We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #101 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I work for humanitarian organisation based in Geneva, Switzerland and we organise at least 3 workshops per year in the Armada. Istanbul is an excellent location as we have participants coming from Africa, Central Asia and Europe. The Armada has excellent conference facilities, the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the persons attending the hospitality desk.
During our latest workshop we had the opportunity to have a cocktail /dinner with the group on the Armada boat. Even though the weather was not fantastic, everybody enjoyed the views and the food. The hotel is located within walking distance from the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sofia etc.
The rooms are confortable and clean and the breakfast buffet on the terrace is a real treat, not only because of the great food but also because of the lovely view!! Over the years, the Armada has become "home from home" for our organisation and I would certainly recommend it for both business and leisure!

Room Tip: Try the rooms with a view over the Bosporus! A bit more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Mom and I had the upgraded corner room; I gather the regular rooms are pretty small but ours was plenty large and quite comfortable. The shower with choice of good regular head & rain head was great. It was incredibly clean, the top floor patio had an amazing view of the Blue Mosque, and the included breakfast was quite good, even if not as elaborate as some other Turkey hotels and didn't change from day to day. Loved the easy walk (but be warned it's uphill!!) to the major attractions and trolley stop to other major sites. Staff super friendly. Others loved the turtle pond in the lobby; disturbed me because I know they're invasive red sliders, but that doesn't bug most folks I guess and it's not like they're out wreaking havoc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I organised a business metting in Armada hotel with European participants. It was great! The hotel is very good for meeting facilities, phas free wi-fi, a nice terrace with Hagia Sofia & Blue Mosque view, walking distance to the heart of old town (Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, etc). The hospitality of the staff and the support in any kind of requests was outstanding. The hotel also provides dinner on the boat, departure literally in front of the hotel (1 min walk) which leads to an unforgettable memory of Istanbul. I strongly recommend this hotel for business meetings and of course for private stays as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurbanu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed our experience at the Armada. We had a triple room which made space a little tight for all the beds, but it was really cute and very comfortable and clean. Part of how I rate a hotel is by the bathroom experience and the shower here was great, and I loved the olive oil soaps they provided! Our son loved the turtle in the lobby. The breakfast was truly amazing, along with the views from the roof top! Now, for the couple of items that keep me from giving our experience an honest 5-stars, but overall, we really were thrilled with our stay! The replacing of a complimentary water bottle in our room was spotty, over five days we only got two bottles. But our larger concern would be that the walls are thin, and our room was apparently over the banquet hall. So, it was pretty noisy a couple of the nights we were there. Also, they start cleaning rooms by 8:00 in the morning, and I was awakened at least once by the maid banging the vacuum cleaner around in the next room. But like I said, everything else was really so lovely, it made up for the faults and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a very nice stay with nice rooms and within walking distance of numerous attractions. You can also walk down and watch the ships pass in the Sea of Marmara. The staff was very friendly and the roof top restaurant was very nice with great views at night. The food was awesome as well. They also have cute birds as you walk up to the roof and even a small Turtle pool in the lobby. Anyway, I did truly enjoy my stay at the Armada

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ak474me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Armada Old city Istanbul is a nice & quiet hotel with excellent service and cleanliness, a very good breakfast buffet and a location in walking distance to most old city sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the bazaars. Our cosy room was of convenient size and allowed our stay to be very comfortable. The hotel location direcly near the old city wall and the roof terrace overlooking the sea of Marmara we found especially attractive. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives especially because of the reasons above as well as due to the excellent and competent staff there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building, the street in front can be quite busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EIUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would encourage any visitors to Istanbul to stay at the Armada.the dining is excellent, the staff wonderful and the walk along the Sea of Marmara very nearby is delightful.the view from the outside and inside dining areas is spectacular at night, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dgardner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#200 of 1,163 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#149 of 1,163 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#290 of 1,163 in Istanbul
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,112 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,163 in Istanbul
790 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#46 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing