We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff, Great Location”
Review of Blue House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue House Hotel
Ranked #186 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Alamosa, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We only spent one night at the Blue House, but the staff was very helpful. We arrived early and they made us comfortable in the lobby with cay and cookies during the short wait for our room. This hotel couldn't be more convenient for the Old Town's major sites. The room was small, but clean and well appointed. Cheers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    133
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
151
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in November 2009 and thought it was a great place. Its easy to find, the staff are very friendly and helpful and its in a great location.

The room was very clean when we arrived and the maids did a good job every day keeping it that way. As some other reviewers have said the standard twin/double rooms are a little small but this did not bother us at all.

We had a few small gripes such as non working lights, a TV that didnt have any watchable channels and the cold water going off for a couple of hours in the middle of the day. However as none of these things actually affected us directly (there were enough lights that did work and we didnt really want to watch the TV etc.) they was of no concern.

We pre-booked and saved a bit on their standard intenet price (we paid just under 62 euro's a night) if we had paid the full price (85 euro's) we might have been disappointed.

Breakfast was included and again was very good. A selection of teas, coffee and fruit juices. Fresh fruit and yoghat, fresh bread, cheese and hams. Eggs and other hot items. Cerials were also available. Plenty certainly for getting you thorugh a mornings sightseeing.

The roof ternace was closed (as it said it would be on their website) which was a shame as the views were amazing (we sneaked out for a look). Still the price of drinks, actually the most expensive we found in the whole city, meant you would want to slip them slowly if you did get out there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is a quaint, small boutique hotel in the historic Sultanamit area of Istanbul right opposite the blue mosque. Location is perfect for those interested in the historic attractions of the city. Although a fairly basic establishment, service is friendly and efficient with clean rooms. There is one "suite" of sorts and I can recommend it for facilities and a wonderful view. I have stayed here twice and have enjoyed a different experience.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I stayed at the Mavi Ev, or Blue House Hotel for 3 nights and loved it! It's small enough that the people at the front desk know you after a day. The room was on the small-ish side, but completely adequate and the VIEW more than made up for any sacrifces in spaciousness. The Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara right out our window - fantastic! Beds were comfy, minibar was stocked with free water and well-chilled Coke Light, beer and other drinks. The bathroom was gorgeously tiled (small, but fine). Breakfast, included in our rate, was a delight - fresh breads, fruit, traditional Turkish items like fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, olives and white cheese and really good scrambled eggs. All in all, I would strongly recommend this for anyone, especially if you want to stay in Sultanahmet to see the sights - the location cannot be beat. You do get the call to prayer every morning at 5:15, but it's kind of cool, so I didn't mind it - reminds you that you are in a very forgein country.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney; Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

The Hotel's location in Sultanahmet is very convenient to the Blue Mosque and the Haghia Sophia. Unfortunately President Obama wanted to visit these places as well, and for that particular morning the whole area was fenced off and restricted. The Police presence on that day was impressive!
The breakfast available at the hotel was very good, and the rooftop dining area has excellent views, especially at sunset. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Also the free internet in the lobby was greatly appreciated.
The rooms are small, but typical of older Ottoman style Hotels in the area.
The fold-up bed provided for our tall teenage son (in our triple room) was poor, but I think the Hotel is set up mainly for doubles.
If you love hearing amplified prayer calls as a morning wake-up alarm, this is the Hotel for you! We enjoyed this as part of the cultural experience, but it may not suit everyone.
Overall, the hotel's location is very convenient to some tourist must-see places, but if you want bigger rooms, or a cheaper Hotel, there are many others to choose from.
We found the little cafe on your left, (past the bazaar entrance steps as you walk uphill to the park), is excellent value for meals.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The Blue House worked really well for our family. We have a six year old child and the hotel provided a folding bed for her. The free breakfast in the morning was convenient and offered a good selection. The room was small, but we had a fantastic view of the Blue Mosque. Bathroom was small but clean. The location can't be beat--we were able to walk to everything and never had to use a cab. Lots of restaurants, shopping and attractions within a few blocks of the hotel. While you are at the Blue House, visit the coffee shop directly across the street called Java Studio for a great cup of coffee and for good information about the local scene (the owner was very friendly and helpful).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi (for now)
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2009

This is a fantastic location for tourists in Istanbul. A stone's throw to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and Topkapi. The roof top terrace had perfect views of these attactractions and the Sea of Marmara and glimpes of the Bosphrus. Not the cheapest hotel around (esp. in high season) but well worth the cost. The tram line is about 2 minutes walk away and lots of fantastic restaurants on the same block (on the downhill side) and plenty of shopping all around. Friendly staff and a good restaurant. The rooms are on the small side, but no more so than the normal hotel in an old town centre. The Java Studio across the side street is a great coffee shop.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#127 of 1,149 in Istanbul
495 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#292 of 1,149 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#180 of 1,149 in Istanbul
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#229 of 1,149 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#129 of 1,149 in Istanbul
835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#201 of 1,149 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House Hotel

Property: Blue House Hotel
Address: Dalbasti Sokak No.14 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the heart of old city, just opposite to Blue Mosque, very close to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar and many other historical sites. There are 25 standard rooms and one suite room. All rooms have air-condition, minibar, cable TV, direct telephone line, wireless internet access, hair-dryer and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms have view of Blue Mosque. Safety deposit boxes and high speed internet accessed computer are in lobby ready for our guests as complimentary.You can enjoy your breakfast at open air garden restaurant, under the shadow of Blue Mosque. Terrace Restaurant is ready to welcome you for lunch and dinner with its breathtaking views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Sea Marmara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Mavi Ev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing