We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with history!”
Review of Pera Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited istanbul in the winter , experienced friendly warm staff , helpful concierge , great location in Istanbul :)
Great restaurants
Amazing Turkish bath spa
Great location, short walk to into taksim square

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah , and that you were pleased with the service and facilities as well as your Spa experience. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel’s strategic location convenient.
I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were booked for 2 nights at the Pierre Lotti Suite. But we were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the King Suite - which boasts among its many illustrious residents: KIng Edward VIII. It is a large classically designed suite with a study area, living room, dining room and a large bedroom. It has a partial view of the Golden Horn. Reminded me of a grand suite in Raffles Hotel, Singapore. Very nice, spacious and fully equipped with all the modern amenities one would need for a very pleasant stay. Sound and light isolation was good; great comfy bed - allowed us really peaceful rest after full day of hectic sightseeing. Actually we stay 4 nights previously at Four Seasons Sultanahment. And decided to have a change and stay at the very chic and lively district of Beyoglu. (see separate review on Four Seasons).

The entire hotel just seep and breathes history. They maintained and restored the place meticulously (Pera Palace had a chance in management and ownership to Jumeriah group, and underwent extensive renovation and was only reopened last year). I would say they did any excellent job. From the lobby, lobby bar, ball room, restaurant and antique lift (2nd oldest in Europe) - it was beautifully furnished. Even the ceiling was not 'spared". One can only marvel at it and think "this is how grand dame hotels should be kept!".

And unlike some Grand Dame Glam hotels which mistaken snobbery service for classiness - Pera Palace thankfully had none of such misconception. They have great staff, always ready to help, very responsive to our requests (esp the room service) and serving with a smile. We requested for the hotel to help us with some restaurants reservations, which all were executed flawlessly without any dramas. Concierge always on hand to give us good insights on where and how to go to different places and attractions. A reflection of how seriously they take customer service was the many reminders from them for me to complete an online feedback form after I checked out.

With regards to the location. If your intention is to spent some time on the other side of the Golden Horn (as opposed to the old city), you cannot do worse then pick this place. It is right in the heart of Beyoglu district. Here you will find many excellent dining options, lively bars, cool cafes and shopping (The southern end of the famous shopping street of Istiklal Caddesi is just a 5 min walk away). Furthermore, you can walk to the Galata Tower (downhill!) via narrow old streets with lively souvenir and art shops. You are also 10 min walk to Tunel, station (which boasts of the 2nd oldest funicular/subway in Europe). One stop on this funicular brings you to the Galata Bridge and also the tram stop of Karakoy. Here it is very convenient to catch the tram to most other tourist sites in Istanbul. In short, you could base yourself here for your entire stay. However we choose to stay the early part of our visit at the old city for nearer access to the historic sites there. And to get the best of both worlds (old city is dead at night and lacks really good choice for good food and modern shopping) - we moved to Pera Palace on the last 2 nights. On another important point on location. We did consider staying at the Bosphorus for the view. However be aware that while there are also many nice hotels there, that area is not well served by trams, and taxis in Istanbul are quite notorious for their lack of honesty; not to mention the traffic jams. So we did a long cruise to enjoy the Bosphorus view but prefer the convenience and accessibility of Pera Palace.

As for food - unfortunately the beds were so comfortable we never woke up in time for breakfast :). And you are spoilt for choice with some many other food options within walking distance.

Last but not the least. We had the chance to try the spa and Turkish bath. Well to be frank, it was rather small place. The service was fine. and the place, clean and pleasant but really nothing much to write home about. But then again I am just picking on a small matter.

On the whole, I would highly recommend this hotel...I mean palace !

Room Tip: Get a suite. Its good value. I heard the normal rooms are rather small. But be realistic, even the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah . I would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience about our services, location and unique features in depth. It is truly encouraging to know that our efforts to constantly improve our services and facilities create a positive experience for our guests. I will convey your comments to my team, for which they will be very appreciative. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that I will be able to meet you in person at your next visit to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed at the Pera Palace Hotel in a Pierre Lotti Suite which had great views over Istanbul. The staff were extremely attentive whilst not being overbearing. Favourite haunt was sipping margaritas in The Orient Express bar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan18526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that the Pierre Loti Suite which is one of my favorites too, and our location provided such added value for you.

I have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team, they were equally delighted to know that their efforts are highly appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Pınra Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Pera Palace is a lovely hotel in a great location. The food is very good and the décor charming. As you enter, you can tell that there is quite a bit of history here. We very much enjoye dour stay here. They could use a bit of help in the area of admin. We asked for a gift certificate to give as a gift and it took three hours. When checking out, they forgot to credit our bill per certain credits.

Overall I would suggest staying here for those who visit the Taksim district.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrytheskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities.
I have noted your comment and passed on to the concern manager to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that so that we exceed your expectations on your return.
We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

A very expensive treat indeed. Perfect cocktails, lounging on sofas in the luxurious lobby area with friends - we could almost imagine that we had just disembarked from the Orient Express. Delightful way to spend an hour if feeling wealthy.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.
It is our upmost priority to provide you with the best of the quality when it comes to food & beverage production in our hotel. We would like to also emphasis that our menues are priced in the line with other quality hotels in the city.
Thank you once again, for your comments and for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pera Place Hotel Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a lovely few days at this beautiful hotel. Delightful staff who kindly changed our room to one with a shower. The Agatha restaurant was excellent. Wonderful food and superb, attentive service especially from Tayfun Poyraz and Mustafa Ay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smt1apbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding our facilities and I would also like to thank you sincerely for your kind words regarding our colleagues Tayfun and Mustafa.
We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We couldn't design a better location (in Pera District near Galata Tower) or more attentive service, from Concierge, door staff and front of the house. Lovely, bright room with impeccable attention to our needs and comfort. We were traveling with our family including two grandchildren and the amenities were spot on. Not cheap but worth every Turkish Lira. Bravo - keep it up!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank rswfmChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah , and that you were pleased with the service and facilities as well as your breakfast experience. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel’s strategic location convenient.
I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#55 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,115 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#14 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#75 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#5 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,047 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $99 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing