We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from the Crystal Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #1,023 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from the Crystal Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My host for a business trip booked this hotel for me. To avoid what would have been an awkward situation I stayed there two nights instead of doing what I wanted to do, which was stay anywhere else. The place was filthy, including dead roaches on the floor. The rooms were threadbare. There was so much noise at night I couldn't sleep. The breakfast was fine as long as you only ate the bread. The staff was going through the motions. This is the worst hotel I've encountered for a very long time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    81
    56
    86
See reviews for
72
56
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

it was perfect with good location
near taksim sq and istiklal st also
clean an quiet
service was good
breakfast was perfect
but poll was not ok it was too small and the reception was so friendly about some mistake that
our agency done about our rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamali001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location is excellent, walking distance to taxim and other places but the hotel itself needs renovation ASAP, the rooms were very dirty, as soon as i walked in the room, i called room service as the sheets had a bad smell, remote control wasn't working (dead batteries), bathtub had hair all over and the carpet had alot of stains. the elevatores always smelled and even though it was our honey moon, they gave us a room almost in the elevatore, whenever someone uses it, we had to wake up whatever the time. To sum up for this price u can book at any other hotel at taxim with better service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Esfahan, Iran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

the staff were so average food was less than expected from a good four star hotel
because of constructions around hotel location has lost its advantage.
elevators were terrible. before choosing this hehotel get sure that constructions are finish and the metro station exit is open again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jalalzavareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The smell of cigarettes permeated the room. I've no objection to rooms for smokers so long as I don't have to stay in them or at least some effort has been made to air the room.

There is a lot of building work very close to the hotel which goes on all night this together with the totally inadequate sound insulation (you could hear every word spoken next door) made sleep a virtual impossibility.

Don't expect more than 2 tea bags and 2 satchets of coffee during your stay how ever long it is. The cleaner took the paper cups (yes paper cups) from the room and the receptionists rolled her eyes when I dared ask for a couple of new ones.


On the plus side the hotel is in an excellent location. Breakfast was good; there was lots of hot water and a decent shower and the rest of the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel where you'll be less likely to be kept awake by the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We were going group about 20 girls many problems happened to us 1 st someone stranger opened the room on us by mistake using a card we went to recipition they said its ok we stopped all the cards .ohhh what a nice hotel then at night someone from the staff knock on my cousins room and asked them if they need any thing trying to pushing the door to enter then he told them this is my code if u want anything whattttt a thing at 3 pm i couldnt belive it. Dont think evernever to stay there

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORAYILDIRIM, Guest Relations Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
There were a student group at the hotel app 85-90 people on those perriod. And we had many complaints from other rooms as well. they knocked the doors all night.. Our security staff was on the floors to control them but the group were stayying on different floors.. So we appologise for that stuation..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Crystal hotel is situated on the modern European side near isteklal cad. Street ( one of the shopping areas) the location of the hotel is about 15 mins walk, 3 mins walk to the subway station and 1 min walk from the bus stop 5 mins walk from the bus station, less than 1 min walk to the nearest two money exchange shops ,the hotel area is good though i advice tourists to try something new near the sea in their 2 visit, this location is safe live all night but you need to try somthing authentic and non conventional ,this area makes you mingle with tourists mostly and turks who deal with tourism where as other areas you deal with the real authentic country residents and get the real deal of magic Istanbul ( somewhere like ortakoy would be just amazing )
I will say the usual review for this hotel :
- location: excellent though if you rent a car you would find it hard to park near ,renting a car in turkey is a Must so you go sea the far away touristic areas like rumeli feneri and asian side etc also to do shopping freely without worrying to carry much bags and walk, pls note petrol prices in Turkey are HIGH. Very high but its worth it, we rented a nice mercedes and it was really another experience than the previous visits. So no parking spot in this hotel, you park and walk 15 min s to the hotel, and u can get lucky and park in their free close by streets.
- breakfast: good variable but almost the same every day. Try their fresh break and honey with sesame paste ( typical turkish)
- the staff in this hotel are better than the three hotels I tried before in my previous three visits.
- the room: small i rented a single room for my self they gave me a twin bed room the room is good for two but w'd be small as rest of all Istanbul 4 star hotels in this area.( cartoon /Riva) the cupboard hardly took all my clothes ,bathroom is okay.
You can hear wts going on on your neighboring rooms close by. As usual walls are thin
Try the hotel its good...specially if you will take the room to your self alone
And pls pls enjoy the real turkey as much as you can and avoid shopping its addictive there it will consume all your time and money ..postpone it till the last day only:)) enjoy

Room Tip: Tip the receptionist and smile:))
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#790 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#955 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#246 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Konak Hotel
Konak Hotel
#275 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Beyoglu
Cartoon Hotel
Cartoon Hotel
#904 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#178 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#258 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#503 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Crystal Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing