We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Icon has been restored to former old world opulence”
Review of Pera Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The Pera Palas Hotel eventually opened its heavy wooden doors on 01 September 2010. It is old world charm and wealth with a modern twist - therefore appeals to both the young as well as mature clientele. But it is the staff that make this hotel so special - immaculate dressed in polkadot, period designed uniforms. They are the heart of this famous hotel. The Agatha Restaurant under the watchful eye of Max Thomae serves classic Turkish cuisine with a "modern twist". The design of the restaurant does not fit in with the opulence seen as in the rest of the hotel, though. My suite had a perfect view, all amenities (shaving kit etc), fast, free WIFI as expected. The hotel is central to the main day and nightlife attractions. It is an expensive hotel, but the service and kindness will always bring me back to this hotel. I can not wait joining the Orient Express train next year from this hotel. I trust that the Piano suite would be ready by then ...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cubism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2008

I think you should take this hotel off your list of available hotels;since it is and will be closed thru 2010 due to renovations, resulting from transfer of ownership.

Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
1  Thank emekli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We stayed here when my husband had to do a presentation in Istanbul. We had a lovely big room with a great view over the Bosporus.
The hotel bar is expensive but it is very nice..
We only had breakfast and went out in the evening to some local restaurants, some of which can be reached on foot.
We can really recommend the Turkish bath in the city center, taxi is cheap and the experience is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Wereldreizigster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

LOVED the Pera Palas.
Had a huge room with views, was once quite opulent, but now faded (as is the whole hotel) but still was amazing charm and beauty.
Got a great deal on the room, by booking directly with hotel - and thought it was absolutely worth the price (we stayed a WEEK there!)
Location is actually fantastic, you are right in the hippest part of Istanbul with tons of cafes, restaurants, bars, and shopping withing a five minute walk (plus one of the most architecturally distinctive parts of the city). Great neighborhoods all around it, and it is (thankfully) AWAY from the tourist hustling of SultanAhmet - we found that to be extremely tiresome to be constantly harrased by touts in Sultanahmet. Taxis are $4 to get to Sultanamhet during the day, and at night, you are already in the heart of things.

Can't recommend it enough - thought it really made our stay in Istanbul fabulous.

Oh, we first booked three nights via the hotel website (cuz we were not sure we would want to stay there the whole time), and then we went to the front desk and got an even better rate for the last 4 nites - something to think about.

If you're looking for more upscale rooms/environmen, the Marmara is right across the street (great bar, great views) - but is three times the price (but also has a rooftop pool that we were dying to go into!).

From the elevator, to the lobby boys, to the large room, to the cool neighborhood, we loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ucube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank FilipeFVNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Stayed: July 2006
6  Thank travelsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Stayed: April 2006
9  Thank GaryInUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#57 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,106 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#77 of 1,163 in Istanbul
589 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#12 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $100 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing