1,140 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#126 of 1,140 in Istanbul
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
LaresPark Hotel
LaresPark Hotel
#333 of 1,140 in Istanbul
424 reviews
Beyoglu
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
#586 of 1,140 in Istanbul
148 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#248 of 1,140 in Istanbul
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Gonen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Gonen

Property: Taksim Gonen
Address: Aydede Cad. No: 15 | Taksim, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#352 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taksim Gonen 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Taksim Gonen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taksim Gonen Istanbul
Hotel Taksim Gonen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing