We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #53 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at Pera Palace with my boyfriend over the weekend when visiting for a friends wedding. This is my first stay at a Jumeirah Hotel and my high hopes were definitely met. The hotel is interesting due to the history and I was glad to see that they had retained the history and grandeur - it was not as bland and soulless as most of the luxury hotels are. It speaks highly of Jumeriah that they have let the hotel and it's history speak for itself and just put in the Jumeriah touches when it comes to attentive staff and nicely decorated rooms.

The room was a good size with fantastic view of the Golden Horn - try to get a room with a view but higher up in the building as otherwise the Istanbul traffic will cause many sleepless nights.

The breakfast was good with lots of choices but not comparable to getting yourself to a brunch restaurant by the sea.

Location was perfect for what we wanted - rooftop bars, restaurants. Apparently walking somewhere for dinner is Istanbul is unheard of but we were able to walk to the best restaurant in Istanbul - X (and this is saying something).

Only downside is the hotel does not have a rooftop bar itself and it is not by the bosphorus - having said this there is not much to do around the bosphorus apart from some nice hotels so we preferred staying as central as we did and then take a taxi to the bosphorus and bars like Angelique etc.

All in all I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with the golden horn view and the higher up in the building the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a couple of days in Istanbul and choose to stay at Pera Palace. This historic hotel is truly beautiful and so much more interesting than new 5* hotels belonging to international chains. Our bedroom was perhaps a little bit smaller than average but very nicely decorated and had everything you could wish for, including very comfortable beds and a Nespresso machine. The hotel staff was fantastic, always there to assist you with a smile. We especially appreciated the servants on the terrace who were ever so friendly and took the time to tell us about Istanbul and everyday life in Turkey.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsamarie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel overall is ok .. pretty historical but misses the Jumeirah touch with the staff and overall experience.
Jumeirah being in my standard the top in the world, have not managed to cascade their knowledge to the staff in Pera Palace. The hotel has still major learnings to go through to really belong to the 'Jumeirah' family.

Location is excellent - room ammenities are 'upgraded' - internet is horrible ( depends on the day timing ) - food & beverage are pretty average for a 5* Hotel.

Would I stay here again ? .... Hmmmmm ... no !

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not on the construction side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

this is a historical building which renovated recently an I really enjoyed my stay. Although the rooms are small, they are well designed with nice furniture. The location is lively, there are very good restaurants around and good nightlife. The staff was also helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, it could be very noisy outside untill very late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummy1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel, great staff, service was excellent, except for the location was a bit noisy. My previous stay two years ago at Grand Hyatt has a better location, but overall it wasn't a regret to experience this hotel. I highly recommend their grand studio room, highly spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeshariAlbannai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just spent three nights at what has to be reviewed as the most welcoming and attentive hotel I have had the pleasure to stay at in Istanbul.
Please remember that this hotel is classified as an 'historic hotel' although in my opinion worthy of a five star classification. Obviously with a building that is steeped in history, there may be a few things that the building could not provide in comparison to a new build. Some of the bedrooms may be slightly smaller than those found in new build 5 star property.
Service throughout our stay was exemplary, being attentive but never intrusive. Cocktails on the terrace were well blended and presented to a high standard.
Overall a magical stay and one I hope to repeat in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

it's not very often that a hotel positively surprises me, but this one did. i had my reservations about staying in a museum hotel, but thanks to a recent renovation pera palace managed to deliver a pleasant mix of the modern and classical. there are many historical items (at display, or being used) at the hotel, which immerses you in the romantic feel of historical turkey, while at the same time modern conveniences in the rooms make them very comfortable and luxurious. the hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, and the concierge went above and beyond to help us get around and get taxis, etc. the location is excellent, being within walking distance of many attractions and a short cab ride from the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#52 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,094 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,163 in Istanbul
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#71 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,808 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#54 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#29 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#39 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $98 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing