We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pera Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$515
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$235
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$112
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
Free cancellation until 06/03
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 06/02
Book now, pay at stay
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$145
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,229)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveler rating
876
257
58
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
257
58
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsagatha christieorient expressorient bargolden hornhistorical hotelagatha restaurantgreta garboernest hemingwaymodern turkeyoriginal elevatorluxury hotelturn down servicemarble bathroompublic areasbeyoglu districtsmall balconypierre loti
Filter
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend trip with my mum and below summary of the good bits and areas of improvement:

The good bits:
- Location: great location and very close to Istiklal street (10 minutes walk), taxi stand next door, lots of restaurants/bars in the same street
- Check in: bell boys and front office staff are really nice and checking in/out was swift. We were offered a tour of the hotel and they helped us in general with taxis and directions with a smile.
- Amenities: great amenities overall, would have loved so see something turkish (like the soap/towels) but luxurious nevertheless.
- View: we booked a golden horn view room and it was great to open the balcony doors every morning to that view and breeze.
- Bed: Very very comfortable, couldn't wait to get back to it every day.
- Bath: cozy and well equipped with hot strong water flow.
- History of the hotel is really intriguing.

Areas of improvement:
- Making the reservation: it wasn't easy amending the reservation on the jumeirah website as the hotel is apparently working on another system. After various calls it was done but still no confirmation by email. No mention on whether breakfast is included or not either.
- Life & Soul: while this is a historical hotel with lots of stories it lacks life especially in the lobby, lounge and reception. Simple additions like fresh flowers and music can make all the difference.
- Spa: to get to the spa (pool & treatment rooms) you have to walk down a flight of stairs as there is no elevator. For my elderly mother it wasn't so convenient and the prices were really high compared to having an authentic turkish bath outside of the hotel. The steam room wasn't clean when we popped in to have a look and we would have much preferred an outdoor pool as the weather was amazing.
- Food: overall the food was ok but lacks any excitement. Comparing the food to Jumeirah restaurants in Dubai is not fair as it doesn't even come close. The hotel didn't carry plain green tea for example. And yes breakfast is expensive for what it is but we were indulging in breakfast in bed daily anyhow.
- Housekeeping: we got turn down service only once during our 4 night stay although we were leaving the 'clean my room' sign every day. The room was clean when we arrived but the daily cleaning seemed to be rushed and not thorough.
- Room: empty corner in the room can be filled with an additional side table or chair. The balcony only has one chair so if two people want to sit and enjoy the view they will have to carry a chair out of the room. The bathtub is impossible to get into and out of given then squeezed it in the shower cubicle with a step to get in as well, the water wasn't draining fast but you have to expect that with a really old hotel.
- TV channels are really limited

We chose to stay here as we are familiar with Jumeirah standards and there was an offer for extra points. Not sure would stay there again as we prefer a hotel with an outdoor pool and a bit more life. Wouldn't rate the hotel as 5 stars and would never have guessed it is a Jumeirah property unless I knew before- missing many Jumeirah winks. Nevertheless it was comfortable, clean and convenient and no major issues faced.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms with golden horn view highly suggested
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RashaMinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that in general you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments and all issues will be addressed to the concerned department heads. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Sincerely,

Pınar Kartal-Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I cannot praise this place enough for service, location, room quality - really just about everything. The caveat is that although the hotel is supposed to be nonsmoking (apparently, strict new Turkish laws don't allow smoking indoors in any public place), there are ashtrays in the rooms and no "no smoking" signs, so of course some guests do smoke. We had a lot of smoke in our room, to the point that it woke us from sleep one night and eventually we had to do without the A/C (in 32 C heat) to avoid it. If the hotel could designate "non smoking" floors, it would be perfect. The pool/sauna/steam/turkish bath area is beautiful, gym is good, hotel is beautifully restored yet still retains its historic value & look (it even has a museum to Ataturk!). Our room on the 6th floor had a lovely view of the golden horn and a private balcony. Service was excellent and very personalized. As this was out 2nd trip to Istanbul, the central location was ideal as it allowed easy access to public transportation to visit the upscale areas north of Galata and to ferries for the Asian side, plus the immediate area is full of great restaurants, bars and vibrant street life. The major tourist sites across the golden horn are in walking distance (long walk), or easily reached by tram.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor with a balcony (be aware the "golden horn" view is to the west, not directly south toward the Blue Mosque; but it's still a terrific view)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that in general you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the smoking policy and the air conditioning. Rest assured that your feedback will be addressed to the concerned department heads. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall a really nice hotel in a historic building. Clean, well kept. We slept well and found the location very convenient.

Pros:
-Great beds, nice linens and pillows
-Acoustically sealed windows
-Nice views to the Golden Horn (from upper floors)
-Friendly staff
-Ideal location for easily reaching the Galata Bridge and Sultanhamet, as well as the restaurants of Beyoglu
-Concierge knowledgeable and helpful

Cons:
-Bizarre not-frosted-enough glass window between bathroom and bedroom with no shade/blind means lack of privacy in the toilet
-No outdoor pool
-No special views from terrace restaurant (Istanbul is full of hotels and restaurants with terrific views)
-Service in lobby (for snacks, coffee) very slow
-Expensive buffet breakfast is the only option (other than room service); a la carte options would be nice
-Metal detector in lobby vestibule gives off a bit of a "Mobsters and oligarchs stay here" vibe; seems unnecessary, and mars the otherwise very pretty vestibule.

I would happily stay there again because of the solid reliability of the hotel, the comfort of the beds, the friendliness of the staff, and the sense that our room was a well located and good refuge from the bustling city. With better service in the cafe and some more breakfast options I would rate the hotel excellent (after all, its siting and design - without outdoor pool, roof bar, etc. - were carried out in an altogether different age, so one can hardly hold the lack of those things against it). It seems to have been beautifully and lovingly restored. The afternoon tea looked nice.

My wife and I are in our mid-forties, and felt ourselves to be the youngest people there by quite a bit! So, not the place to choose if you want a lively scene, but very much the place to choose if you want peace, quiet and courtesy.

Room Tip: Upper floors, with views towards the Golden Horn.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that in general you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments and I can assure that your feedback will be addressed to the concerned department heads. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you plan to embark/disembark a cruise ship in Istanbul you definitely need to plan an extra 3 days to see this amazing city. The Pera Palace is one of the nicest 5-star hotel properties we have ever enjoyed, and we have enjoyed quite a few around the world. We spent two nights at Pera Palace and could not have been more impressed with the room, the amenities and the amazing staff. This is a great city and one of the greatest hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for the Golden Horn view rooms. The other side of the hotel faces some major construction projects.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiseReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

It is indeed very gratifying to learn that you appreciated the high level of guest service you experienced, and for which Jumeirah is renowned. Thank you for you warm acknowledgements of the hotel, especially the rooms and the facilities, and the high level of service provided by our dedicated team of colleagues.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah in the near future, and to ensuring most enjoyable stays and fond memories with us.

Sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We're on our second day here at the Pera Palace, and, as other reviewers have noted, it is a grand old hotel with many nostalgic features. Our welcome was warm, and we were escorted to our room via the original elevator. While they have done wonders in bringing modern touches, the flip side of an old hotel is creaky infrastructure. Our hot water this morning was so full of rust that it stained the wash cloth.

Our big complaint is being charged more than $40 per person for a breakfast we thought was included. We have never paid additional for breakfast in Turkey, not at the Four Seasons here nor at the Argos in Cappadocia, so it came at quite a shock.

I will say their internet is first rate as I write this message.

Room Tip: We signed up for this room months ago. It is a Golden Horn view with a balcony. The view at night, especially, is dramatic. While we thought the Four Seasons location, service, and rooms were superior, we chose this hotel for its view from these rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltonHeadrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that in general you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the breakfast and the water issue. Rest assured that your feedback will be addressed to the concerned department heads. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.


Sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews