We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Could not have enjoyed a hotel more. The staff were exceptionally helpful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #99 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could not have enjoyed a hotel more. The staff were exceptionally helpful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would encourage any visitors to Istanbul to stay at the Armada.the dining is excellent, the staff wonderful and the walk along the Sea of Marmara very nearby is delightful.the view from the outside and inside dining areas is spectacular at night, not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgardner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    470
    80
    15
    4
See reviews for
231
559
70
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Would give 3.5 stars if possible. The hotel has much to recommended it - great views, clean and comfortable rooms, a well-placed restaurant with good food. Our family of four has traveled quite a bit internationally and generally liked the hotel and the house staff. We all thought the hotel would be a very good choice for when we return to Istanbul (and we will, loved the city). A few notes to consider: Sultanahmet is a group of hills, with Blue Mosque/Aya Sofia at the top of the steepest ones. Armada is at the bottom of that hill and away from most of the other hotels/restaurants; depending on your perspective that could be a plus or a minus. The hill is not big, but it is a good climb up (10-15 minutes) to Topkapi/Mosque/etc. Not a problem for us, but given the number of alternatives in the neighborhood closer to the top, something to consider. That makes access by taxis pretty good, but it's a preference thing. Also, the public spaces (lobby/bar) are not particularly inviting, if not outdated. Also, concierge service is variable - one was a bit pushy for purchasing tours and packages, the other was GREAT and listened carefully to our family's requests and preferences. Minor issues, to be sure We would consider Armada in the future, but might go to other hotels instead, depending on time and schedule. Finally, jazz on weekends in the bar was quite nice.

Room Tip: Second floor preferred, best way to see either the Sea of Mamara or Blue Mosque/Aya Sofia from rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aws_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Armada is a very nice hotel with excellent breakfast and all people there are very friendly. From the roof-top you have an amazing view over the blue mosc, hagia sofia and the bosphorus. The location is absolutely recommendable if you want to stay in the old city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Istanbulanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was our first time to Istanbul and we will come back because of the Hotel and the good staff.
Me and my wife stayed at the end of November and the room was really nice facing the sea .Very clean Hotel excellent breakfast at the roof garden ,with View of Bosporus and Blue Mosque.
Near to Tram station and old city by foot .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently organised a three day event at the Armada Hotel including most meals and were really impressed by the service. All of our guests enjoyed their stay and loved the stunning views from the roof top terrace of the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia and the sea.

The staff are excellent, we worked with Irmak, Levent and Baris and all were very friendly and helpful as were all the restaurant and reception staff who went out of their way to help and welcome everyone. They helped us find a local restaurant for a meal out, offered options for outings, and were great at responding to all our various and sometimes awkward requests.

The hotel's location is very central and in a good part of town in walking distance to the main sites, the seafront, and local shops and restaurants. The photos online don't quite do justice to the venue and the decor which seem in keeping with Ottoman style and the old part of town and make for a relaxing stay.

The rooms are lovely and comfortable (although more toiletries and more light in the rooms would only add to them).

The meeting facilities are really good with good food menus, teas and coffees and the technical support needed for a range of meetings. The meeting rooms all seem a good size and provide a conducive enviornment for discussions.

It is a slight shame that there is no fitness facility or pool but there is so much to do locally and so much to see it won't really be missed.

Well worth a look for business or pleasure, a stunning and welcoming venue from which to discover Istanbul.

Room Tip: There are two options for great rooms, the first is rooms at the back overlooking the Blue Mosque an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Traveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel Armada doesn't look anything special from the outside and I certainly had some doubts when the taxi turned the corner and I saw the logo of the hotel. Wasn't absolutely sure that would I like it. However the hotel surprised me completely.
The hotel is located just around the corner from Hagia Sofia and Sultan Ahmed. It's a 5 minute walk; OK, it's up hill from the hotel but still it isn't bad and the small streets are kinda nice and it's all downhill when you return. The closest tram stop is also near Sultan Ahmed, thought there is a train station just 200 m away.
The hotel is only three stories high and is within the old city wall so you might not see the sea from the room windows. But on the terrace and the restaurant located on the top floor proudly show case the Sultan Ahmed and also the Sea of Marmara. Absolutely beautiful, and having breakfast up there is the best thing ever.
The rooms are best described as feminine. The over all colour scheme is greenish. The rooms are not sleek and new, but has this old feeling with personality and beautiful little details. This doesn't mean that the room lacks the modern needs of a traveller. You have everything there what you would expect from a normal 4 star hotel. An added bonus is that the hotel wifi is free and can be accessed anywhere from the hotel.
The hotel food is great! Delicious Turkish breakfast with western dishes as well. I personally loved the Turkish omelette and the sweet Lokum.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only negative aspect was one of the Guest Service Mangers who quite persistently wanted to book a reservation to a Fish Restaurant near by. A good idea, but tone it down a bit. When working for a hotel you work for the guest not for the restaurant.
Over all I'm extremely happy with the hotel. Good location and great service. Don't know what was the cost but still. I would go there again. Somehow very fitting to the city that has so much history, culture and everything else to offer as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfkign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

One of the few times when a hotel's self promotion undersells itself. This hotel is ideally situated in Sultanahmet, south of the major hubbub, one street from the water -- select a "sea view" as we did to watch wondeerful sunrises, and huge tankers slowly make their way up and down the Bosphorus. The lobby is delightful, with a family of turtles living in a fountain, every member of the front desk staff (I met more than 5 over three days) was wonderfully helpful, courteous and infectiously happy. The superior room was very good, though more outlets (we only had 2 in room 219) would have helped. Free wireless was a joy. Perhaps the highlight of highlights was the Terrace Restaurant, where we enjoyed the BEST BREAKFASTS we have ever had in a hotel....ever. The diversity of the table of food from which to chose included so many possibilities that you could stay for a month and never have the same thing twice -- especially fresh yogurts. cheeses, olives, real honeycomb chunks, and various dried fruits, nuts, vegetables, as well as tasty omlettes and other goodies ---- all which overlooking the sea on one side and stellar views of Blue Mosque on the other. The same can be said for the dinner menu which probably deserves its own TripAdvisor 5 star review.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view (you really should), be sure to ask. This was the first hotel where I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#154 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Sisli
InterContinental Istanbul
InterContinental Istanbul
#105 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#135 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 2,167 reviews
Barcelo Eresin Topkapi
#159 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#293 of 1,111 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Property: Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing