We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to End a Visit to Istillal Caddesi for Drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #62 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bettembourg, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good Place to End a Visit to Istillal Caddesi for Drinks”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The Pera Palace is very near the shopping on Istillal Cassesi, Tunel and Galata Tower area. The hotel lounge is small but gorgeously plush. It is worth a quick diversion to enjoy the lounge and a coffee or drink. Not cheap... so only if you feel like having a treat like Jackie O, Agatha Christie and the like!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    241
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
171
479
69
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had booked a trip from Istanbul to Venice on the Orient Express, so we decided to stay in the Pera Palace which have so many historical connections with the Orient Express. The service was excellent and the staff friendly & very helpful. The rooms had been updated and were extremely comfortable. We ate at the Terrace Restaurant as well as Agatha Restuarant...the service & food were delicious. The Orient Express and Agatha Christie memoribilia on each floor was exciting. Staying in the Pera Palace to begin our Orient Express journey was the very best choice.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a room overlooking the Golden Horn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orient_Ex_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was there for a 5 days and I never wanna go back to it again.

facte in a nutshell

unfriendly. noisy. no electrity for one whole evening and night. one day fot the whole morning cold water in the bathroom, no professional staff, only one lift.. for more than 100 rooms. cause the antic lift you cannot use alone and the second one is only for brining you to public areas not to the rooms.

It started with a very unfriedly guest realtionship manager, obviously she doesn't know what such a job needs for qualifications. Very unhelpful, undfriendly and stuck up she showed me my room and was no big help in case to question about landmarks and restaurant suggestion.

Second night i just was taking a shower all of the sudden, there was no electrity after one our of waiting in the dark, an a lot of fake explanations trhough the managment team i dressed up for dinner in the dark. 3 Hours later I came back to the hotel, there was still no electrity. Finally after long discussions, i was allowed to change to a room on a lower level which hat electrity but was even more noisy because it was located straight to one mainstreet.

The last day, i wanted to take a shower in the morning, but there was no warm water in the whole hotel...

this all sucks. it sucks even morge the the everage rate i pad was round about 300€ a night.
pera palace never again for me!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank but_Nutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Pera Palace, staying in the Pierre Lotti suite. Overall, the suite itself is beautiful, and extremely comfortable with all modern amenities. i would stay here again in a flash. Downsides: tiny bathtub, shower cubicle not properly sealed so water got all over the place. TV in the bedroom placed in a way that a DVD player couldn't be attached - wouldn't normally have been a problem, but I was 7 months pregnant at the time and needed to rest quite a bit and could have used the entertainment!

The combination lock on my suitcase refused to open, a problem which was speedily sorted out by housekeeping (broke the lock) .

Breakfast at Agatha was yummy and staff very friendly. Had a meal there once as well, was outstanding . Try the gaufrette !

The pool and spa area is poor- people kept coming and talking to the masseuse while my husband was having a massage.

Overall, we had a fab time- would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having stayed at the Pera Palas Hotel both before and after its 2010 renovation, my opinion is that while the quality of the lodging aspect of the product has been brought to a rather high modern standard, much of the old establishment’s nostalgic charm has been corralled into a few display cases containing historic documents of indifferent interest. Thankfully, the original elevator has been preserved, as has the décor of the Kubbeli Saloon, and the Ataturk museum room (open to the public by appointment) remains as it was during our original visit years ago. The renovation of the Orient Bar had not yet been completed during our late July, 2011 visit. The rooms and suites have been fully modernized and are spacious and well furnished, though without much ambience that would invoke the hotel’s Ottoman history. My overall rating for this property would be above average if this were the only factor considered.

The hotel’s implementation of a modern, customer-oriented service component has been less successful than the physical renovation. Individual staff members were, with a few exceptions, extremely pleasant and eager to oblige, when able to do so. For example, the concierge desk, having recommended a restaurant a few blocks away, sent along one of the young bellmen to walk with us through the area’s confusing maze of streets. That was nicely done. On the other hand, the concierge desk, when asked for restaurant recommendations, pushed several that have been identified in other reviews as “concierge favorites” at several of the big hotels, and which offered indifferent food at exorbitant prices. Yet they did not mention a very fine restaurant just ten steps away. (We found it ourselves on Tripadvisor!).

Unfortunately, the front desk did not measure up to what should be expected in a first-class establishment. Interactions ranged from cold to hostile. Our rooms weren’t ready at checkin and we were upsold to what they called suites, though one of the two rooms certainly was not a suite. We were cheerily informed by one staff member that our room rate included breakfast, but after being presented with a bill at breakfast the next day we inquired at the front desk and were told no, the room did not include breakfast. When I said that we had been told it did by the staff member (who was then standing right next to the receptionist) the reply was “she made a mistake.” The breakfast charge was there at checkout, itself a very confused process entailing three separate credit card charges. Overall, the front desk operation was not customer-friendly, and was a weak point.

I can’t recommend this hotel for a tourist visitor. The areas worth seeing are open to the public, and in summer a walk through the lobby and Kubbeli Saloon, followed by a cool drink on the outdoor terrace, might be worthwhile. A visit to Ataturk's room offers a rare chance to glimpse the private life of one of the 20th Century's greatest political figures. For a business visit on an expense account, it would be a good choice if the business to be done is in the vicinity. Otherwise, this marvelous city offers many more attractive alternatives for tourist lodging.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kai-Ala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I expected a lot from the Pera Palace and was not disappointed. The hotel is like a living museum, full of beautiful furniture, antiques and pictures and yet the quality of service and hospitality is absolutely superb. All the staff during our short stay were charming and helpful and our room was elegant and tasteful as well as quiet and comfortable with the best bed I have ever slept in. In addition the spa is excellent and the quality of the buffet breakfast just amazing - first class hot selection as well as 12 different types of cheese and 7 different olive oils. I was here 20 years ago and in my opinion the refurb is a big success. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The prestigious Pera Palac is thenplace where upper class travellers on the Orient Express called home while in Istanbul. I feel I was luvkey to have stayed here. Although my room did not have an excellent view, it over looked a street connecting the hotel location to the famouse Istiklal St. The bed was extra comfy. The pillow cases and the bath robe I had to buy :o)

the breakfast foresd and what's cooked to order is as great as kings would love to have.

The staff here mostlly speaks great English. It feels that the staff to guests ratio is excellent. You can get help and be served whereever you looked. The staff members at the door will remember you from the first time you walked in by name, which is a wonderful touch that shows how much they care about your comfort. The spa and Turkish bath area is very exquisite, not to mention the bath and massages, which are givin by well trained caring staff members.

I have to say that although the hotel was originally established in 1892, it was reopenned in 2010. So it was furnished with the latest in technology and comfort. The curtins and blackout are electriclly closed, free wifi, payperbiew flat screen tv, excellent bath room, elevators…

will definitlly visit again. Maybe honeymoon there :o)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThegilaniAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#60 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,056 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#70 of 1,149 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#64 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,302 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Property: Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#45 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing