We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location.”
Review of Blue House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue House Hotel
Ranked #177 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
245 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Ideal Location.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for visiting the sights of Sultanahmet. Its proximity to the Blue Mosque is however also its Achilles’ heel as the 5.15 am call to prayer can be hard to ignore. Then again the hotel fronts onto a restaurant which has live Turkish music every night until around 11.00 pm. So I’d bring earplugs.

The roof-top restaurant has views to die for but I would recommend just going for a coffee as the food otherwise is unexceptional and the service not the best. That said, the service on the roof terrace is stellar in comparison with that provided at breakfast where the waiters are surly and appear more interested in relaying tables and removing cutlery and china before you have finished in order to get the service over as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    133
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
151
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I sent numerous emails to the hotel before and after arranging our stay for six nights and found the hotel extremely helpful and friendly at all times. I was arranging the trip for my octogenarian parents and as a result had several questions that occurred at different points during this time, and the hotel staff were extremely accommodating and helpful thorughout.
The site of this hotel makes it superb for visiting the Blue Mosque, Sophia and the Palace. The hotel will arrange collection from and to the airport (which is sensible, particularly if this would be your first visit) and will also arrange guides and day trips for you before and after you arrive. The advantage with these is that they can often avoid the long queues that grow from the main sites across the squares.
The hotel was clean, with linen changed and with the rooms cleaned every day. We had our first meal upstairs in the terrace restaurant and found it welcoming though a little chilly; we appreciated the heaters they provided very much.
Apart from the site, the main draw for people to stay at the hotel are the staff who are all extremely helpful, thoughtful, friendly and make your stay very special. It really makes a massive difference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanPakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO
Level Contributor
266 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Small but nice rooms. Breakfast is okay, no better or worse than anywhere else. The best things about his hotel is the location and view. Ask for a corner room on the 3rd or 4th floor with a view. Most rooms actually don't have a view, but the corner rooms on the upper floors are to-die-for, especially when you compare it to similar antique hotels around the world with famous views, the Blue House is a bargain. Stay here while it's still relatively cheap, but only if they guarantee you the room with a view.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor corner room facing the Blue Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvzjxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Quaint hotel with great location, less than a 3 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Third and fourth floor rooms on one side of the building have great views of the Blue Mosque as does the roof top terrace. Friendly staff was accommodating in giving us the room with the best view. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. Only downside was it can be a bit noisy from the restaurants across the street, but it was usually quiet by 11 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor facing the Blue Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horse_Buggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

With this hotel it is location, location,location. You can see the Blue Mosque from your window, and the terrace restaurant is worth a visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We also left some of our shopping in the store room for our return a week later and everything was in order. The room are clean and neat but not spacious and the bathroom is a tight fit, but having it so close to most of the main attractions makes it definitely a hotel we will return to if visiting Istanbul again. The music at night from the nearby markets can be a bit loud but for me it was part of the Istanbul experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAfricandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This quaint little hotel offers the best location in the Sultanahmet (old city) area of Istanbul. We were very close to all of the main sightseeing locations.
The hotel is well kept, clean and the people there were very friendly and helpful.
From the top floor, the views are breath taking, one side are the mosque the other was the beautiful blue water.
Our only complaint was the TV's need to be upgraded to flat screens and our bathroom had a very small shower. Our friends were in room #25 and theirs was wider than ours, we were in #23.
Our room overlooked the front entrance, but I know that a few of the rooms overlook the mosque.
I look forward to returning to Istanbul and will stay here again, as long as the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper level floor with a view overlooking the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nice, charming hotel with exceptional friendly staff and a good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay there. Breathtaking views from their hotel which is located on the 5th floor. The hotel is located within 100 meters of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

There is also a market right across the hotel. The only negative was that there is a whirling dervishes show that goes until late at night so it does make it difficult to get good sleep before 11pm.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#134 of 1,140 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#262 of 1,140 in Istanbul
387 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#200 of 1,140 in Istanbul
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,140 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#194 of 1,140 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House Hotel

Property: Blue House Hotel
Address: Dalbasti Sokak No.14 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the heart of old city, just opposite to Blue Mosque, very close to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar and many other historical sites. There are 25 standard rooms and one suite room. All rooms have air-condition, minibar, cable TV, direct telephone line, wireless internet access, hair-dryer and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms have view of Blue Mosque. Safety deposit boxes and high speed internet accessed computer are in lobby ready for our guests as complimentary.You can enjoy your breakfast at open air garden restaurant, under the shadow of Blue Mosque. Terrace Restaurant is ready to welcome you for lunch and dinner with its breathtaking views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Sea Marmara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Mavi Ev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing