We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #210 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The service at this hotel was really good. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. I had a standard room which was lovely with traditional ottoman style furnishings. It was also cleaned everyday so I always had clean sheets and towels. It had a nice restaurant with a terrace which had lovely views of the bosphorous. The breakfast room was beautiful and the food was excellent. The best thing about this hotel was the location, it is just two minutes walk away from the Hagia Sofia and the blue mosque and about 5 minutes walk from Topkapi Palace. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about coming to Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophielawrence0036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    458
    174
    56
    54
See reviews for
182
494
64
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2010

- Close to the blue mosque and Santa Sofia
- The staff is friendly
- They don't change the breakfast menu, so after a while you get bored of the food.
- Rooms are too small and the air-conditioning is too noisy.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloeodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I have to say, having read some of the reviews, I had my reservations when I arrived at the door. However, some of them were quickly erased after the taxi dropped us on the cobble-stone street right outside the hotel, full of little laid-back restaurants. The reception was amazingly friendly, and over-eager to welcome us. The hotel is very charming, and looks beautifull, the rooms are very comfortable although not luxury. The breakfast was good, served in a charming garden area inside the hotel. The location is superb and faultless... its a 5 min walk from all the sites you want to see.
Ok, there is a train that runs behind thel hotel. Our room was on the track-side, but, seriously, if you cant sleep with the little noise that comes from the trains, my guess is that you dont live in a very lively city.
We loved it, from A to Z. Its not luxury, its just charming, friendly and comfortable. AND, it has air conditioning (we came from Prague where most hotels didnt!).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehdi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The location is perfect - very close to the Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque, lots of restaurants and shopping around. The room was small, but clean and air-conditioned and the bathroom was very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the courtyard was a lovely place to eat.
The floor in our room was quite warped, which was a bit awkward for walking around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The location is brilliant, walking distance to many sites and accessable to transport.
We arrived on the day of the Grand Prix and were told that there was a problem with the keys and we would have to go to another hotel for the night. We suspected as we paid a very reduced rate for our room that they may have overbooked. Having said that they had arranged another room in what turned out to be a great hotel nearby and organised and paid for a cab there and back in the morning. On arrival the next morning we checked into a modest by aqeuate 'deluxe' room (we were happy for the price we had paid). The balcony had a glimpse of the water over rooftops and the railway and the airconidtioning did not work. After some time convincing the staff that it was not going to work they moved us to another room which was the deluxe of the deluxe rooms and very nice, bigger and with a nicer balcony which had views of the blue mosque. So the moral to the story is it ended well after much frustration especially the receptionist appearing to brush of our concerns.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

The room we got was really small and faced the railway, which passed about 10m in front of our room window every 30 minutes or so.

A room change was not possible as the hotel was booked out.

The first thing after the check-in was a sales presentation of various travel products the hotel or the receptionists must get a share on.

The water ist not drinkable, a bottle of water from the minibar very expensive (1,5tl).

Breakfast was ok, with a good assortment of foods.

If you're going to stay here go for the more expensive superior rooms. But do it only if you must. I sincerely can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwidmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The front desk staff were all excellent and the location of this hotel in Sultanahmet was good. But the AC was out for 3 of 5 days, the breakfast was only "okay" compared to other hotels in this category, the room was pretty tiny (for the price we'd expected better!) and our ocean view was basically a tiny sliver of blue! Also - the cleaner used for the floors (?) was super stinky and made walking down the halls unpleasant at times.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zdoctorsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#342 of 1,151 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,151 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#89 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#549 of 1,151 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,151 in Istanbul
835 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#446 of 1,151 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Property: Avicenna Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#223 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing