We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staffs are great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #53 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed with my family, including baby.
I stayed this hotel because of its history. I wanted to taste nostalgia of 19th century.
The facility of renewed hotel was excellent. Balance of old taste and renewed equipment was great. Old cafe and old elevator were so nice and so pretty.

But my most impressed thing was its staffs.
Hotel staffs were so professional that we could enjoy hotel life very much without any trouble.
But they were also very friendly and full of hospitality.
They cared my daughter very much. They remembered the name of my daughter and tried to talk to her anytime. (unfortunately, she was too shy to talk with them.)
That experience was great to us.
If I have chance to visit Istanbul again, I will choose this hotel again because of their hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KKKKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation on Trip Advisor, following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah.

It is indeed very gratifying to learn that you appreciated the high level of guest service you experienced, and for which Jumeirah is renowned. Thank you for you warm acknowledgements of the hotel, especially the high level of service provided by our dedicated team of colleagues.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah in the near future, and to ensuring most enjoyable stays and fond memories with us.

Sincerely,
Pinar Kartal-Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice hotel and very nice room, with all what we could expect of an hotel with this standing. Spa is as well very nice.
However we have been a bit disappointed by the quality of the services and the staff of the hotel. We have stayed in another hotel in Sultanahmet prior to this hotel, and we have preferred much more the other hotel due to their warm welcome + closer to the historical centre.
We have booked the room with a specific package (more expensive) including breakfast, teal in the hotel lounge, specific visit of the Attaturk museum room. When I have asked them confirmation that breakfast was indeed included, and they told me "no" and asked me to provide the proof that I have booked with this specific package. This is not acceptable, specially that booking was made under their website. I have complained to them and they sent me a letter to apologise, but services did not improve. They did not explain me how to proceed with the tea included into the package. Finally we did not get the visit of the Attaturk museum room.
When we went to the spa, there was,no more towels and locker was not working. The lady at the reception of the spa did not explain us anything about the spa facilities.
We have stayed there for 2 nights and at the the check out, I have realised that they haves already charged the first night on my credit card without my authorisation. I had then 2 invoices, 1 for each night. Why did they do that? Did they think I Will leave without paying? No clue...

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vincent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very good location, very near to all sights and the market. All can be reached by a few minutes walking or by taxi.
The rooms are full equipped with the all comforts (espresso coffee machine is included!!!)
For the bathroom, i think that any comment will not be enough. It is perfect.
Except the rooms all hotel areas, restaurants, reception desk, lobby, bars, etc are more than very good. You feel that you live in a real palace and the hotel employees behave to you like as a king.
Perfect service.-

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Repp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stunning historic hotel restored with great care and attention to detail. Items recovered from the early days of the hotel (e.g. wash stands) make wonderful displays and the old elevator hugged by the staircase give the hotel charm and an air of class. The hotel is conveniently located to reach sights across town by foot or with public transport (Istanbul Card is a good investment). In the evenings, you have a whole range of bars and restaurants maybe a five to ten minutes walk just up the hill.

We stayed in a deluxe room on the 5th floor with views of the Golden Horn during the Christmas holidays. The rooms are tastefully furnished in a combination of modern and antique furniture. The beds are comfortable but the mattresses a tiny bit on the firm side if you are suffering from back problems. The hotel offers a 'pillow menu'.

The marble bathrooms are very nice although a bit on the small side (don't be alarmed if you can't find an extractor fan - it is built in, no noise and never any misting up of mirrors). Generally we found the hotel to be very quiet with no noise from neighbours.

What really made our stay was the staff, right from the moment we set foot in the hotel. Check-in was quick and while we did the paperwork were offered a hot towel which was very welcome after the journey. Throughout our stay, staff were friendly and helpful and - unlike at other hotels - they never gave you the impression of being in any way 'inconvenienced' whether you asked for another pillow from their 'menu' or for help with the ferry timetables. If they didn't know, they would find out and response was very quick. During afternoon tea, you could even find the manager pouring tea for guests! (By the way, if you get a chance to go for afternoon tea, it's well worth the experience!)

What I particularly enjoyed about this hotel was the housekeeping staff. I am a bit fussy with things like that but I don't think the proof that a cleaner has been to the room ought to be the wipemarks on mirrors or dust pushed into a corner. The room and bathroom at the Pera Palace were absolutely spotless every single day during our stay.

Room Tip: 'Golden Horn view' is well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomdeplume123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked Istanbul at short notice over Christmas 2012.
Chose the Pera Palace as the reviews looked good. From the second the taxi drops you at the hotel, the service is better than good.

Before praise goes ott, was surprised that the refurbished rooms of a 5* hotel do not all have showers. We eventually got the right room but were charged extra. This was then taken off by a hotel manager who treated his customers like still the best hotel manager in the business ~ the manager from Pretty Women!!

The higher up the hotel, the better the view. The breakfast is superb (for £50 per person it should be)~you don't have to eat after.

Overall terrific.

Room Tip: Golden horn view! High up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosslonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, and that you were pleased with the service and facilities as well as your breakfast experience. I also am glad to hear that you found our hotel’s strategic location convenient.

I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pinar Kartal Timer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel purely for the fact that it was going to have character and we were not disappointed.
Things we particularly liked:
Room size - stayed in a studio which was double the same of standard room apparently
Agatha bar - beautiful velvet seats in a tastefully-lit bar
Breakfast was extensive - with additional choice of freshly made eggs and omelettes as well as waffles/pancakes if desired.
Afternoon tea - unlimited canapes and sandwiches and again extensive choice of tea
Spa/Hamman - convenient and again free of charge as hotel guests

Few things to 'beware of' though:
The rooms have wooden floors hence if you are on one of the lower floors you can hear people walking above quite easily
The hotel is situated in the nightclub area so again if you are facing the street you will hear the noise particularly if you are on one of the lower floors.

I believe the rooms get smaller as you are higher up so you have to think of either noise reduction or size of room which of those is your priority.

We would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but not as big. Go for the rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank International T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as the base for our 3 day shopping and sight trip of Istanbul. Its an easy taxi access to the main sights in the old area and a great base for evening entertainment. The staff in the hotel are all very friendly and helpful and quite rightly very proud of their wonderful hotel. We were impressed with how good the service was and the attention to detail. We spent one evening in the hotel, eating in a light meal in the hotel bar whilst listening to live jazz - a very pleasant evening. The other evenings there were a large number of excellent restaurants and bars all within close walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#52 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,095 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,809 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#54 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $100 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing