We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$42
View deal
Expedia.com
$43
View deal
Agoda.com
$48
$34
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/29/21
Hotels.com$43
Orbitz.com$43
Hurb$48
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveler rating
384
503
199
84
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
384
503
199
84
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel boiled eggs no lift main attractions superb location blue mosque and hagia sophia sultanahmet bosphorus sights bazaar tram palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2019 via mobile

Walking distance to most attractions, could see the Blue Mosque from hotel bedroom window.

Small, friendly and efficient hotel. Excellent staff. No lift.

Lots of restaurants nearby without having to go into city centre (which is a 10 minute walk), quite a lively area without being noisy.

Would definitely stay here again, great value.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Madrasjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilek D, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2019

I'm grateful for you kind words, and I'm so glad you were happy with your room as well as our location and staff. I'll be sure to pass it on! We're here for you anytime you're in the Sultanahmet area.
Best wishes Ali Erkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019

We stayed for 5 nights and it was very comfortable, staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. The rooms are nice and cosy. Very close proximity to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia as well as other sights. On our last morning we had to leave very early at 5:30 in the morning, the hotel had kindly prepared sandwiches for our return flight back home which i was really impressed with. Thank you for a great stay!

Room tip: Just ask for a better room if you are not happy with the one they allocate you
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rahim9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilek D, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2019

Many thanks for being our guest and for submitting a Five Star review! We are so glad you appreciated the great work of our team. We are committed to spotlessly clean facilities, and the excellent upkeep of our beautiful hotel, which you noticed, is equally important to us. Our whole staff also genuinely enjoys providing exceptional service, so we appreciate your kind recognition as a "friendly and accommodating" team. I also value your additional feedback, and will be happy to look into the points you have raised. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days during out trip to istanbul. it is a very cute place in sultanahmet. about 5 mins walking distance to Hagia Sophia, blue mosque and Topkapı palace . The sultanahmet metro station is about 7-8 mins. the night life around the hotel and very good and happening with lots of restaurants around.. the rooms are very small but neat and clean. staff is very humble and courteous. they helped us with early check in as we had a child with us .. breakfast was limited and average. with no vegetarian options. they just offered boiled eggs and all other forms of eggs were charged..
overall a pleasant stay !

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank shwets16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna H, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2019

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed our location, staff, and hotel. Sounds like you had a fun trip. Next time you're in Sultanahmet, come back and see us.

Best wishes
Dilek Demirel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Great location - easy walking distance to local shops, market, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and much more. Locality has lots of great rooftop bars to explore - make sure that they have an alcohol licence, if that's your thing, before you make the ascent, some don't.
Hotel will have a new rooftop bar by the team I write this - it's going to have great views of the waterways.
Nice little courtyard to relax in. Comfortable, clean rooms.
Restaurants abundant in the area but they're all pretty much the same!
Transport system around the city - cheap and easy to use.
Tour of the Bosporus etc - don't bother with the tourist boats if you don't need " facilities" like bar/food service. Jump aboard one of the hop on hop off ferries. They take the same route, have an interesting commentary and there are light snacks available. The added bonus is that you can indeed hop off, have a stroll around another district and then, you got it, hop straight back on again. Costs of Tourist boat = £20 - £40 - Cost of hop on hop off ferry = £2.50

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank Cysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilek D, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Thank you very much for your comments and mentioning several of the positive aspects you encounter while staying with us, indeed we take great pride in making sure all our guests make the most of their trip to Sultanahmet.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

We recently stayed at Hotel Avicenna for 4 nights as part of a BA city break package - excellent value for money and an easy tram ride from the airport.

It is a quaint old building in the ancient Fatih district of Istanbul, walking distance from the famous Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace and so much more.

We had a superior double room at the back of the hotel (so very quiet) with a balcony overlooking the sea. The room was well equipped with air con, a comfortable double bed, decent shower room, mini bar/fridge, etc. The continental breakfast included was perfectly adequate.

Hotel staff were very polite and helpful, and will arrange city tours if requested. There are lots of excellent restaurants on the doorstep for evening meals.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilek D, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

I'm thrilled that you liked our location as well as your room and our staff!
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Avicenna Hotel.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcome you once again in our Hotel.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews