We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #223 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had a 3 night stay here and the friendly and very helpful staff are the highlight of this hotel. The waiter in the hotel restaurant was full of jokes and quips and made our experience there very pleasurable despite us being the only ones there! Great views from the restaurant and would be especially good if it had been warm enough to sit on the terrace. Breakfasts were good with a very wide choice. The room and ensuite were on the small side but very comfortable. The area around the hotel couldn't have been better, lovely old wooden houses and only a 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. This hotel was part of a BA package and despite our outward flight being cancelled due to fog at Heathrow and subsequently arriving at the hotel 8 hours late, I would do this again. It was excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emm173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.

Our location ıs perfect we are so close to everywhere

Best Regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    458
    174
    57
    56
See reviews for
184
496
64
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from turkey, had a lovely time the hotel location was excellent, the staff were very friendly, my daughter mariem has made a nice friend the hotel manager zainab was very friendly. It is in a good location walking distance to all main attractions. Would deffinately go again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.For us the most important thing is to give you the best experience of Istanbul. Our guest relation are very honored by your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I was booked in for 3 nights from the 21st March. Found the hotel and staff to be brilliant. This was my second stay in Istanbul and choose the hotel based on reviews and I must admit I was not disappointed.

From checking in and the really warm greeting from Zayneb and the guys to the housekeeping staff who went hunting for an iron for my wife and sister ;)

The hotel is clean and the brekfast is more than enough to set you up for the day.

Will definitely be back.

Raza

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.For us the most important thing is to give you the best experience of Istanbul. Our guest relation are very honored by your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Booked this hotel for a 4 night stay from 20 March 2014 as part of a BA package. My second visit to this wonderful city so knew that this hotel is well located for all the many highlights on offer. Very warm welcome by helpful staff. Chose an 'elegance room' which is I'm told more spacious - it was fine, clean well equipped although I found the bed a little firm and rather low. But I did get 4 nights of good sleep. Had supper on my first night's stay and it was well average - nothing wrong with that but guess there's a limit to what they can do with so many restaurants locally. Food was ok and staff again helpful. Breakfast was good and set me up for the day.

My only note of concern is one of room security. Having been out for the day I was greeted by another guest whilst in my room around 5pm one afternoon - apparently he had got confused as to which room was his and Reception had re-programmed his card to give him access to my room. This should not happen. Then the following afternoon I had an unannounced visit from one of the reception staff and a housekeeper with absolutely no explanation for their visit and they quickly disappeared. Pity a small blot on an otherwise pleasant stay and yes I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to elegance room - although mine did not overlook the Bosphurous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Avicenna Hotel for 10 days from 16th March until 26th March. The hotel was extremely clean, the staff were very polite and helpful at all times. The location is excellent a walking distance to most attractions e.g. Sultanahmet Square, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar etc. The hotel offers a wide range of breakfast and we also loved having the evening meals at the hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who wishes to visit Istanbul which is truly a wonderful City. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay pleasant and comfortable !!!!!!!!!
Kirna & Jay from London

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirna1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a great short break here at the Avicenna hotel. The location is excellent - nearby to the Blue Mosque in the old city, great location to access the sites. The service was polite and efficient, front of house staff helpful. The rooms were clean and everything you would expect. Breakfast was varied and authentic. All round a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pkonline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last week 11th-15th March. We loved the hotel and the staff were very helpful and without being pushy gave us a few tips on local knowledge. The best thing we did was to book a full day trip with She Tours via the hotel for the very next morning (although we didn't really fancy an early start having just had one to get there!). Well worth doing it the first day though. The guide was great and we had a very full and enjoyable day, seeing many sights and even spending a couple of hours going up and down the Bosphorus which enabled us to orientate ourselves in this amazing city. 08:30-17:00 We thought it was excellent value for 70euros each as included a very nice lunch! We then mooched for the next few days with a good idea of what to see and when and where. We came at a good time as although cool weather, it was perfect for sightseeing and the sun was shining. We didn't eat at the rooftop restaurant as although it looked lovely it was so quiet and nobody else was there. Too early in the season I quess, but we did sit out on the little terrace balcony there and enjoy a glass of beer (or two)looking out to sea and the views were fantastic. The staff were all really polite and friendly and that goes for all the places we went to in Istanbul.
Our breakfasts were always good, and the hotel is really the prettiest little place inside and out, on a lovely cobbled street. Our room was very clean, the beds -(twin) comfy and the shower was very good, water hot enough without fiddling about with dials & knobs (room 213). We ate locally and although great food, it is more expensive than other parts of Istanbul-but then it is easy to get back to the Hotel. Try Babylonia Garden Restaurant and also the Kybele which is a little more of a walk but worth it. They all are aware of Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyndebournelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#344 of 1,156 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#163 of 1,156 in Istanbul
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#89 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,452 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#192 of 1,156 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#164 of 1,156 in Istanbul
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Property: Avicenna Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#223 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing