We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply horrible place to stay !!”
Review of Golden Age Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Age Hotel
Ranked #971 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed February 22, 2012

It supposed to be 4 stars hotel, but if they put me in charge to rank it, absolutely it will be even not be a 2 starts hotel.

I booked it as it was my first trip to Istanbul. The price was attractive and the pictures also but I think that the pictures are not related to the same hotel.

I stayed for less than one hour as I didn’t have the power to handle it for more.

Small, dark and old rooms with no bathroom tools to used, neither Shampoo nor soup.

Sorry to say that but it was below the standard. Lot of injured libyans citizen are staying there. So I think it will be annoying to stay there. If you don’t care about where to stay, then you may choose it, otherwise, a big No.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohamed_Alnazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here the first week from january 2012,. 2 minutes from Taksimsquare, and the best shoppingstreet of Istanbul. Very lively area to spend the evening.
Breakfast was great, a buffet meters long with something for every one. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Large clean room with comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, handy for public transport, huge choice at breakfast, reception friendly and helpful enough.............. Not much of a view from the room but can't have everything?!?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grampasauras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I spent one night here and it was fine, nothing exciting.

The staff were not overly impressive except for the bellboy who should be working at the worlds best hotel, he was completely on it.

The reception desk service was terrible to begin with but improved considerably towards the end of my stay.
If you are a non smoker, make sure you get a non smoking room or you will feel like you are personally being fumigated.

Breakfast was mediocre by Turkish Standards.

On the plus side, the hotel is centrally located in a safe area with perfect access to public transport and nightspots.

I would put this at an upper 3 star status

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TouringTrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The positives : Very good and safe location, 2-3 mins walk to Taksim Square, spacious and clean rooms, plasma tv, spacious and clean bathrooms with new towels and all kind of toiletries (They changed the towels everyday), wireless internet at the lobby.

The negatives : Very poor breakfast, far from an intercontintal one, tough (for me) mattress. When checking our they tried to charge us items from the minibar.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LilaTses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was supposed to be a 4 star hotel. The service did not do their jpb, we had to ask for a certain thing for more than once. It wasn't very clean, generally I wasn't satisfied. Too much money for such a hotel. At least it was at the center of Istanbul. That was an advantage.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NICKTSAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Rooms are dull, smells like big bathroom, poor ventilation and almost no airconditioning, convenient location but so does the 1000 surrounding hotels, poor breakfast.
Do not go there

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GhadaS0liman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#931 of 1,159 in Istanbul
110 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#978 of 1,159 in Istanbul
274 reviews
Beyoglu
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
Avantgarde Taksim Hotel
#621 of 1,159 in Istanbul
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
LaresPark Hotel
LaresPark Hotel
#365 of 1,159 in Istanbul
433 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#221 of 1,159 in Istanbul
686 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#347 of 1,159 in Istanbul
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Age Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Age Hotel

Address: Topcu Street No: 10 | Taksim, Istanbul 37734, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#257 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#473 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $64 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Age Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Age Hotel is situated in the center of Istanbul in the Taksim district which is famous for its history, nature and archaeological sights amazing people during the centuries . You will be welcomed with the traditional Turkish hospitality and 4 stars service and quality. Being placed in Talimhane our hotel is near to the historical peninsula with its amazing sights. At the same time the Golden Age Hotel being placed near to the companies' offices and convention centers and providing free Internet connection is an ideal place for business trips. The hotel is very well-situated and has 3 conference halls. It provides the opportunities for the organization of all types of meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Age Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldenage 1 Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing