We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! The perfect choice for Istanbul.”
Review of Blue House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue House Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was the perfect choice for my first visit to Istanbul (and i will be back)! Excellent location with the Blue Mosque and Agia Sophia just on the door step. Pick up and drop off at the airport was great and staff couldnt have been more friendly.

The room had a lovely view towards the Blue Mosque and the call to prayers in the morning was atmospheric rather than a problem.

We had dinner as well as breakfast at the hotel and both were plentiful and tasty.

24 hours was too short a stay so we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CleminFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Clemin France,

Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments!

The staff and I are so glad you decided to give Blue House another try for your next trip to Istanbul and even more pleased that you had a good time with us.

It is important for us to work with a professional, kind and helpfull staff including the airport transfer staff, so that our guests all comments are very important and valuable for us.

It is good to hear also that you liked the prayer call from the Blue Mosque. As it is just a few steps from our hotel, the view and the atmosphere is very historical.

We will love to have an opportunity of welcoming & seeing you once again for your next time.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Blue House Hotel for our first visit to Istanbul and couldn't have been happier. The staff were friendly and welcoming, our documentation for tours etc ready and waiting for us, a great "tourist map" with all the things to see clearly marked out which was very helpful as the location was ideal for walking! Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff, info on a variety of eating places for our first night, confirming our bookings for day trips, opening the dining room for breakfast for us an hour early so we could eat before our tour left and providing fresh fruit to take with us on our trip to Gallipoli. We felt as if we were 'coming home' each day as we were greeted warmly and asked about our days adventures. The rooms are not big, but very adequate. The tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits were plentiful, good quality and much appreciated on our return each day. It's the people you meet on holidays that can make the difference, and the staff at the Blue House Hotel are a big part of us wanting to return to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rebndob2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear valued guests,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It is great to hear that you had a lovely time with us.

Our aim is to make your stay and Istanbul trip that one of the most memorable one and it is very good to hear that you could not been happier.

Thank you too that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

We hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you again for your next time to Istanbul.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Located in the heart of Sultanahmet, The Blue House is an excellent choice for a visit to Istanbul. My husband and I enjoyed our stay last June immensely and are returning soon. The entire staff are extremely helpful, friendly and professional and make you feel at home.The location is the best in the old city, practically just steps from the Blue Mosque. Our room was lovely with most of the amenities of any grand hotel! Served in the dining room on the first floor which is styled in the fashion of a 19th century Ottoman home, breakfast was delicious. A truly home away from home in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Elaine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

And thank you very much as well for pointed our good location and professional & helpfull & friendly staff.

So very nice to hear you feel like your home.

We will love to have an opportunity of welcoming and looking forward to seeing you once again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I spent five (5) days at the Blue House. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The location was absolutely excellent . . . one block away from the Blue Mosque. We highly recommend staying at the Blue House if you are ever traveling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank MaxandAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your time to write the fantastic review and wonderful comments!

The staff and I are so glad you had a good time at our hotel and found us a place to recommend your friends.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the convenient location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

We look forward to welcoming and serving you again in the near future!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Blue House Hotel and we were just as pleased our second time around. The hotel arranged our airport pick up and drop off and used very safe drivers. The front desk, bell hop, and maid were extremely professional, efficient, and eager to help. Once again we had a room with an incredible view of the Blue Mosque. Yes, you do hear the call to prayer and I love that because it adds to the experience. The location is perfect as you are within walking distance to all the major sites in Sultanahmet. Next time we're in Istanbul we will once again stay at the Blue House Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments! It was our pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel. It was very good to see you again too.

The staff and I are so glad you had a good time at our hotel and found us a place to stay again and recommend your friends.

We greatly appreciate your recognition of our staff and service.

We look forward to welcoming and serving you again in the near future!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were fortunate to have found the Blue House Hotel after our original internet reservations in Istanbul failed to delivery(outright lie, but another story)
Blue House has an excellent location if you want to be in the old town. Get a better price if using cash. We were with another couple and walked everywhere. Our room faced the Mosque, so the wakeup call(call to prayer) was punctual ;-) View was impressive on the rooftop restaurant. Staff helpful, rooms clean and quaint. Would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverrider81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We are fortunate too, to have you as our hotel guests.

We are so happy to change your trip to a memorable one.

We greatly appreciate your recognition of our service.

We hope to see you again in our hotel for your next time.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

this hotel is the perfect solution for those who need to visit Istanbul. close to all major tourist attractions and the main tram line. is equipped with a terrace that overlooks the Blue Mosque in the summer I think it's possible to eat. the room was not very big but very cozy and very clean. lovely views of the mosque, but beware of those who suffer from insomnia because there is the dawn call to prayer that could wake up abruptly. breakfast ok. staff very friendly and helpful. if I go back to istanbul would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoddemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for the valued review and wonderful comments.

We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the great view of our terrace with perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

We will love to have an opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#257 of 1,163 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#194 of 1,163 in Istanbul
613 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#85 of 1,163 in Istanbul
740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#5 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,477 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#128 of 1,163 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House Hotel

Address: Dalbasti Sokak No.14 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#118 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $64 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the heart of old city, just opposite to Blue Mosque, very close to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar and many other historical sites. There are 25 standard rooms and one suite room. All rooms have air-condition, minibar, cable TV, direct telephone line, wireless internet access, hair-dryer and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms have view of Blue Mosque. Safety deposit boxes and high speed internet accessed computer are in lobby ready for our guests as complimentary.You can enjoy your breakfast at open air garden restaurant, under the shadow of Blue Mosque. Terrace Restaurant is ready to welcome you for lunch and dinner with its breathtaking views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Sea Marmara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Mavi Ev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing