We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #238 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights.staff was excellent.location is just perfect.we did not know and they arranged a surprise birthday cake fir my wife on her birthday.that was really sweet.overall i will just say dnt waste ur time looking for other hotels.just go for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for Avicenna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed for four day's in the Avicenna hotel. The employees were very friendly and helpful. A big compliment for them! The hotelroom was clean and nice furnished and the beds were comfortable. The room was not big, but big enough. We definitely come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay 2 nights - friendly staff, good breakfast in a beautiful small boutique Hotel. Clean basic accommodation in a perfect location close to the Blue Mosque. Also great value & I would highly recommend this Hotel to which we will be returning soon.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bazgreg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have just had a 3 night stay at The Avicenna and it was wonderful. It is a very pretty hotel in a tiny cobbled street close to so many of the main attractions. The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds very comfy. The breakfast room was lovely and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We pre booked a people carrier before leaving the UK and it was an excellent service, for four of us it cost €20 each way. We used Istanbul Airport Taxi's and would recommend them. The Blue mosque is literally around the corner and is an impressive site. We visited Sophia Hagia and the Topaki Palace and a must see are the roman cisterns. The lovely tour advisor at the hotel will greet you and give you a map so ask her to point it out. The only problem is finding it in the street! It is not too well signposted but ask at any of the cafes across from Sophia Hagia and people will direct you. We walked to the grand bazaar and then decided to walk down to the Galata Bridge all through what seemed to be the local's bazaar, it was great. The people of Istanbul are very friendly and helpful and everybody were always polite. We have to add about eating at West Town Cafe Restaurant, just around the corner from the hotel. It was fantastic. Omar is the man to see, he is a real character and all the other guy's there are great too. Sherife, Yusef, Mr Curios, they are very friendly. We had our son and his friend with us and they spent time talking with them and we all had a great laugh, it was hubbie's 60th birthday and they brought out some cake and sang Happy Birthday in English and Turkish! So it made it really special for him. If you go say the Geezer sent you, they will know who you mean! We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Debs22911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights in Istanbul at the Avicenna Hotel. It's about a 30 min drive from Ataturk airport and you can expect to pay around 40 lira for a taxi ride. Make sure you have the hotel's name and phone number to give to the taxi driver. The hotel offers a return coach shuttle to the aiport for €6 per person which worked out only slightly cheaper for 2 of us than a taxi so if there are more than 2 of you - take a taxi. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff and there is one particular lady there who spoke very good English who gave us a map and told us a little about the area and asked if we wanted to book any trips etc. We booked the Bosphorous Boat Cruise half day for €25 each (make sure to ask for the shorter trip as she only offered us the whole day at €70 we had to ask if there was a shorter/cheaper one) There were also trips to the Turkish bath and Belly dance shows etc.

The hotel has a modern design, the rooms are small but cleaned everyday.
There is a minibar in the room with drinks and canned nuts. Beware that the teas and coffees are also chargeable at 4 or 5 lira a go and they do count them!
The breakfast buffet is served downstairs, it was basic but enough variety to keep everyone happy - cakes, various jams, bread, cheese, salad etc.
There is a restaurant upstairs called 'Sipsi' which was empty whenever we went up there. However, this meant that the service was really quick, the waiters are very polite, constantly changing ashtrays and refilling water etc. The food there is reasonably priced and tasty but the cheapest bottle of wine you will find in any restaurant there is 60 lira. There is a nice view from the terrace outside the restaurant which overlooks the Bosphorous.

The hotel in a really good location for the sites - 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Haga Sofia, Topkapi palace. 15 mins from the Grand Bazaar. It's a long walk across the other side to Beyoglu/Taksim so would recommend getting a tram or taxi there. There are plenty of restaurants up and down the street. Though be prepared for restaurant owners to ask you into their restaurant every time you pass. There are also a lot of little shops to buy supplies and gifts in which will be cheaper than the Bazaars. There is a nice restaurant which is quite hidden called 'Palatium' which we enjoyed, the prices were reasonable, the food and decor was nice and they have shishas/nargiles there. Not a lot of places have them as there is some sort of rule of the type of restaurant where they can and can't be smoked in.

The only complaint with the hotel really is the noise. The rooms are all very close to one another and have TVs built into the full length mirror on the wall which means that you can hear next door's TV really loudly. Also, the cleaning staff talked and shouted outside our door from 8am as we were right next to their cleaning supply cupboard! Also, the windows are so thin you can hear everything on the street morning and night- people shouting, vans coming up and down, birds squawking, cats fighting etc. This would be the thing that would put me off from staying there again. Perhaps the rooms on the other side of the hotel are better as they don't border the street but instead the walled garden area inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sianperkins89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor. We are happy to host you again in our Hotel.

As you know our buıldıng ıs hıstorıcal thats why we can not touch the constructıon.we apologıse for the noıse.

We try our best for talkıng wıth the guest to be quıet.we would lıke to tanks for your remark.our stuf wıll take consıderance of your opınıon for a better servıce.

Your always welcome back to hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

we staid in Avicenna for 4 nights and were pleased with the Hotel. The stuff is very kind and give good advises about sights and trips you should do in Istanbul.
the breakfast buffet is moderate, delicious and the changing warm dishes are very nice and welcome.
The room in the ground floor was good and had a good size for our time there. Unfortunately the bed was too soft and sagged. A new mattress seems required. The housemaid is very fast by preparing the room during breakfast and the cleanness is acceptable. Some dark spots on the flaggings and gouging is still OK but should to be renewed in near future.
Altogether we were very happy with the hotel and will suggest it to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: rooms in first floor are clairaudient
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to receive your generous comment.

We will take advantage of your comment for improving our service. For us the most important thing is your satisfaction.

Best regards,
Fikriye Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very happy with the location as the main attractions of Istanbul are within walking distance of this location. We took a sea front walk also which was very pleasant.
We paid an extra £20 for balcony and sea view, and were lucky to enjoy warm sun in the morning even though it was January.
The hotel is a nice size, not too big nor too small.
The staff were approachable, helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served between 7:30 and 10:30 giving us time to lie in if we wished. (Would advise wearing earplugs early morning for anyone visiting Istanbul if they don't want to be woken by the wailing calls to prayer at 6 am(ish)).
There is a whirling dervish to music each night just outside the Arasta Bazaar at the top of the street. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby for you to enjoy the typical delights that Istanbul has to offer. Overall a very nice hotel in an ideal location. If we go back to Istanbul, we'd definitely stay at the Avicenna Hotel again.

Room Tip: We paid an extra £20 for balcony and sea view, morning sun and less noise from the prayer calls whic...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.

Our Hotel is 5mn to Blue Mosque by walking and 15 mn to the Grande Bazaar. So our location is great.

But it's not enough for us. The service is also very important. Our Hotel staff makes their best to help you.

We wouls like to see you again in our Hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#331 of 1,161 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#153 of 1,161 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,161 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#245 of 1,161 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#76 of 1,161 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#222 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing