We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the old city of Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #98 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul
2 reviews
“Wonderful hotel in the old city of Istanbul”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Armada is a very nice hotel with excellent breakfast and all people there are very friendly. From the roof-top you have an amazing view over the blue mosc, hagia sofia and the bosphorus. The location is absolutely recommendable if you want to stay in the old city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Istanbulanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    499
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
244
579
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was our first time to Istanbul and we will come back because of the Hotel and the good staff.
Me and my wife stayed at the end of November and the room was really nice facing the sea .Very clean Hotel excellent breakfast at the roof garden ,with View of Bosporus and Blue Mosque.
Near to Tram station and old city by foot .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently organised a three day event at the Armada Hotel including most meals and were really impressed by the service. All of our guests enjoyed their stay and loved the stunning views from the roof top terrace of the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia and the sea.

The staff are excellent, we worked with Irmak, Levent and Baris and all were very friendly and helpful as were all the restaurant and reception staff who went out of their way to help and welcome everyone. They helped us find a local restaurant for a meal out, offered options for outings, and were great at responding to all our various and sometimes awkward requests.

The hotel's location is very central and in a good part of town in walking distance to the main sites, the seafront, and local shops and restaurants. The photos online don't quite do justice to the venue and the decor which seem in keeping with Ottoman style and the old part of town and make for a relaxing stay.

The rooms are lovely and comfortable (although more toiletries and more light in the rooms would only add to them).

The meeting facilities are really good with good food menus, teas and coffees and the technical support needed for a range of meetings. The meeting rooms all seem a good size and provide a conducive enviornment for discussions.

It is a slight shame that there is no fitness facility or pool but there is so much to do locally and so much to see it won't really be missed.

Well worth a look for business or pleasure, a stunning and welcoming venue from which to discover Istanbul.

Room Tip: There are two options for great rooms, the first is rooms at the back overlooking the Blue Mosque an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Traveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel Armada doesn't look anything special from the outside and I certainly had some doubts when the taxi turned the corner and I saw the logo of the hotel. Wasn't absolutely sure that would I like it. However the hotel surprised me completely.
The hotel is located just around the corner from Hagia Sofia and Sultan Ahmed. It's a 5 minute walk; OK, it's up hill from the hotel but still it isn't bad and the small streets are kinda nice and it's all downhill when you return. The closest tram stop is also near Sultan Ahmed, thought there is a train station just 200 m away.
The hotel is only three stories high and is within the old city wall so you might not see the sea from the room windows. But on the terrace and the restaurant located on the top floor proudly show case the Sultan Ahmed and also the Sea of Marmara. Absolutely beautiful, and having breakfast up there is the best thing ever.
The rooms are best described as feminine. The over all colour scheme is greenish. The rooms are not sleek and new, but has this old feeling with personality and beautiful little details. This doesn't mean that the room lacks the modern needs of a traveller. You have everything there what you would expect from a normal 4 star hotel. An added bonus is that the hotel wifi is free and can be accessed anywhere from the hotel.
The hotel food is great! Delicious Turkish breakfast with western dishes as well. I personally loved the Turkish omelette and the sweet Lokum.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only negative aspect was one of the Guest Service Mangers who quite persistently wanted to book a reservation to a Fish Restaurant near by. A good idea, but tone it down a bit. When working for a hotel you work for the guest not for the restaurant.
Over all I'm extremely happy with the hotel. Good location and great service. Don't know what was the cost but still. I would go there again. Somehow very fitting to the city that has so much history, culture and everything else to offer as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfkign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

One of the few times when a hotel's self promotion undersells itself. This hotel is ideally situated in Sultanahmet, south of the major hubbub, one street from the water -- select a "sea view" as we did to watch wondeerful sunrises, and huge tankers slowly make their way up and down the Bosphorus. The lobby is delightful, with a family of turtles living in a fountain, every member of the front desk staff (I met more than 5 over three days) was wonderfully helpful, courteous and infectiously happy. The superior room was very good, though more outlets (we only had 2 in room 219) would have helped. Free wireless was a joy. Perhaps the highlight of highlights was the Terrace Restaurant, where we enjoyed the BEST BREAKFASTS we have ever had in a hotel....ever. The diversity of the table of food from which to chose included so many possibilities that you could stay for a month and never have the same thing twice -- especially fresh yogurts. cheeses, olives, real honeycomb chunks, and various dried fruits, nuts, vegetables, as well as tasty omlettes and other goodies ---- all which overlooking the sea on one side and stellar views of Blue Mosque on the other. The same can be said for the dinner menu which probably deserves its own TripAdvisor 5 star review.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view (you really should), be sure to ask. This was the first hotel where I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Okay, so the biggest reason why you should stay here other than the cleanliness, extremely comfortable beds, very close proximity to all of the sights and extremely hospitable staff is.....THE BREAKFAST. Seriously the best breakfast I have ever had. If you like dried fruit, fresh vegetables, nuts, dates, fresh yogurt, honey (and yes they have the entire honey combs), cheese, boreg, eggs, etc (and the etc is there because I could seriously go on and on), this is the place for you (and yes, I am a fresh food snob). I would literally go to sleep dreaming about what I would get the next morning (okay, maybe a bit TMI). On top of all the delicious choices for breakfast, you have a view of the water and the blue mosque. Picturesque. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LILYLDREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice rooms and very clean bathroom. Good View and nice food. Totally worth staying in this hotel. Get rooms on the second floor.It is quite centrally located, no as good as L1 hotel in Istanbul but no complaints. there is a nice fish restaurent like 2 minutes walk from the hotel. awesome stay i would say :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliraza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,155 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#269 of 1,155 in Istanbul
536 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#180 of 1,155 in Istanbul
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,000 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Property: Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing