We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #103 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed our experience at the Armada. We had a triple room which made space a little tight for all the beds, but it was really cute and very comfortable and clean. Part of how I rate a hotel is by the bathroom experience and the shower here was great, and I loved the olive oil soaps they provided! Our son loved the turtle in the lobby. The breakfast was truly amazing, along with the views from the roof top! Now, for the couple of items that keep me from giving our experience an honest 5-stars, but overall, we really were thrilled with our stay! The replacing of a complimentary water bottle in our room was spotty, over five days we only got two bottles. But our larger concern would be that the walls are thin, and our room was apparently over the banquet hall. So, it was pretty noisy a couple of the nights we were there. Also, they start cleaning rooms by 8:00 in the morning, and I was awakened at least once by the maid banging the vacuum cleaner around in the next room. But like I said, everything else was really so lovely, it made up for the faults and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    484
    80
    15
    5
See reviews for
236
567
75
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockton, Pa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a very nice stay with nice rooms and within walking distance of numerous attractions. You can also walk down and watch the ships pass in the Sea of Marmara. The staff was very friendly and the roof top restaurant was very nice with great views at night. The food was awesome as well. They also have cute birds as you walk up to the roof and even a small Turtle pool in the lobby. Anyway, I did truly enjoy my stay at the Armada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak474me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickede, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Armada Old city Istanbul is a nice & quiet hotel with excellent service and cleanliness, a very good breakfast buffet and a location in walking distance to most old city sights like Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the bazaars. Our cosy room was of convenient size and allowed our stay to be very comfortable. The hotel location direcly near the old city wall and the roof terrace overlooking the sea of Marmara we found especially attractive. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives especially because of the reasons above as well as due to the excellent and competent staff there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building, the street in front can be quite busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would encourage any visitors to Istanbul to stay at the Armada.the dining is excellent, the staff wonderful and the walk along the Sea of Marmara very nearby is delightful.the view from the outside and inside dining areas is spectacular at night, not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgardner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Would give 3.5 stars if possible. The hotel has much to recommended it - great views, clean and comfortable rooms, a well-placed restaurant with good food. Our family of four has traveled quite a bit internationally and generally liked the hotel and the house staff. We all thought the hotel would be a very good choice for when we return to Istanbul (and we will, loved the city). A few notes to consider: Sultanahmet is a group of hills, with Blue Mosque/Aya Sofia at the top of the steepest ones. Armada is at the bottom of that hill and away from most of the other hotels/restaurants; depending on your perspective that could be a plus or a minus. The hill is not big, but it is a good climb up (10-15 minutes) to Topkapi/Mosque/etc. Not a problem for us, but given the number of alternatives in the neighborhood closer to the top, something to consider. That makes access by taxis pretty good, but it's a preference thing. Also, the public spaces (lobby/bar) are not particularly inviting, if not outdated. Also, concierge service is variable - one was a bit pushy for purchasing tours and packages, the other was GREAT and listened carefully to our family's requests and preferences. Minor issues, to be sure We would consider Armada in the future, but might go to other hotels instead, depending on time and schedule. Finally, jazz on weekends in the bar was quite nice.

Room Tip: Second floor preferred, best way to see either the Sea of Mamara or Blue Mosque/Aya Sofia from rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aws_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Armada is a very nice hotel with excellent breakfast and all people there are very friendly. From the roof-top you have an amazing view over the blue mosc, hagia sofia and the bosphorus. The location is absolutely recommendable if you want to stay in the old city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Istanbulanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was our first time to Istanbul and we will come back because of the Hotel and the good staff.
Me and my wife stayed at the end of November and the room was really nice facing the sea .Very clean Hotel excellent breakfast at the roof garden ,with View of Bosporus and Blue Mosque.
Near to Tram station and old city by foot .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel
BEST WESTERN Citadel Hotel
#163 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Barcelo Eresin Topkapi
#158 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#159 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#120 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#70 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Property: Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing