We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Sultanahmet sightseeing”
Review of Hotel Arcadia Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Ranked #109 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location for Sultanahmet sightseeing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked the Arcadia based on it having been recently renovated, having a seemingly decent location, and wifi access included within the room rate. If you plan to see the historic sights of Istanbul, then the location really is superb; just a few moments walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, it is placed on a very quiet, wide street that runs perpendicular to the shops and transport of Divanyolu Caddesi.

STANDARD ROOM. The rooms have been fitted to a comfortable, modern standard, and still feel 'new' (towels are still soft, bathroom shows no wear and tear). There is plenty of wardrobe space, and the curtains and blackout shades do an admirable job is you like to lie in. The bathroom has a great rainfall shower, but is let down by poor lighting surrounding the mirror. For a putative 4* hotel (or any hotel for that matter), I did find it a real surprise that power to some appliances around the desk was supplied by an extension cable running below and over the front lip of the desk - if you're going to spend a significant amount on achieving a minimalistic finish to the rooms, surely you'd be keen to avoid something unsightly and amateurish like this. The view from the standard rooms isn't great; they overlook an unremarkable street, and with the curtains open those behind the multitude of windows opposite can see straight in. Wifi worked very well in the room, with a solid, constant connection throughout the stay (good enough for anything less data hungry than streaming video). There was no 'room / hotel' guide provided, and no mini-bar price list - I would assume this will be resolved as the place finds its feet after the re-fit.

As detailed by the previous reviewer, there is a clear discrepancy between the level of service provided by the team during the day (helpful and friendly), and what you have to endure from the disinterested, unprofessional misanthrope who is in charge by night. On arrival (around 9pm) and having approached the reception desk, he squarely ignored me for perhaps a minute while he just looked at some papers in front of him; after I prompted him he just said 'wait' and continued what he was doing for another two minutes. He then just handed over a keycard to me and said the room number; when I asked for a map, he just chucked one on the desk without even looking at me or pointing out where the hotel was! Anyway, if you can just ignore and avoid this guy, then the service is otherwise commendable.

Note that at the start of August 2013, the road outside the hotel was being rebuilt in a rather haphazard manner, meaning that there was a loose metal grill on the ground, and often drying concrete that wasn't even cordoned off. It would probably be advisable for families with pushchairs or guests with wheelchairs etc to confirm with the hotel that this work has been completed.

I'd recommend this place if you're looking for somewhere clean, comfortable, and relatively nice for sightseeing. It's closer to a 3.5* pushing 4* than a 'genuine' 4*, but unless you really need some additional facilities, a larger reception area, or are exceptionally fussy, then this is a good bet for a memorable trip to the splendours of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying for the rooms with decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Immoraliste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumanIpek, Manager at Hotel Arcadia Blue, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear our guest Immoraliste,

Thank you very much for your comments and please note that we take your critics seriously,
I assure you that your next visit will be more satisfactory,

We are glad that you chose Hotel Arcadia Blue,


Yours Sincerely,
Hotel Arcadia Blue Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    264
    51
    17
    5
See reviews for
195
356
65
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the location and the promised view.... Well I got that for sure! Close to the Ayasofya and Blue Mosque, Basillica Cistine and only 10 mins walk to Grand Bazarre... Not to mention very close to lots and lists of restaurants and little shops, the hype on the streets is so cool. Mind you as a solo female traveller, was approached continuously by locals offering help and then trying to sell me carpet ! Ha ha
The Hotel staff are great especially the guy on during the day, cannot quite remember his name think may have been Kamel? But he went out of his way to show me the view for the restaurant plus also the top terrace, also gave advise on must see and do there. He speaks excellent English and just honestly kind and helpful. The man behind the desk when I checked in at nighttime was just plain rude and abrupt... The other daytime staff made up for his rudeness.
The only thing that may put some people off staying there is waking up early to the prayers from the mosques speaker bellowing through the town, but I honestly think they can be heard for miles anyway.. And they didn't really bother me, I just closed my window.

Room Tip: There is no pool.. That's why I put terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taricaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumanIpek, Manager at Hotel Arcadia Blue, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear our guest Taricaj,

Thank you for your nice comments and critics,
We can only get better with our guests guidence.

We educate our staff regularly in order to get the most benefit,
and unfortunately in some cases we have to seperate our ways.
By the way our receptionists name, that you couldn't remember is Emre.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Arcadia Blue,
Hope to see you again soon,

Yours Sincerely,

Hotel Arcadia Blue Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This newly-renovated hotel is clean and modern, and the views from the rooftop terrace are jaw-dropping. Absolutely the best view in Istanbul I've seen, as you're right in the center of the historic peninsula, and it feels like you can reach out and touch Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya and the Sultan Ahmet mosque. The view is nearly 360 degrees, from Galata Tower all the way around to the Sea of Marmara. Gets a bit windy up there sometimes...Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the rainfall shower head is just dreamy. The staff are kind, efficient and friendly. The negatives? The internet access is shockingly bad for a newly renovated hotel. Just watch the sad parade of frustrated folks with their laptops and ipads moving from the lobby to the computer area on the second floor to their rooms to the restaurant, searching for a wireless router that will connect.... If you're planning any sort of event, do realize that the "conference room" is merely one end of the top-floor restaurant, and it is both difficult to darken sufficiently for presentations and completely open to diners in the restaurant during mealtimes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a "shelf" unless you want to hop up and down an 18-inch platform to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embracethechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumanIpek, Manager at Hotel Arcadia Blue, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear our guest Embracethechaos,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Arcadia Blue,

Thank you very much for your sincere review and comments,

Since we recently came out of renovation, we experienced some technical difficulties, but one by one we are sorting them out.

Our internet problem is fixed, now it works on high performance throughout the whole hotel.
Also we ordered small steps for the platforms in some rooms.

Hope to see you back at Hotel Arcadia Blue,

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Arcadia Blue Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked the Arcadia online, not expecting to find the views we saw online and a little suspicious on whether it was the newer style or old style we saw in pics. Thankfully, it has been renovated and very tastefully so, retaining only essential old charm elements, like the marble reception desk,iron railing in the inside staircase. It truly exceeded our expectations. We were a large group and booked almost all of the eighth floor. Each room had a better view than the other! Τhe rooms were spacious, with free dependable Wi-Fi, very nice design, and still you did not forget where you were as it still retained some Turkish character with Ottoman style tile.
Emre at the reception desk was polite and so dependable. He always arranged what we needed at the drop of a pin and a genuine smile. Breakfast was great in my opinion - they have spared the excessive variety in place for good quality - so tasty! Local pastries, good coffee, true tasting fruit, tomatoes, salad, and the bread!!! It was one of the highlights! And they were so patient with our little one running around - gave him nothing but smiles.
The location is perfect for the traveller that wants to see the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, but also be close to transportation that will take him to areas less touristy.
Only things that could use improvement - elevator door is a little eager, light in bathroom mirror could be a little stronger, breakfast would be nice back up on the 9th floor, though the ground floor is also lovely. Evening receptionist a little sketchy...eager for commissions? To be watched out for - ask Emre instead :-)
Would definitely return

Room Tip: Eighth floor! Worth the extra money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumanIpek, Manager at Hotel Arcadia Blue, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear our guest Jrmutt,

Thank you very much for your motivating comments,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Arcadia Blue,

We moved breakfast on 9th floor terrace, so next time you come you can enjoy our spectacular view during your breakfast.

Hope to see you back soon at Hotel Arcadia Blue,
Yours sincerely.

Hotel Arcadia Blue Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here because my traveling companion had stayed here once before when it was quaint and very "Ottoman" in feel. Although the renovation had wiped away all the beautiful old decor, the new sleek modern design was lovely and we were treated very well. They are only just completing the renovation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 8th floor, with spectacular views of both the Haggia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. You can see the same view from the restaurant at night and are not to be missed. The only drawback was the five times daily call to prayer, which is quite loud and blares from the loud speakers.

Room Tip: Room 805 was incredible, but any room on the 8th floor with a Blue Mosque view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornhuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumanIpek, Manager at Hotel Arcadia Blue, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear our guest Cornhuski,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our fusion styling, and your stay was satisfactory.

Hope to see you back at Hotel Arcadia Blue,

Hotel Arcadia Blue Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located next to all important touristic spots. After they apparently refurnished its alright about the rooms and breakfast. But don't expect to much of service. Due to less English speaking service a small problem becomes a problem. After all ok for low budget.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterAchterbahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NumanIpek, Front Office Manager at Hotel Arcadia Blue, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Our Guest Peter Achterbahn,

Thank you for your comment,
Happy to hear that you like it better after renovation.

We are training our staff regularly to improve our service quality,

Hope to see you again soon at Hotel Arcadia Blue,

Kind regards.

Hotel Arcadia Blue Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,151 in Istanbul
297 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#105 of 1,151 in Istanbul
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#112 of 1,151 in Istanbul
918 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#73 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,021 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,151 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arcadia Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcadia Blue

Property: Hotel Arcadia Blue
Address: Dr. Imran Oktem Cad. No: 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#81 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arcadia Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arcadia Blue, in the heart of Istanbul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arcadia Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing