We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little oasis in the heart of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #207 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little oasis in the heart of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Avicenna hotel is the perfect place if you are visiting Istanbul for the first time and want to be right in the centre. The rooms are not huge (tho the space is enough) but clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms, facing a cute little street that, despite being really central (2 min walking from the Blue Mosque) was extremely quite and characteristic. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly. Our flight was 2 hours after the hotel check out but we could store our luggage in the storage area. The weather was so hot I decided to get changed before the flight and they have been completely available and nice (carrying my luggage in and out the changing room). Just next door there is a typical shop run by a turkish family with the best prices and quality of ceramics and lamps for last minute gifts:) The last morning we had a look at the back of the hotel and realized they also have terraced rooms with an amazing view.
If we will go back to Istanbul we will definitely choose the Avicenna hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chiccafra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your nice comment about Avicenna. We really do appreciate it because not all of our guests who spent a nice holiday do take a time to write a review, because some people simply may forget about it as they return to their daily lives.

You have made few points that are important. Regardless our location which is just in the heart of the old city, the quarter is very quiet and after a long and tiring day it is just perfect place to stay. Our rooms are quite comfortable and we also have elegance rooms with balcony and bosphorus or blue mosque view.

Also, thank you for the comment regarding the personnal, we will be more than happy to welcome you again for your next visit to Istanbul!

King Regards,
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    452
    172
    56
    53
See reviews for
176
488
64
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I wanted to take my mum away to Istanbul for 9 days and found this hotel to be just about perfect. The staff in the hotel were great, they listened, they helped and more importantly they made us feel very welcome.
The city is amazing in itself so having a relaxing hotel with friendly staff, who know their own city is fantastic. The hotel is a nice 5 minute walk to the major attractions and walking distance to all shopping areas.

I thank them again for making our holiday special .

Thanks
Fatma

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpicyApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Fatma Hanım,

Thank you so much for your time spent to write this nice review abut our hotel. We really do appreciate it!

It was our plaisure to host you here, to talk to you and see you both in good mood and with smiles everyday, that was amazing! I hope you enjoyed your 'simits' back there!!

Just remember, we will be always happy to welcome you again whenever you want!

Kindest Regards,
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved this hotel on our recent vacation to Istanbul. The staff were really very helpful and friendly. The decor is pretty romantic and the entrance has a beautiful pink bougainvillea vine in full bloom. The winding stairs were quite difficult to navigate but breakfast in the garden area was wonderful. Thanks to our beautiful Nadira, we could plan our daily activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mrs. Sujata,

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. We do appreciate it!

It was my pleasure to meet you and your family in our hotel. And giving you information about things to do was just a part of my work. If I could some how be helpful to you in that topic, it makes me only happy and gives motivation to work even harder!

Being honest, we will be very happy to host you again when you are back to Istanbul!

King Regards,
Nadira Azatbayevna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is definitely not 4* and the customer service is nil. My daughter & I were given a double bedded room instead of the twin we booked, the balcony door was broken, light bulbs missing, basin plug broken, pieces of the woodblock floor missing or loose & stuck to our feet. The room we were shown to the next night was gloomy, faced the railway & had no balcony. We complained to the receptionist on duty, Golkan Goller, immediately. His manner was aggressive, rude and dismissive & he offered no apology. We were told we could move into the correct room on the third night. We were only on a four night holiday had yet to unpack our clothes & so said this was unacceptable. At our request he reluctantly phoned for the manager & told us she was coming. After a long wait, during which he addressed a lot of his remarks to my daughter (definitely younger & prettier than me but something that did not endear him to either of us), we asked where she was only for him to finally tell us she had left for the evening. We refused to accept another night in the hotel & booked into one of the many better hotels in the area where their hospitality couldn’t have been more welcoming. In the morning we had meeting with the manager where, although they finally apologised, they had to defer to the owner. The surly and dismissive attitude obviously comes from the top as he refused any compensation. I see from other reviews that this is a recurring complaint. This hotel should not be rated and promoted as 4* in any way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penrose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your time and efforts to write this review about our Hotel. We are open to any kinds of commnets regarding us as it is crucial to get the feedback directly from the guests in order to be able to meet all their needs.

As for your particular comment, it is such a pity to learn about your disappointment because last time we've got such a review was 9 months ago. And many things changed since then: rooms were partly renovated, customer satisfaction team was built and proved it's existence, most of the staff was replaced by high quality professionnals and they are all subject to professinnal training every month.

Please let me also clarify some points about the facilties that you were not satisfied with:
- in your reservation form, which was for an elegance double room, the special requests field was empty (you didn't indicate you wanted twin beds), and as our hotel was almost full during that time we offered you two possible room changes
- the balcony doors can't be broken because they are brand new, just some people try to open them from one side and don't realise immediately that you should open both door handles and then push it to yourself and move aside to open, as to missing light bulbs, broken basin plug or even the floor - we do solve such problems immediately as we have our own technical services department although the hotel is not that big, again our profound apologies for that
- regarding the receptionist, although we believe he is a professional in his field, we took all the required actions regarding his attitude that you have claimed, because we put the guest satisfaction factor on the first place, and I do personally apologize for all the unpleasent things happened to you.

And regarding the refund of the payment: as you have booked with a travel agency and payed to them, we can't do anything about it, but you can always talk to your agency and learn more about their refund terms and conditions.

As a matter of fact, we would be more than happy to host you again at Avicenna and prove you that you cannot go wrong with this choice.

With kindest regards,
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just got back from 4 night stay here, booked as a Bristish Airways package. Lovely Hotel, great location within walking distance to Blue Mosque, Agia Sofia and Topkapi Palace. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful they even surprised me with a birthday cake at breakfast. The room was large enough, clean, good bathroom. The temperature shot up while we were there and the air conditioning was not really efficient throughout the Hotel. We didn't eat at the Hotel but did have a drink at the bar which has great views. Breakfast was a good mixture of hot and cold, perfectly sufficient. A pleasant stay, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Helen G,

I would like to thank you a lot for this review. We are pleased to learn that in general you have enjoyed your stay at Avicenna Hotel. Our apologies for the air conditioning. I believe you've stayed in our hotel during the days just before the ramadan when the weather was exceptionnally hot.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Avicenna whenever you want!

Yours faithfully,
Guest Relations Dep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A lovely small hotel in a really accessible location to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, the basilica cistern, Topkapi Palace and tram system. The front of house staff all spoke good English. The breakfast (hot and cold buffet style) was really good value. Criticisms: the basement room we had was nice but there was not that much storage space. There was no left luggage room, so take care of valuables if leaving luggage before transferring to airport.

Room Tip: the basement rooms can be a bit noisy in the mornings from the dining room 'traffic'
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear WJ56,

I would like to thank you a lot for your time spent to write this review. We do really apreciate this because this is the best way to know if we are doing things right and to figure out our weak points in order to strengthen them.

And regarding the storage place in your room, I'm surprised to learn that, because normally there is enough place for two suitcases (for one in the wardrobe and another in the room).
Plus we do have a save luggage keeping room which might have been full when you were leaving, and when there is no more place left there, we use the room behind the front dest which is the extention of the lobby. This is the first time we are getting a negative feedback concerning the luggage because we also fix a sticker on the bags and do give another one with the number to the guests so that there won't be any confusion. In any case we apologise for the feeling of insecurity that you lived.

We will be glad to welcome you again at our hotel anytime you want.

With Best Regards,
Guest Relations Dep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights before picking up a cruise. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes away from the the blue mosque and Agia Sofia. The rooms are small but this was what we expected in a small hotel in a large city, it was clean and efficient and the breakfast in the morning was good. The staff were excellent - very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend for a short city break

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Karen D,

Thank you very much for your time spent on commenting about Avicenna. We do appreciate that and are motivated to work even harder to ensure that we offer the best service possible!

Our doors are always open if you would like to visit Istanbul again!
And I hope you are enjoying your time on cruise as well!

With Best Regards,
Nadira Azatbayevna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#333 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#273 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#117 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#187 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Property: Avicenna Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#224 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing