We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Istanbul”
Review of Blue House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue House Hotel
Ranked #219 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Since this was my first trip to Istanbul, I wasn't sure what to expect. I had emailed the hotel to
arrange for a taxi to pick me up at the airport. The driver had a sign with my name, but he wasn't there. The other taxi people called him, and I was on my way to the hotel. The hotel is perfect location in the Sulhammet district(older area of Istanbul) right across from the Blue Mosque, within walking distance to Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace They have a wonderful breakfast buffet with breads, eggs ,fruit, cheese ,yogurt.The reception staff were helpful in exchanging money from euros/or dollars to Turkish lira,as well as arranging a cruise along the Bosphorus. As I had only planned a couple of days: I was able to see Hagia Sophia,Topkapi palace,Basillica Cistern,Istanbul Archaeology Museum, cruise the Bosphorus and get a extraordinary turkish haman. The room had a beautiful view of the Blue Mosque,although it had older furnishings it was clean and large.The hotel has a Terrace restaurant if you want lunch,or dinner with a beautiful view of the Bosphorus and Blue Mosque. It is also close to a small bazaar, and close to the tram lines, and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veneziaamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 364 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

My first hotel during my stay in Istanbul, placed in the old town area of Sultanahmet.
The room and bathroom are old but spacious and well maintenance. It is beautiful decorated with turkish ceramic that invites you to stay and relax while you drink a turkish coffe.
Use the little garden to enjoy your breakfast and the top roof terrance for dinner or for a drink. Views are really good front both places.
Front desk staff is not very friendly but solve the situations.
A hotel with charm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Blue Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Everything was perfect - from the front desk staff to the awesome view in the roof top restaurant.
Rooms were so clean- we were three in the room so it was a little crowded but it worked. Breakfast was a good start to the day and if there wasn't an item on the buffet they would make it for us. Would definitely love to come back to Istanbul and if I do I want to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our first hotel during our stay in Istanbul. Front desk staff was business like, helpful, but not overly friendly. We arrived before 12 and were allowed to check into one of the three rooms we had reserved. Breakfast was served on the first floor, either inside or just outside. Our group of 6 always ate outside. There was a good variety of things to choose from, so no one left hungry. The rooms and bathrooms were somewhat on the small side, but not uncomfortably so. They were in good condition, and the bathrooms were kept very clean. One day by accident the do not disturb sign was left on the door by mistake, and the room was left undone, but extra towels were left in our room for the one that was not cleaned-a nice touch. There were two elevators which could hold just 3 persons, or one with luggage. Most of the time we took the stairs. Since we were very close to the Blue Mosque, we heard the first call to prayers, which was earlier than when we wanted to be awake. There is a roof terrace where we enjoyed in late afternoon the view and a beer. We returned one night after the food service was closed and enjoyed the great view. The day we checked out, we left our 6+ bags at the hotel for a couple of hours. There is no secure closet or room where they were stored, but they were exactly where we left them, with no problems. The fact that the hotel had this open area immediately next to the lobby adjacent to the street (busy, but only one lane wide), its great location, made it sort of unique among all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THFinPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

stayed here twice in three weeks. Staff are great. Room 35 is fantastic. - the sea to your left, the blue mosque to your right. We took a peek in the wuite next door and that looks great too. Reception staff are great and helpful and courteous. Sorry I didn't get any names, but they were all very good. Rooms are small but cosy. Bathrooms tight but everything works. Location perfect - couple of hundred metres to blue mosque and aysasofia a few paces on to Topkapi. They had a notice that it was our wedding anniversary and sent wine and fruit to the room. A nice touch. There rooftop restaurant has a perfect view if you go when it is open in summer. And here is my only complaint. The food is pretty ordinary . Breakfasts are ordinary too but that doesn't worry me much. But the food on the rooftop should be great. If it was we would have eaten there every night! This is an area they should really improve and make the place perfect. Mesale restaurant next door is terrific. For the price of a tea (although their bakklava is not to be missed) be entertained by the most wonderful turkish musical trio and a sufi whirling dervish. I never ate any other food at mesale so cant comment but the waiters great to watch as they run from table to table.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the mosque, not the street. If you can afford it, the suite looks really comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamiela2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel restaurant has a nice terrace, where you can have breakfast whilst watching the early tour groups pass by. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are quite small, but very clean and comfortable. We had a view of the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archersarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Found the hotel very centrally located and right next to the Blue Mosque. But the room we were given was very small for a couple, and could barely squeeze into the shower area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bish39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#289 of 1,173 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#124 of 1,173 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#411 of 1,173 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#190 of 1,173 in Istanbul
615 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#341 of 1,173 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House Hotel

Address: Dalbasti Sokak No.14 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#144 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $86 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the heart of old city, just opposite to Blue Mosque, very close to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar and many other historical sites. There are 25 standard rooms and one suite room. All rooms have air-condition, minibar, cable TV, direct telephone line, wireless internet access, hair-dryer and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms have view of Blue Mosque. Safety deposit boxes and high speed internet accessed computer are in lobby ready for our guests as complimentary.You can enjoy your breakfast at open air garden restaurant, under the shadow of Blue Mosque. Terrace Restaurant is ready to welcome you for lunch and dinner with its breathtaking views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Sea Marmara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Mavi Ev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing