We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #208 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent location and lots of restaurants close by. Pleasant courtyard for sitting and for taking breakfast. Rooms good and clean but fairly basic. Staff were very helpful. We had a few problems connecting to the Wifi but we would definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms to annex overlook railway but trains not very frequent so not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Christopher B
It was pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul. We are extremely happy to hear that most of your experience met your expectation. Also I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. We know there lots of choices but we are highly appreciated you stayed with us. We are looking forward to see you in near future. Thanks a Million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    452
    172
    56
    53
See reviews for
176
488
64
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A good location for all the major sights and close to lots of interesting restaurants. Our room was quite large, with 2 single beds put together as a double, very clean and 'just' had a sea view from the small windows. The breakfast was adequate although we had to pay extra for orange juice! The staff were very friendly too. Good boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DeeBee132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear DeeBee132
Your comments, observations and experience are extremely helpful to improve our product in order to serve you better on your next stay. It was a pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul.
We have two kind of complimentary juices available every morning. We have same practice like other hotel and resort regarding the fresh squeeze juice.
I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. Thanks a Million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is good which includes the location. Just 3 blocks from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque though the breakfast could be more international If I might say.
My travel on Turkey included two stops on Istanbul. 1 on my way to Cappadocia and 2. On my way back to my home country. When I was going to Cappadocia I forgot my necklace on the room and called the reception and stated where it was and if they could hold for me. The receptionist say he could but when I return to the hotel they said they didn't find anything. The necklace wasn't expensive at all (less than USD 50.00) but had a symbolic value for me. So be careful when you stay there specially when you leave something valuable for you on the room. The hotel employees seems not to care for integrity and character.

Room Tip: On the back of the hotel you will have a see to the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrepaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Andrepaes,
I am sincerely sorry about you lost or misplaced your necklace. I didn’t reply without having solid information. I interviewed all employees individual regarding this important subject to share maximum information with you. Avicenna is one of the oldest Hotels in Sultanahmet area and we are working with loyal employees only.
I can`t be definite but base of my understanding there is misunderstanding of conversation when you were in Cappadocia. If employees found the necklace they should kept in Accounting Safe. This is our Standard Operation Procedure.
On your statement there is straight conversation with front desk representative. So front desk representative didn’t know if the necklace is the place as you describe. If it was located in the room it should be found and kept in the safe.
Avicenna Hotel never had this type embarrassing experience.
Thank you in advance for your understanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

the location was good ,the staff helpfull and friendly,the food at night was excellent and goodvalue also breakfast was good. will stay hear again when we go back as so much more to see. highly recommend as so near to all the mainattractions.

Room Tip: near to so many good places to eat rooms are a bit on the small side ,but you dont have mutch time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnett43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear barnett43
What a wonderful pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul. Your comments, observations and experience are extremely helpful to improve our product in order to serve you better on your next stay.
I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. Thanks a Million.

Serhat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is small but well decorated and with great staff when you enter the hotel. They were at our beckoning call. Wifi in hotel was unstable. B Floor did not work half of visit but when asked about technician jumped right on it. Location wise, it is ideal to walking to bazaar or Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Local restaurants around hotel offer variety and really friendly people. I would def recommend coming back to this location. Well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MomsBdaysurprist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear MomsBdaysurprist
What a wonderful pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul. Your comments, observations and experience are extremely helpful to improve our product in order to serve you better on your next stay. We have 5 different servers for WİFİ to provide best quality access point. I am going to increase the internal audit to make it better.
I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your experience with us. Thanks a Million.
Serhat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

A very friendly small hotel just below the Sultanamet (the 'Blue' ) mosque in a relatively quiet area. It is housed in an old building which has been very tastefully restored. Although well-equipped, it has avoided the sterile international tourist hotel treatment. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very well placed for good quality shops in a small bazaar and some excellent restaurants. Don't miss the view from the restaurant over the sea of Marmora and the entrance to the Bospherus! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first or second floor looking on to street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RosalindLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Rosalind,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad that we got the chance to give you a good experience of Istanbul.

We would be very happy to invite you again to our teracce restaurant for even better diners.

We hope to see you again in Istanbul,


Best regards,

Fikriye Yılmaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were a party of 6 on a 4 day break. Nothing to do with this review but we did not arrive at this hotel until 5.30 am due to missing our Heathrow connection and being rerouted on another airline. Nevertheless we were welcomed at this early hour efficiently with a deal of sympathy for our late arrival.

We had two taxis from the airport costing 40 and 45 Lira respectively - no tip required. Make sure you have the exact address as the drivers had to be guided to the hotel by their central control (no sat navs here!). Our return taxis from just outside the hotel were 45 Lira (we negotiated a fixed price as it was a national holiday originally asked for 60 Lira!!!)

The rooms are quite small and whilst two of our bathrooms were fine one couple had to do an element of gymnastics to sit on the toilet. That apart the rooms were well decorated, clean and had all the usual toiletries, hairdryer etc. Not a lot of storage but adequate for a few days. As previously reported there was a well equipped minibar with reasonable prices and tea and coffee was charged for (We took our own being mean Scots!)

Breakfasts were excellent - continental style with lovely fresh bread and the usual yoghurt, cereals, meat, cheese etc. There was plenty of choice. If you wished something cooked there was a charge not unlike you would for a cooked breakfast in many hotels. Offerings here were mainly eggs such as boiled eggs and, omelettes but we did not really investigate as the standard breakfast choice was so good. A bugbear of mine is charging for fresh orange juice. It was only 3 Lira (£1) but in the market it was only 1Lira so it would have been reasonable to include it in the overall price. Charging does seem standard practice in Turkey.

The location is great just a few minutes walk from all the major sites and the central tramway/metro - this was great value at 3 Lira a trip. We used this lot and although crowded, it was a fast and cheap way to travel.

We had a meal in the hotel which was excellent and really good value. They did a five beer deal and allowed us 10% off the food price. We tried other local restaurants trying the Turkish cuisine and found them all to be good and reasonable value - cheaper than UK. Wine and beer unsurprisingly were expensive. (Bottle of Wine 65 to 85 Lira)

We took the tram to the ferry port to take a ferry trip up the Bosporus to Kavagi (in Asia) and back for 25 Lira (£7.80) - a bargain - do not try the more organised ones as these can be expensive. There is a shorter ferry trip for 10 Lira. We climbed the hill to the castle at Kavagi for some superb views of the Bosporus and Black Sea.

The staff were all extremely friendly and offered us tips about personal security and where to go and advised us that if we visited the Taksim Square area it would be far cheaper for shopping and eating and drinking - it was!

At no time were we aware of the recent unrest and compared to previous visits there was much less hassle and it was not as persistent as it used to be. It felt safer than walking in parts of Newcastle!!

We all would willingly return to this hotel and despite our delayed arrival we had a fantastic time in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were probably quieter and some had balconies. higher level rooms better than groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#335 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#270 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#185 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#56 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Property: Avicenna Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#224 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing