We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #207 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is 2 minutes away from the Blue Mosque! We stayed there for 4 nights and we had a great time! The breakfast had a big variety of food and the staff of the hotel was very helpful. They also helped us arranged our trip to Bosporus. We stayed at the economy room that had no view but that wasn't a problem as we had already been informed about this before our reservation. They also helped with our transportation for/to the airport.

Room Tip: Economy rooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IoannaKyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear IoannaKyr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share about Arena Hotel.

We are very glad about your review that you enjoyed the breakfast and the service the staff provided. The reservation department always provides the detailed info about the room before the guests choose a type. Thank you very much for mentioning about it.

Hope to welcome you soon at Arena Hotel again,

Best regards,

Naz Küçükserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 492 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located only a short walk from the Blue Mosque and restaurant district in Sultanahmet. The rooms are spacious and comfortably fitted out in the traditional Turkish style. The staff were very welcoming and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street are close to the PA system of the neighbourhood mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wooditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Wooditch,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share about Arena Hotel.

My team and I, we appreciate your candid and brief review and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Arena Hotel..

Warmest regards to Perth,

Naz Küçükserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived early in the morning to a friendly welcome, nice breakfast and rooms ready. This hotel is in a great location and easy walking to the main tourist sites. There is a corner food shop just up the street for snacks and other restaurants close by. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The two rooms we had were comfortable with good bathrooms. We also enjoy our dinner in the dining room which is small and friendly. Highly recommend this accommodation for a 2 or 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MitzyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear MitzyNewZealand,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share about your experience in Arena Hotel.

Arena hotel is a small hotel with a big heart. My team's vision is to make the guests feel like at home with the candid service they try to provide. We appreciate your comment in which you mentioned about the welcoming and friendly staff, comfortable rooms, great location, nice breakfast and enjoyable dinner you had in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you again..

Best regards to New Zealand,

Naz Küçükserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find this lovely quaint hotel right in the middle of the points of interest. The staff were kind and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated although the bed was a little hard. A lovely breakfast was included and entertainment in the restaurant on certain evenings was a treat. We had an enjoyable stay.

DEG

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Diana G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in Arena Hotel.

We are very happy to read your review, that you truly enjoyed your stay and met your expectations. Thank you very much for your recognition and distinction. We will be very happy to welcome you again in future.

Best regards to New Zeland,

Naz Küçükserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a stop over in Istanbul for 2 nights.
The room was clean and average size.
Good location, walking distance to visit blue mosque, hagia sofia, restaurants, and markets.
Very well welcomed.
But neighbors downstairs talking till 2 am, were a bit annoyed...
Overall it was ok.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Julieheral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Julieheral,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

My team and I are very happy to hear about your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Naz Küçükserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

great hotel in an excellent location. very friendly staff and very helpful. great complimentary breakfast. would highly recommend the arena . the rooms tipify the Turkish experience. the decor is ecclectic and the hotel has a homey feel to it.

Room Tip: the sultan imperial suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Michel S,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

My team and I are very happy to hear about your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

Warmest regards to Canada,

Naz Küçükserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have spent in Arena hotel 3 nights, in a beautiful Queen suite room, that faced to the Sokollu Mosque. The room is spacious for a Sultanahmet’s hotel. We have arrived just before noon and we were immediately checked in.

From the pictures we seen on internet they have other types of Queen suite room, more spacious, but ours was OK. The furniture is new, beautiful decorated. Bathroom spacious, too. In a basket in the bathroom there are all of sorts of useful things, a shaving kit, a tooth brush, a sewing kit and even a comb. Everything is the bathroom was new and spotless.

The towels were bright white. When we arrive in the room we had petals and figurines made from towels. We had nice bowl with chocolate candies.

In the room we had a sofa and 2 twin beds closed together- very wide and long. The sheets were white and the pillows were OK. The wardrobe spacious enough and we had a safe inside.

The breakfast was quite plentiful- you can find some warm dishes and fruits. The tea was very good. All and all you did not leave your table with an empty stomach. Every morning we have eaten outside and it was very nice.

The location is near Blue Mosque- 7-10 minutes walking, uphill.

I would like to thank very much to the guy from the reception ( I am sorry I do not know his name) that helped me with the check-in for the plane- Windows from the laptop of the hotel was in Turkish language and the keypad, too, so it was a little bit difficult to handle it, but with his help I finally I succeed in printing the boarding pass. :)

The wi-fi works well. You have a different password for different flloors.
The only thing that we did not felt in this hotel was the warmth of the people working at the front desk, like I felt in Basileus. Maybe is just us.

Room Tip: Queen suite is very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler200782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Traveler200782,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. My team and I are very happy to hear you throughly enjoyed your experience with us. Many thanks for recognizing our dedication which is indeed the crux of our service philosophy.

When your travels bring you to Istanbul again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sultanahmet.

My heartfelt thanks and warmest regards,

Naz Küçükserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#62 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#326 of 1,178 in Istanbul
311 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#136 of 1,178 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#268 of 1,178 in Istanbul
401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,178 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#243 of 1,178 in Istanbul
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#132 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $38 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing