We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Ranked #341 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can fully recommend the Sultanahmet Palace Hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the central districts. It is located in short walking distance to all the major attractions, has excellent staff and service, the rooms are good quality. The Hamam style bathrooms are very relaxing and lots of fun. The staff helped us out in all our queries and were a greta and very professional help during our stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the front have a very nice view of the Blue Mosque. Much recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 192 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had 4 days at the hotel - cant fault the location - right by the Blue Mosque and note that the map on Tripadvisor is wrong it is not where shown on that map. Comfortable room - with view of a car park but honestly when the Blue Mosque is only 50m away it did not matter. Comments are made about the bathrooms by other reviewers - they are small and have a shower plus a marble basin ( in addition to normal wash basin) this means you can shower in the usual way or fill the basin with water and having soaped yourself all over rinse off with the metal bowl provided - actually that was very efficient and much less mess than a shower - there is a marble seat to sit on while you throw the water over you - you do need to be a bit sprightly to get around the loo door without standing in the shower area but that was not a problem for us. Good range of options for breakfast buffet at the hotel - we did not eat a meal here but tried the many restaurants in the area instead -= would recommend Amedros off side street near the Sultanahamet tram stop. All in all Istanbul was a real eye opener - amazing city with lots to see.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this beautiful old hotel room 301 which looks directly over The Blue Mosque...wow factor or what! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although we only booked bed and breakfast we did eat dinner in the hotel and it was delicious.... as were the breakfasts. The Sultanahmet area is the perfect area to base yourself. It's within easy walking distance to many of the tourist attractions and a great location for restaurants too. Turkish food is delicious they take a great pride in their cooking. Local trams are a great way to travel they arecheap and very easy to use. We would highly recommend you book this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a large double bed if not you will get a small one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKW8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

stayed 4 nights at Sultanahmet Palace. It is a fantastic boutique hotel, but it is little bit expensive.
The hotel is close to everywhere in Sultanahmet, blue mosque, restaurants, cafes... The view from the room was wonderful. i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely hotel. The location is wonderful and has plenty of great restaurants nearby without having to go toward the main streets. Directly across from the Blue Mosque, the views at night are stunning. While close to the historical sites, the hotel was surprisingly quiet. Be prepared for the morning call to prayer from the mosques. This will be unavoidable in the city regardless of where you stay. The restaurant has beautiful views of the Bosphorus and you can sit outside on the patios. The staff was gracious and taught us a word or two a day in Turkish to help us navigate the basic phrases. Easy walking to the tram stop and buses which are easy to ride. The Turkish bathrooms are different and fun! Room was clean and well stocked during out stay. Would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CousteauMunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights here at the end of a 3-week tour of Turkey. The first room offered was small and stifling. We requested a change and after two more attempts to find a cooler room, we were offered room #302, which was exceptional: spacious, king bed, Turkish bath (fun!), balcony with views of the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful in terms of choice. The one dinner we had here was also very tasty and not too out of line price-wise. We had to leave for the airport at 5 am and they brought breakfast to our room before we left. This hotel is very expensive (not our usual choice) but worth it compared with other expensive hotels we had as part of our tour.

Room Tip: In the shoulder season between A/C and central heating, the rooms can be exceptionally hot. For us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carrie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

First the positives: very clean, right near Old Town and many major museums, mosques and bazaars; great included breakfast, perfect pillows and an amazing view of the Blue Mosque. Now the not-so-positives: the bathroom was impossible! Hard to get to the toilet, the shower sprayed water all over the floor and there was no room to move. The beds were like rocks and the price to retrieve guests from the airport was, like that of most city hotels, pretty steep. Take the metro and tram instead fir about $3.50. It's a great way to see the city and to rub shoulders (literally) with the Turkish people and other tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#413 of 1,171 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#123 of 1,171 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#322 of 1,171 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#534 of 1,171 in Istanbul
61 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Djem
Hotel Djem
#348 of 1,171 in Istanbul
269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#71 of 1,171 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Torun Sok. No: 19, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#202 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#235 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $56 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanahmet Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel (Otel Sultanahmet Sarayi) is a boutique hotel located at the centre of the old city of Istanbul next to the Mosaic Museum and historic Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sultanahmet Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Palace Istanbul
Hotel Sultanahmet Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing