We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palace Living”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #62 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palace Living”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

A well presented and restored period Palace in all its glory. Easily accessible, very close to Taksim Square, and other amenities. Inside the rooms are very spacious and the service is excellent. We enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. I guess the only thing missing was an outside pool. Otherwise a fantastic place to stay while in Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqeel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge so many positive elements, and that you would choose to stay with us again. Your kind comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you once again, for your comments and for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pera Place Hotel Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    233
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
164
469
66
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a beautiful 19th Centurt building lovingly restored. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with very good linens, though the toiletries are nothing special (hotel chain products). The service is extremely friendly and efficient. There is a wonderful paticerie on the first floor, and a quite good restaurant in the windowed basement, Agatha. A beautiful pool and good fitness room. There are several additional costs to consider: use of the television is 25 Euros, something that I have never seen anywhere. Secondly, the cost of their terrace fare is outrageous. I returned from dinner in a very upscale restaurant, where a half bottle of raki sells for 50 Turkish Lire, and ordered the same without looking at a menu. I was charged 200 Turkish Lire. "That is just the way we do things here" it was explained to me by, first the bartender, then the concierge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nefelokokigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities and please except my apologies for not being able to inform you properly about our charges in advance.
There is a charge for the latest movies you can purchase through the Pay TV system, but all other local and International channels are free.
I have noted all your comments and passed on to the concern managers to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that so that we exceed your expectations on your return.
Thank you for bringing these incidents into my attention.

We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Hotel is one of the best I've been to throughout the world! They kept historic appearance for both outside and inside, all decorated with ancient accessories. While welcoming the guests to the room after check-in they take you upstairs in the elevator that still works since end of 19th century and was never replaced - that's a great experience.
Rooms are great, in addition to minibar, bathrobes, slippers etc - there are free man socks, women stockings and some other accessories that may be useful. Staff is amazing, no negative points at all.
We ordered dinner in the room and it was totally worth it! Perfectly served and kept warm inside of the special heating cupboard under the table. No need to say that it was tasty!
Location is not so close to the historic center, not in a walking distance reach, but since Istanbul is a big city full of taxis it's not a problem to get wherever you want.

Overall, hotel is amazing, ambiance is great, it was romantic and superb, if coming to Istanbul again - Pera Palace is my only choice.

Room Tip: We had a room under the roof with ancient furniture, not so numerous, but very well placed and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge so many positive elements, and that you would choose to stay with us again. Your kind comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you once again, for your comments and for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pera Place Hotel Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

What a wonderful, historic hotel. A bit pricey but well worth it. We upgraded our room so we had a sitting area and it was worth the splurge. Extremely professional and helpful staff throughout the hotel at all levels. We had several meals here and all were fantastic. Even the room service meal was elegant! Afternoon tea is a must. Wish they had a full service business center, that is my only criticism. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to face the hillside (as opposed to the city side) and also include a sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsV_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge so many positive elements, and that you would choose to stay with us again. Your kind comments are highly appreciated.
Thank you once again, for your comments and for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pera Place Hotel Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This wonderful old hotel has been sympathetically updated and we were greeted with warmth and charm. The breakfasts were all we could wish for and for an upmarket city hotel it was good value. It close to the bustling Istikal Cadessi with its trendy shops and full of young modern Turks. It is not close to the major tourist sites but close enough to Istanbul Modern for Turkish art and fabulous views of the Bosphorus. Our room had a glimpse of the Golden Horn and we were particularly impressed by the prompt return of my wife's nightie which had been swept up with the sheets! We did not see the ghost of Agatha Christie, nor Graham Greene but we did ride the 1892 lift. We dined twice nearby at Ficcin, excellent and great value.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade without asking, room not huge but balcony and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah , and that you were pleased with the service and facilities as well as your breakfast experience. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel’s strategic location convenient.

I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

One of the finestluxury boutique hotels in the world and at a reasonable price! We stayed at the Pera Palace with family for one night on our way to Cappadocia.
Beautiful, spacious rooms remind you of the opulence of the previous centuries, the hotel has been restored exquisitely and the staff is amazing. Turkey in general is a great place to visit because of the people.
the coffee room, the food, the location, the people - PERFECT!!
Thank you all for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 442Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and acknowledge so many positive elements, and that you would choose to stay with us again. Your kind comments are highly appreciated.

Thank you once again, for your comments and for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pera Place Hotel Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Pera Palace with our kids for two nights in August at the end of our 10-day trip to Turkey. It is a beautiful hotel, and the rooms are large and very comfortable. On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to our rooms efficiently. After 8 nights in Turkey (Istanbul, Cappadocia, Izmir, Bodrum), we were thrilled to find great central air conditioning that really worked. Agatha restaurant and the bar were closed, so we did not eat dinners at the hotel. The hotel is in a nice location for exploring Pera and its many restaurants and shops. We had stayed in Sultahnamet on our first stop in Istanbul to see the sights there, so we did not venture far from Pera this time except for a trip to the Grand Bazaar.

We enjoyed the French Patisserie on the ground floor--did not have tea. Also enjoyed late-night ice cream on the terrace.

My only complaint is that the Pera Palace's service was at a pretty basic level, especially compared to other Jumeirah hotels, such as in the UAE. We had a deluxe room and a regular room at the end of a hall, where there was an outer door we could shut to make the rooms private so we could leave the kids' door open. They could not get the keys to work properly until the afternoon of our second day there. I was at the front desk 4 separate times, and found that frustrating, along with massive confusion at breakfast, where we ordered from the menu--I highly recommend finding a package that includes the 95 TL breakfast buffet so you do not encounter the experience we had.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mkfhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah on Tripadvisor.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. I was therefore concerned to understand that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. I have noted all your comments and passed on to the concern managers to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that so that we exceed your expectations on your return. Thank you for bringing these incidents into my attention.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

Sincerely

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#60 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Property: Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing