We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Reasonable rates secure a hotel in an excellent location, walking distance to all attractions. Street of restaurants just around the corner which is a bonus after a long day.
The staff are very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of English. The room is smallish but certainly fit for purpose and clean and tidy, we had two rooms and both thought the same
Breakfast is simple but more than enough selection to feed all but the most picky eaters.
Overall a good decent hotel with affordable rates.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you know what is good for u do not stay in this hotel. It was disgusting. Changed rooms 3 times. First night they put us into the basement. smelt of mould, after complaining they moved us into another twin which had 1 single bed and a fold up bed. The room was so small we couldnt move without hitting the furnature and each other. Complained again but they couldnt do anything until the next morning. Finally we got a an 'ok' room but the shower was full of black mould that really smelt bad everytime we had a showert!!, The hotel needs maintenance. I must say the trains didnt bother and neither did the call for prayer every morning at 5.30am

Room Tip: They charge for tea and coffee in the bedrooms. How disgusting is that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lukeys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What can i say, really friendly staff, lovely comfortable room, very clean, great breakfast, very competitive in rates, and right in the heart of all the sights and sounds of old town Istanbul and not to far from the tram stop which links right to the airport.

If i was to be really picky then I would say watch out for the bedrooms at the back of hotel on the ground floor as they are close to the Metro rail line and you can hear the trains go by every so often but not at night - however dont let it put you off staying there - its fab!!

Will definately return soon!

Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels as apposed to ground floor at rear of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reillylloyd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located within walking distance of the major central attractions was the best feature of this hotel - and complimentary hot drinks in the lobby were welcome...Our rooms were very cramped, one toilet almost unusable for a normal-sized human and the breakfast spread was barely average. There are plenty of other hotels nearby...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smsfirecracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked two standard rooms via BA when we arrived at 4-00pm we were shown to two rooms in the basement which were not ready one was very dirty both looked out onto a small courtyard and a brick wall dark and dreary not as set out in the hotel website at all. We refused those rooms and asked to be shown to two others. One room was reasonable and looked out onto the street the other was in the annex was small ( no room around the bed). However there was no option offered despite a lot of discussion ! This latter room proved to be very cold at night with no heating we complained every day and they said yes yes and nothing happened each time . the charges for a teabag in the room were extrodinary 4TL each. The cover on the bed was dirty and generally we found this hotel lacked care and attention to their customers. we would not recommend ot visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dylan1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the hotel, travelling as a family with an 11 year old daughter. Could not fault the service or location of the hotel. I agree with the previous comments re breakfast, style of room, the delicious free hot chocolate and location. Our room was an elegance room on the first floor with views of the Bosphorus from our balcony, complete with 2 chairs and window box. Our daughter spent her first night on the chaise longe which was too short for her. Reception happily put a spare bed in the room which was an improvement, albeit the room became cramped.
DO go on the long boat trip up the Bosphorus but start queuing early to ensure you get a seat. We did and were rewarded with spectacular views plus many sightings of dolphins. We got off at the last stop and had an idyllic fish lunch in the sunshine. Wine is expensive but the Efes is more refreshing!
The Galata Tower us worth a climb. A real highlight was eating calamari and anchovies where the locals go- very cheap, incredibly fresh, slightly chaotic and memorable. On the Galata side of the bridge turn left right on the water front where there is a cluster of fish stalls and plastic chairs. Brilliant. Huge vats of boiling oil frying off the catch of the day for just a few TL. You can always have a cold beer on the bridge afterwards while soaking in the sights of Istanbul.
Perfect.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank murray_towers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed with my wife in hotel from 22-28 Mar 2013..great location,comfortable rooms,reasonable breakfast and above all A VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL FRONT DESK STAFF,,specially durmus,bilal etc...wifi was also OK..never heard the train as written in reviews but my room was on ground floor and facing the street..the shops near hotel are overpriced once compared to shops in main sultanahmet area...from airport taxi drivers may get confuse about actual location of the hotel even if address is given..either ask him to fone or ask him to take you near Arasta Bazaar near Sultan Ahmet...If you come out of Arasta Bazaar (end or side away from Blue Mosque)..turn right for some stairs...left side will be a big covered eating spot..continue stright down slope till you hit T junction...turn right and on left 20 m is the location of hotel..

Room Tip: Tea bags in rooms are priced high,,if possible avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vortex2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#368 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#156 of 1,163 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#302 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#314 of 1,163 in Istanbul
448 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#123 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#220 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $24 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing