We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #62 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked Istanbul at short notice over Christmas 2012.
Chose the Pera Palace as the reviews looked good. From the second the taxi drops you at the hotel, the service is better than good.

Before praise goes ott, was surprised that the refurbished rooms of a 5* hotel do not all have showers. We eventually got the right room but were charged extra. This was then taken off by a hotel manager who treated his customers like still the best hotel manager in the business ~ the manager from Pretty Women!!

The higher up the hotel, the better the view. The breakfast is superb (for £50 per person it should be)~you don't have to eat after.

Overall terrific.

Room Tip: Golden horn view! High up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosslonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, and that you were pleased with the service and facilities as well as your breakfast experience. I also am glad to hear that you found our hotel’s strategic location convenient.

I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pinar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    233
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
164
469
66
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel purely for the fact that it was going to have character and we were not disappointed.
Things we particularly liked:
Room size - stayed in a studio which was double the same of standard room apparently
Agatha bar - beautiful velvet seats in a tastefully-lit bar
Breakfast was extensive - with additional choice of freshly made eggs and omelettes as well as waffles/pancakes if desired.
Afternoon tea - unlimited canapes and sandwiches and again extensive choice of tea
Spa/Hamman - convenient and again free of charge as hotel guests

Few things to 'beware of' though:
The rooms have wooden floors hence if you are on one of the lower floors you can hear people walking above quite easily
The hotel is situated in the nightclub area so again if you are facing the street you will hear the noise particularly if you are on one of the lower floors.

I believe the rooms get smaller as you are higher up so you have to think of either noise reduction or size of room which of those is your priority.

We would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but not as big. Go for the rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank International T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as the base for our 3 day shopping and sight trip of Istanbul. Its an easy taxi access to the main sights in the old area and a great base for evening entertainment. The staff in the hotel are all very friendly and helpful and quite rightly very proud of their wonderful hotel. We were impressed with how good the service was and the attention to detail. We spent one evening in the hotel, eating in a light meal in the hotel bar whilst listening to live jazz - a very pleasant evening. The other evenings there were a large number of excellent restaurants and bars all within close walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are used to the Jumeirah quality and service then you won't be disappointed to stay at this property. Unfortunately I only stayed there for one night but I have stayed at other Jumeirah properties. These folks know how to do things the right way. Some rooms might be small but they are very comfortable. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is one experience that lives up to the hype. This hotel is how travel should be. From the moment you arrive and they bring you tea and a hot cloth to leaving for the airport at 3:30 am and having someone at your door to haul your bags, this hotel is perfection. Not cheap, but worth every penny. The spa/hammam was very relaxing after having two more traditional hamam experiences. (The pool area is small and the hot tub is not hot). Agatha, the restaurant, had immaculate service and a lovely wine list. The legendary Orient bar was divine. If you can afford it, and even if you can't, you should stay here a least once in your life.

Room Tip: didn't opt for a view of the Golden Horn but might the next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Pera Palace for three nights in early September and stayed in a deluxe golden horn view room. I believe our room number was 604, six being the top floor of the hotel. In the end, we decided Beyoğlu was preferable to Sultanahmet because of its more lively atmosphere and abundance of excellent nightlife. However, you do sacrifice proximity to most tourist sites. It's a short cab ride to the old city, but access to public transportation from Pera Palace is a bit of a walk. We probably would have banged out a few more tourist locations had we stayed in Sultanahmet, but I believe Beyoğlu offers a more authentic experience of the living city. If I had it to do over, I'd choose Pera Palace. The Marmara Pera hotel is right across the street. By comparison it looks like a soviet era barrack.

Positives
-The hotel radiates a palpable sense of history. On arrival you are escorted to your hotel via the hotel's original elevator, which was the first elevator in Turkey. History echoes throughout.
-Rooms are a generously sized and furnished to a high standard. I found the bed to be very comfortable. Our room had a small balcony, but with enough room for a small table and two chairs. The balcony, overlooking the golden horn was an excellent alternative to rooftop hotel bars for sunset cocktails.
-The location is excellent. There are many fine restaurants within walking distance. Also, you will not suffer for lack of drinking establishments. People from all over the city come to Beyoğlu to party.
-The breakfast was very good. Options include both Turkish and Western food. The pastries and fresh fruit are excellent.
-You don't often say it for a hotel in this category, but Pera Palace offers excellent value for money.

Negatives
-Noise from nearby nightclubs, especially on weekend nights, can be distracting.
-The swimming pool area was underwhelming. The pool is in the basement and tiny. The water temperature in the hot tub was lukewarm.
-The bathroom was a slight disappointment. You have to step into a slightly elevated tub to shower. I can imagine this being difficult to negotiate for older travelers. Also, their was a stinky smell that emanated for the drain beneath the tub.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goweje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012 just weeks after the management had been taken over by Jumeirah. I had a history with this property because I had seen it prior to the renovations back in 1998. The transformation and restoration is incredible and the property remains a delicious nugget of Istanbul's past.

Our room and bathroom were really compact but lovely. It's a property with character that was built in the late 1890's so don't expect spacious Marriott style rooms and you'll be fine.

The breakfast was first class. The staff at the hotel were super friendly. My favourite feature of the property is their al fresco bar on a terrace overlooking the Golden Horn. It is a perfect spot to watch the sun set over the fascinating city of Istanbul over a delicious Kir Royale.

The hotel is located in an resurgent part of the city and with the aide of a little restaurant guide that a friend lent us we found some brilliant little restaurants within the local neighbourhood. It was really nice to be away from the melee of restaurants elsewhere in the city with "tourist menus".

Highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for a really high standard property with real character.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#60 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#6 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#57 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Property: Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing