We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #98 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Nice Hotel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my sisters for three nights. The hotel is 8-10 min walk to the main tourist attractions (the hotel is all the way at the bottom so you'll be walking uphill to the attractions). The room was a bit small but very clean! The bathroom was very clean as well which is very important for us. The room was cleaned every room and a complimentary water bottle was given each day! Breakfast was buffet style and there were alot of options to choose from (we loved squeezing our own orange juice!!). There was an indoor terrace and and outdoor which were both very nice! We enjoyed our stay here!

BTW, make sure you buy converters and adapters before coming to Turkey. The hotel didn't have any extras so we had nothing to use for a whole day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveling9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    499
    85
    15
    7
See reviews for
244
580
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very well located for the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque. Breakfast was pretty good with a buffet style set up and on the roof which is the third floor of the building. On the first and second floor are the rooms. A small number are non smoking. The rooms were simple but fine for someone who spent his time visiting the city. At breakfast there is a perfect view of the sea and across to Asia.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good. I would not worry too much about these, except if one wants a non smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A bit pricey but the hotel is nice, with a big terrace restaurant and breakfast area that gives a very nice view of the bosphorus and the European and Asian sides of Istanbul. Service is very good, friendly even though most of the staff cannot speak good english; they try very hard and are very helpful and accommodating. My room was a double: spacious, nice amenities but no bathtub (not a problem). It is located right at the bottom- hence walking distance - of the hill from Agia Sofia, the Blue Mosque, the Grsnd Bazaar and lots of restsurants, shops (for tourists and locals). Very touristy area but nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CN381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I recently stayed here as a solo 29 year old American traveler. Perfect location as it was a 10 minute walk uphill to the sites. I didn't mind the walk for my age but I could see how it would be an issue for older travelers. The room was cleaned every day and the bathroom and shower are modern. I felt like I was somewhat rushed to my room at first during check in and signs to the terrace restaurant would be helpful, but I can overlook that for the price and quality of the hotel. Air conditioning worked perfectly as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlurbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Armada hotel is one of the best in the Old city, offers nice rooms,,only - point is for the senior travelers it is hard to walk up to hill from the hotel,, otherwise with the service breakfast and dinner l believe everybody can enjoy staying in Armada hotel,, should metion the view of Restourant is really amazing...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterson3443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I travel a lot around the world for business and I have stayed in many great and non-so-great hotels. When I travel for pleasure, the place where I stay and its surrounding are the most important things I look for. I would rank the Armada Hotel in the top 5% of my vacation list. Great location, friendly & efficient staff, charming atmosphere, reasonably priced, incredible breakfast spread and that amazing view from the roof-top terrace. Plus tons of good restaurants around, easy access to the major sights in Sultanahmet and conveniently close to the tram to Galata and Beyoglu. A wonderful place and an experience we will gladly repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYChecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We finished our tour in this hotel. Initially I was a bit disappointed but quickly found it to be very charming and suited the ambience completing our Turkish experience. Not another Western type hotel. The location was very good, convenient to the tram for easy touring throughout Istanbul. The view at night of the Mosques and Bosphorous was wonderful.
(To walk to the area sights however does require some uphill walking, about 10 minutes)
The service was excellent, the hotel manager works hard to ensure every client is happy. The concierge staff were most helpful and the rooms were spotless.
This hotel does host many local weddings so it could be noisy at night. But everything was quiet by midnight. It did not bother us at all but other travelling companions found it loud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2retire2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,155 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#269 of 1,155 in Istanbul
537 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#180 of 1,155 in Istanbul
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,002 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Property: Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing