We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,350)
Filter reviews
1,350 results
Traveler rating
962
283
61
27
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
962
283
61
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie orient express golden horn historical hotel greta garbo agatha restaurant ernest hemingway modern turkey original elevator turn down service luxury hotel marble bathroom small balcony pierre loti public areas pillow menu istiklal street
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,350 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just spent three nights at what has to be reviewed as the most welcoming and attentive hotel I have had the pleasure to stay at in Istanbul.
Please remember that this hotel is classified as an 'historic hotel' although in my opinion worthy of a five star classification. Obviously with a building that is steeped in history, there may be a few things that the building could not provide in comparison to a new build. Some of the bedrooms may be slightly smaller than those found in new build 5 star property.
Service throughout our stay was exemplary, being attentive but never intrusive. Cocktails on the terrace were well blended and presented to a high standard.
Overall a magical stay and one I hope to repeat in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

it's not very often that a hotel positively surprises me, but this one did. i had my reservations about staying in a museum hotel, but thanks to a recent renovation pera palace managed to deliver a pleasant mix of the modern and classical. there are many historical items (at display, or being used) at the hotel, which immerses you in the romantic feel of historical turkey, while at the same time modern conveniences in the rooms make them very comfortable and luxurious. the hotel staff was friendly and very helpful, and the concierge went above and beyond to help us get around and get taxis, etc. the location is excellent, being within walking distance of many attractions and a short cab ride from the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had lunch at the Pera Palace Hotel in the Orient Terrace Restaurant. The views from the hotel of Istanbul are just breathtaking! The service at the restaurant is great, and the staff are well informed about the property- while we were waiting for our food we found out that not only Jackie Kennedy, Agatha Christie, British royals and Alfred Hitchcock stayed at the property but also the great founder of the Turkish Republic- Atatürk (room 101!). If you have the chance, go for the tour of the property (10am-11am) and (15:00-16:00) where the staff tell you in great detail about the history of the hotel. The food is well priced and very very tasty- they put a spin on traditional Turkish food and its a great result. Definitely try the "nani limonata" (mint lemonade), it was fresh and very delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ZPasha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Pera Palace in Istanbul in June. A completely renovated old hotel known for being the place where Agatha Christie wrote Murder on the Orient Express and Hemingway and other celebrities enjoyed their beautiful bar, this is a perfect location in a magical city. Service was wonderful and the atmosphere unique. The room we stayed in had a balcony from which we could see city streets with locals hurrying to work in the morning and the beautiful Bophorus in the distance. Not a large room but very comfortable and with a upgraded bathroom. Walking around Istanbul is an unbeatable experience. Try to take the 6 hour walk/eat tour called Istanbul Eats. Very local places with wonderful tastes in each. The most beautiful dinner restaurants are nearby and on the rooftops with unbeatable views of the mosques lighting up in the dusk. Never had a bad meal.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Bosphorus. Have them show you Agatha's room, a shrine of sorts, but surprisingly small. Breakfast downstairs is delightful and generous.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterphyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The best choice to make if you are going to stay at beyoglu and want to be near the commercial street Istiklal. Situated at the eastern side of Istanbul, this is a historical hotel the one that opened for the first time to welcome travellers of the time when the famous Orient express would arrive at Istanbul! More like a palace, than a simple hotel, it is by itself an attraction! Dont miss the roof garden for coffee and dont forget to try the "afternoon tea'' menu!Watch the preserved room of Agatha Cristie and many other's famous visitors of this hotel, check the 2nd oldest elevator in Europe, after the one of the Eiffel Tower adn enjoy a king's stay at this hotel. Its neghbourghood is very close to different cafes, restaurants, shops, and the tunel that leads to the galata tower and then the tram to pass towards the european side of the city.

Room Tip: Top floors view the Bosporus and the bridge!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Electra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews