We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel trying to be first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #63 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel trying to be first class”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The renovated Pera Palace opened less than a year ago and is still a work in progress...the help is trying hard and some are very good, but the check out took a painfully long time, and when i tried to get a complimentary tea with my wake-up call, I was told that the only complimentary beverage was coffee....strange and inconvenient for us tea drinkers..... The rooms however are lovely and Istanbul itself is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    241
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
171
479
69
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
qld
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

A wonderful experience,very special,try it. Brims with atmosphere and charm,staff are excellent,rooms beautiful,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My family and I had afternoon tea here a few days ago. It was a fantastic experience and one that I would recommend. The hotel has been beautifully renovated and we were lucky enough to be given a tour of this stunning building. It was so interesting to see the items that they have kept from the famous visitors that have graced the hotel over the years.

The cakes at the afternnon tea were delicious. They were presented as a buffet so you could choose whichever ones you like and return again and again! I have been to Istanbul many times and didn't realise what a wonderful experience visiting this hotel would be until a few days ago.

If you are planning a trip to this fantastic city make sure you visit this charming hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a perfect hotel for a nice stay in Istanbul. The whole staff are welcoming, the check in was done very quickly, we were escorted to our room upon our arrival and shown every detail we needed to know. This hotel as others have mentioned has a very special charm to it, as it is old and stylish at the same time. Everyone in Istanbul knows this hotel. It is a couple of blocks away from istiklal street, one of the main attractions of the city.

In order to give other future travellers to IStanbul some hints, during the mornings it is wise to go see the Blue Mosque, Aya sofia, topkapi palace and other landmarks of istabul. They are all located in on area and very easy to travel between the attractions on foot. Spend the day in Sultanahmet area as there is a lot going on there. however, there is nothing in that area at night, hence istiklal road becomes the main attraction with all the bars and cafes that it offers. Ofcourse there are many many other things to do at night in this HUGE city, so if anyone needs any advise i will be more than glad to help. just drop me a message in my inbox.

Kaan from the Concierge is the most amazing guy we met in Turkey. he was very helpful, made some wonderful restaurant recommendations, and i highly recommend the Istanbul Balik restaurant under the Galat bridge for the best SeaBass ever! However, excpect to pay exceptional amounts for this!

Word of advise though! Turkish people are very nice in general, they would love to help although there is this language barrier that might be a bit of a hassle. They love their culture and language that's why they stick to it and i personally like that about them. However, please watch out for the cab drivers!!! These are the slickest, most sly living things on earth! They will do ANYTHING to get the max out of your pocket. DO NOT go for the meter if you are travelling in a cab for a short distance! We had to take a cab once for a 10min drive that usually costs less than 10TL bacause it was raining. Upon our arrival to our destination, the meter MAGICALLY showed a horrendous figure 43TL!!! Although i was screening the meter every couple of seconds. I tried telling the driver nicely that i will not be paying that amount since i knew it was not correct. He tried convincing me that this is the meter and he can't do anything about it. I told him i don't care what is going to happen, i am not paying even if we had to have an arguement infront of everyone in the streets of Istanbul. I stopped one of the passersby and asked him for the number of the police. He offered nicely to interfer and talk to the cab driver, who finally surrendered and said only this time he will accept half the money since we are tourists! inorder to cut it short, agree witht he cab driver the fee BEFORE you get in, make sure you ask your hotel how much it will cost!

Anyways, don't let this issue keep you from travelling to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildmandxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Pera Palace is a legendary hotel which had been used by politicians, writers, movie stars etc.....
It became shabby and I expected much of the renovation, expecting to find again that special atmosphere of a palace hotel of the end of the XIX Century. With the exception of the central lounge, the rest of the hotel and particularely the bar, the dining room and the bed room have been re-decorated in a way that cannot be criticised (clean, modern, no "faute de goût") except that it is cold, impersonal, with no atmosphere: you could be anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aleksi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This hotel was renovated last year and was done in a very classic, tasteful style. Staff was extremely helpful. Rooms are decent size with a marble bathroom with a tub and shower and a heated floor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbyroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Istanbul is a truly unique city, worth discovering but avoid the hot summer. We went there early February and decided to spent some extra money for a comfortable Hotel: Pera Palace in the old European district. This recently refurbished 5-star hotel was booked shortly before leaving via Internet for 4 nights. At arrival and when the bell boy kindly let us in, we immediately stared at the ceiling and the exceptional beauty of this palace. Is this a Hotel, or is it a museum? It is both!
Book in Pera Palace and discover history with a mysterious room devoted to Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, the father of the Turkish republic. Or stroll through the hotel to find the room where Agatha Christie stayed. Enough of history? Than turn to luxury, with a very nice Spa/swimming poll, a fine restaurant, exceptional staff and top quality bedding. All this in a perfect location, easily accessible and nearby tourist attractions and public transport. Start packing now!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DominiqueBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#9 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#62 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,056 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#70 of 1,147 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#65 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,302 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Property: Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing