We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #234 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location.Walking distance of most of the sights.Blue Mosque 5 minute walk.Hotel and rooms clean and tidy,breakfast a bit of disappointment.View from the hotel bar nice at night time.Rooms not that big ,but big enough if your only staying for 2 or 3 days.

Room Tip: Try to get front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in Avicenna for 2 nights and found it to be a great location for sightseeing during the short time that we were in Istanbul. Our room was comfortable, clean and well-airconditioned but the public areas of the hotel were hot and stuffy (no fans). Breakfast offered a good variety of local produce but there was an additional charge (6 TL) for fresh juice. It would have been nice to have complimentary bottles of water in the room, and I have never stayed in a hotel that charges for the tea and coffee in the room (bring your own!). The hotel organised a shuttle service to the airport which was helpful although the driver made me fear for my life on more than one occasion as he weaved in and out of traffic at high speed while using his mobile phone. It was a pleasant place to stay and we would come back again if we found a good deal on a room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltandpepper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our room (105) for a 5 night stay was smallish but comfortable and clean. Three problems, however, lack of drawer space, iffy air con, and the view over a burned out building at the rear of the hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, the charges for tea and coffee in the room is unusual and outrageous.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was more than adequate - apart from the coffee which was highly diluted and unpleasant. The breakfast room was large - we never had to queue for a table.
On our first night we ate at a local touristy restaurant - resulting in a touch of food poisoning lasting the next day.. We found that the hotel's balcony restaurant provided good food at reasonable prices and with a good view. - although if you eat out on the terrace you are likely to be plagued by people popping out to smoke or smoking during their meals. There are very good and friendly family restaurants to be found a couple of minutes walk down toward the sea road.and away from the touristy areas between the hotel and the Blue Mosque

Room Tip: Some rooms at the rear of the hotel (odd numbers 3 - 7) overlook a burned out building and should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

If your purpose is to have a clean place to sleep in a great location for seeing the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, and other attractions in Sultanahmet, then Avicenna Hotel serves its purpose. The rooms are clean and the location is superb. The staff weren't terribly friendly, but they were professional and courteous. The air conditioning unit in the room was on the fritz and required constant restarting by way of pulling the room key out of the power port. Hotel Avicenna's gravest sin is the complementary breakfast. The selection is pretty standard: cereal, eggs, pastries, fruit, cheese, etc.. Beware the fresh juice bar. They don't have any cold beverages available, save the juice bar. What they don't tell you, and it isn't posted anywhere, is that the juice bar is not included in the complementary breakfast. A person could run up quite a tab tossing back tiny glassesif fresh OJ. The unkindest cut, however, is the coffee. When my wife said it tasted like light brown water, I thought she was exaggerating. She wasn't. Of all the things to skimp on, why oh why would they water down the coffee!? I'd take half rotten yogurt and stale cereal over weak coffee. Overall, Avicenna is a good option of you don't particularly care about anything other than a clean bed and a great location. If you're looking for a great hotel experience, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the Avcienna hotel in late July & the staff were charming. The room we had was large & the bed very comfortable. It was very close to the Blue Mosque & also close enough to the eating areas, however on a side road so no noise disturbance from this.
They did charge for juice in the morning & the tea etc in the room, however this was made very clear & you could easily do without. The remaining breakfast was what I would have expected.
In all I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel seemed to be larger than those facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent five nights here and had an excellent break. The location is fantastic just minutes from the Blue Mosque/Hagia Sophia/ Hippodrome/tram stop. We had an elegance room and we loved the view over the Marmaris. We spent every evening on the balcony and the (now new) trains were not a problem. The beds were comfortable, the room clean and most staff were friendly, none were rude. The breakfast is Turkish bread,cheeses,boiled eggs,olives,yoghurt,jam, coffee and you could eat as much as you wanted. The rooftop restaurant is a hidden gem. If the staff aren't there when you go up just use the phone and let reception know.
All in all we were pleased with our choice but we would consider carefully before re-booking during the summer. This is because the aircon unit broke down three times. Twice at night meaning that we eventually woke up very, very hot. The staff were able to reset the aircon every time but it isn't pleasant to pay for aircon and then have two out of five nights sleep disturbed due to this!! Our neighbours in the next room had exactly the same issue.

Although it wouldn't prevent me from rebooking I also think the management should just ditch the 'fresh juice' option at breakfast as it is so expensive and It causes arguments when customers realise how much they have been charged. It makes some people annoyed and feel as if the hotel is trying to rip them off.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor (room numbers begin with 2 -as they number the floors 'american style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First of all we really enjoyed our stay in Istanbul.

This hotel is quite good, especially when you take the prices into account. Our room was a bit smallish, but everything was very clean and new. Everything we needed was there.

The breakfast was good and there was a lot to choose from. All staff was very friendly and supported us with taxi bookings, reservations and other requirements.

There is no better location in Sultanahmet. Within 5 minutes you stand in front of the Blue Mosque. The hotel itself is situated in a quiet street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#341 of 1,163 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#143 of 1,163 in Istanbul
542 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#512 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#147 of 1,163 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#171 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#221 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $28 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing