We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ranked #27 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel with great location”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Lovely hotel in a perfect location with very tasteful decor. Hotel staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Deluxe room was nicely decorated with very comfortable bed (really enjoyed the cinnamon soap in the bathroom). Breakfast is good quality with fresh local produce. Only downside: outside noise (call to pray coming from the blue mosque at 5 am is rather charming - however the screams and yelps from the nearby school later on in the morning are not much fun).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hic_sunt_leones_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    158
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
335
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the Ibrahim Pasha for 6 nights and were really happy with it. We were warmly greeted and given a map and an overview of the area, restaurants, etc. We ate at several of the recommended restaurants and found them all to be great. It is in such a great location, we didn't take a taxi or use public transport the entire trip.

The common areas were fantastic, great to be able to sit by the fire and read after a long day of sight-seeing. We didn't use the terrace much since it was cold but the view is amazing. In summertime, I'd be up there all the time. Breakfast was also excellent, lots of choice. We had a deluxe room, which had plenty of space and was beautifully decorated. The sitting area in the room was very comfortable and there was a separate area for luggage and clothes so the room stayed very tidy.

The only downsides were the bathroom and noise. The bathroom design is nice to look at but not that practical. As a result, there is a build-up of mould that is unpleasant to look at. It's not too much as I didn't notice it until a few days in. Also, the side of the hotel we were on overlooks a school so it was very noisy from 7:30 AM to about 8:00 when the kids arrive and again later during recess.

Despite these, we would definitely stay here again, but would just ask for a room on the other side of the hotel (and ignore the mould!). Great staff, great location, and great vibe.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have ample space. Ask for a room on the street side of the hotel (e.g., away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RJDemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I loved this cozy boutique hotel. Common areas had comfy seating and fireplaces, although we didn't use them too often. The highlight for us was the terrace, with an absolutely fantastic view of the Blue Mosque (you can also get a partial view of the Hagia Sofia). Our first room (the standard room) was really way too small (although it was nicely updated, with comfy bed, modern bathroom fixtures etc). So we ended up upgrading to a larger room, and were very happy we did.

The staff and service were really great. The front desk was very helpful in acquainting us with the neighborhood and addressing any concerns. It was especially nice to order tea up on the terrace. Breakfast was nothing special- some breads, cheeses, etc. I would recommend asking for the freshly squeezed orange juice (although they charge an extra 5 Lira, its worth it- its a very large glass).

The location is just a few steps from the Blue Mosque, and within easy walking distance to Hagia Sofia, Topkapi, and other sites in Sultanahmet. This was ideal for us, since we wanted to see all those sites but were limited in time. Note that the Sultanahmet area is not a "happening" area (it's quiet at night, although not in a creepy/shady way). If you are looking for more nightlife, Taksim might be a better option. We went to Taksim on two nights. It's very easy to get there via public transport (the tram and metro/funicular), but you might have to take a cab home since the subway closes around 12:30am.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gtho82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have traveled to Istanbul twice in the past two years, both times staying at the Ibrahim Pasha. While there are many positives about this hotel, the top two are its location, and the staff. The hotel is literally steps away from the Hippodrome. The staff is incredibly helpful. They go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. We also enjoyed the plentiful breakfast, the free wifi, drinks by the fire in the lounge in the afternoons, the rain showers and the ipod dock in the room. While the place is a bit pricey, but given the cost of other places in Istanbul the Ibrahim Pasha is worth the money.

Room Tip: The back side rooms overlook a school playground, so if you like to sleep past 7:30, think about get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mswvtbeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleroma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spent a week here at Christmas 2011. Overall assessment is that Ibrahim Pasha Hotel is good: we had a positive experience.

The super-wide-angle images of the rooms on the website lie, as they do on every hotel website, so the deluxe room is in fact more cramped that one is led to think. However, the room was warm, as it needed to be: the weather was vile - cold, windy and wet. In the room was a wall mounted docking station for iPod or iPhone which also had FM radio and CD player. Some good Istanbul photobooks and some ethnic Turkish music CDs. A big plus: Jordi Savall's famous 'Istanbul' music CD. Ara Güler's 'Istanbul' photo book.

The hotel is tastefully and pleasantly decorated. A good supply of books in the library. A couple of roaring log fires on the ground floor. Complimentary tea and coffee served to guests at all times. A laptop computer available for guest use in the library area. WiFi throughout the hotel but speed was slow and could not download video or send Facebook messages well, I found.

There was only one fail: the room safe would not lock. The staff attempted to fix it but failed. After further prompting it was fixed a couple of days into the stay. An inconvenience but only a minor one.

Recommend Balik Sabahattin fish restaurant a 10 minute walk away. Excellent mezzes. So good we dined there twice.

Close to very efficient, reliable and frequent tram - which crosses Galata Bridge to downtown area - stops nearby to the hotel making most things in the city within easy reach without having to resort to taxis and face traffic jams.

Just a few yards up the street is a convenience store. The owner will make toasted cheese sandwiches. He sells beer, cigarettes, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruits, biscuits, nuts, crisps, bottled water, etc.

I would not be unhappy to revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 406 on the top floor was excellent in winter. However the terrace - with great views - is right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Recently stayed here for 2 nights in balcony room 106 and 1 night in twin room 103. Balcony room was nice with big jacuzzi tub and all amenities, but twin room was a disaster. Tiny and dirty and mouldy bathroom and over priced for the room. Staff was super helpful friendly and knowledgeable. Went out of their way to answer all queries and help as much as possible. great intro to istanbul with maps and all....Breakfast was more than adequate for this boutique style hotel although would ahve preferred some warm options as it was very cold and rainy then.. But free tea and coffee all day was a great bonus and well appreciated. even on their terrace which was beautiful for teh Blue mosque and Aya Sofia

Room Tip: balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We absolutely LOVED our stay here. The location was perfect. The staff & service was very attentive. The rooftop exquisite with its view of the Blue Mosque. We stayed in deluxe room 205 for our 4 night-5 day stay -- great space and a view of the Blue Mosque.
We loved how central the hotel was for exploring the city. We were able to get up and go, then come back and relax before heading out for the evening. The staff recommendations for places to eat were great -- however, it was fun to explore on our own & using our intuition once we understood the local cuisine. Our mode is less about the sit-down-formal dinner, more about the shopkeeper's food, kebap & fish sandwiches (not the ones in the tour book)--we looked for the locals and got in the queue.
As you probably know, this city has numerous mosques. So, you will hear the call to prayer multiple times a day and often early in the morning. I'm not sure if this is avoidable...although, after the first night, it was actually enjoyable. The room could also use a little TLC but no show stoppers.

I would come back to this hotel the next time I am in Istanbul.

Room Tip: If you need space, upgrade to the deluxe room. It's not necessary, however; the communal spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeisprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#23 of 1,141 in Istanbul
813 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,141 in Istanbul
896 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibrahim Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibrahim Pasha Hotel

Property: Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Address: Terzihane Sok. No:7 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibrahim Pasha Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a 19th-century four-storey townhouse, the Hotel Ibrahim Pasha offers sophisticated and modern accommodation and is an ideal place to stay for the first time visitors wanting to explore Istanbul's historic monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ibrahim Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibrahim Pasha
Ibrahim Pasha Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing