We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“turkish delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Ranked #360 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
A TripAdvisor Member
“turkish delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2006

this was a truely turkish delight experience. i am so grateful to the taxi driver who pointed me to this hotel . i have enjoyed everything about it, especially the hamam bath. it was spotlessly clean, beautifly decorated and most importantly the staff were very useful friendly and professional without wanting to gain anything !!!
the front garden was heavenly. so relaxing, i just didn't want to leave. the location was perfect. highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    75
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
90
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

Always difficult to find a simple, cheap, nice hotel in Istanbul and I have been there many times. I found this one by accident just about 100 yards up from the Cistern as you follow the tram lines. Right opposite the Blue Mosque. It is very clean and used mainly by Turks from what I could see, which is a good sign as they are usually so fussy. There was a terrace from which one could see over the Bosphorus when having quite a good buffet breakfast. I thought that because it was on the main tramline it would be noisey but it has double glazing so I heard practically nothing. I never heard the Mosques either which usually wake me up so I was happy. You have no where to walk really as you are in the centre of everything and with the tram outside your door you can go everywhere quickly. The staff (of one!) were very helpful to us as my friend broke his foot and he advised us where to go. He even gave us an old crutch for free! The price was reasonable - 25 euros for a double room. You won't do much dancing in them of course but they are very quiet - never heard a word from the other guests. Well worth using if you don't want to spend much time IN a hotel but can't spend too much money either. A real bargain.

Helpful?
Thank joseph thornberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2006

You come to this hotel for the location and pleasant gardens where you can relax after sightseeing and shopping until you drop! We also found the bathrooms ridiculously small and in general the hotel rooms are poorly soundproofed. The restaurant offers very well presented and good value dinners. Much better than breakfast! The deluxe rooms are worth the extra especially if you have negotiated a reasonable rate.....like most places in Turkey this hotel offers a significant discount for cash payment.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzie330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2005

As with other reviewers, I got the sense the Sultanahmet Palace is resting on its laurels. Because of a great write-up in Frommer's and other guide books, I got the feeling the proprieters have decided they don't need to do any updating of their look.

First the pluses: As noted by all, the location is spectacular, and the common rooms are lovely. Service also quite good, although we definitely had better elsewhere in Turkey. A satisfactory stay, all in all.

The minuses: The whole place is in need of an update. Bedding and furniture are 1970s-era, and everything had a bit of a threadbare, faded feel to it. Very disappointing, given the price and the competition by all sorts of botique hotels in the area. Unlike others, I found the breakfast buffet disappointing as well, especially compared to other hotels we stayed at in Turkey. I do echo the issues with the bathrooms, which start out interesting and quirky and quickly become annoying, and the strange loud noises from other parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CapitalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2005

Small Rooms on the 2nd floor. Tiny turkish bathroom, more of a gimmick, difficult to turn around in the tiny bathroom. The air-con did not work well in my room. In the morning, awoken by banging of doors in the other rooms. The doors do not have the automatic closing mechanism so one has to bang the door to close it. Can hear everyone outside your room. That said, the location is fabulous and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2004

The situation of the Sultanahmet Palace is absolutely fantastic : located just across the street from a small Bazaar over which towers the Blue Mosque. The neighbourhood is very quaint and one can walk to Saint Sophia, to the Top Kapi palace and even to the Grand Bazaar. The décor is unlovely and the breakfast could stand serious improvement, but the staff are very friendly and the Turkish-style bathrooms are a delightful experience once you get the hang of them. I shall have very fond memories of this place.

Helpful?
5 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien Norway
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2004

Excellent. Next door neighbour to The Blue Mosque and easy walking to allthe great sights in Sultanahmet area. Great atmosphere. Some rooms look direct to The Blue Mosque, some direct on to the Bosporous. We preferred very much the last with a beautiful balcony. The rooms are all different and luxury. You live like the sultan did with (if you like and imagine) a touch of harem feeling. The bathrooms is very special made up as a hamman. Exotic in the start but for a longer stay than four nights we would prefer an ordinary shower.
Very nice breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PerUrdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet Hotel
#587 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#126 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#279 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#190 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#347 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Property: Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Torun Sok. No: 19, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#243 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanahmet Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel (Otel Sultanahmet Sarayi) is a boutique hotel located at the centre of the old city of Istanbul next to the Mosaic Museum and historic Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultanahmet Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Palace Istanbul
Hotel Sultanahmet Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing