We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arena Hotel
Ranked #166 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

A visit to see the great Byzantine sights and relics in Istanbul has been on my wish list most of my life.
We wanted a family run hotel close to all the sights.
The Arena is fantastic. It is situated right by the old walls of the Hippodrome, in a little quiet cobble street. It took less than a few minutes walk to be at the Blue Mosque and all the sights.
The staff are very polite and very helpful.The breakfast is wonderful with hot and cold food prepared fresh every morning. We just had a large breakfast and didn't need any lunch.
Accommodation was a basement room which was fantastic value. We saw the other rooms which were far more luxurious but as we were out all day we did not need and kept the saved money for having a fantastic time seeing all ( most ) of the historic sights.
The Arena has a garden restaurant where we had breakfast ( and one dinner ) that has a retractable roof.
We would love to go back to Istanbul and will definitely stay again at the Arena.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget the basement rooms are fine and has everything that you need. If you want mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear James B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about Arena Hotel.

It is just wonderful reading your comments and knowing you had really enjoyed your experience at our hotel and had a great time in Istanbul. My entire team and I appreciate your feedback and recognition, we are all grateful for your kind words.

As you described so well, Arena Hotel is a family run & small hotel with a big heart where we are all about personalized service. Our core purpose is to make sure our guests have a unique experience at this sensational location and enjoy Istanbul to the fullest.

It will be a delight to welcome you back to our hotel when you make your next trip to Istanbul.

Once again, my sincere thanks and best regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    171
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
207
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have stayed 2 nights at the Arena just for short visit.
It was great to have only some minutes walk to all main
importants attractions.
However, the staff is so friendly and helpful with all kind
of questions..I had a great new renovated room with
a big shower - great!
My visit was staying like as a friend not as a guest.
I'll return, for sure, but only longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thailand16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Thailand16,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing at Trip Advisor. My team and I, appreciate the brief comment, which highlights the perfect location, the renovated room and the kindness of staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. My team and I are very happy to hear you throughly enjoyed your experience with us. Many thanks for recognizing our dedication which is indeed the crux of our service philosophy.

Hope to host you once more at Arena Hotel.
Warmest Regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Arena was a weekend layover for a short sightseeing tour of Istanbul. The location was fantastic in that it was all nice walking distance to the main sites in the old city. The service was warm and helpful in allowing us to best leverage our time there. The best recommedation given us was the guide, his name was Servet Ugur and if you need a guide who is very knowledgable, patient, very articulate in English and just an absolute pleasure then he is your man. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Paul V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

It was a great pleasure for my team and I to have you as our guests during that weekend. We are delighted you had a memorable experience. Heartfelt thanks for your kind words and recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Best Regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. The hotel is so smart looking, clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing it felt like i was staying with my family. Thank you for being part of what was my best holiday ever in this amazing magical city.I would recommend this hotel every time. Perfect location just a few minutes walk to blue mosque and local tramway.Fantastic hotel....Thank you everybody at the arena hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontownman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Londontownman11,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience. My team and I, we are all very excited about your wonderful comments, thank you for your distinction.

Please do not forget that Arena Hotel is your home away home .. When your travel brings you back to Istanbul, we would be happy to host you again at Arena Hotel.

Best wishes from Istanbul to London,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at Arena Hotel on Valentine’s Day.After check-in, a few minutes later we entered the room, a lady knocked the door and celebrated Valentine’s Day with chocolate covered strawberries. We felt really special. That was a very thoughtful service from Arena Hotel staff. I should also draw attention to the masseuse. We had an amazing experience in the massage room. One should try it for sure. The location of the hotel is 2 minutes of walking distance to the all historical places. The room is well decorated and was very clean. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. We had a dinner in the restaurant on Valentine’s Day. The menu was rich with a good price. The food in the plate was beautifully served and very delicious. The staff decorated the restaurant with hearts and candles. We give 10 points out of 10! If you like to feel yourself special, stay at Arena Hotel, they are very good at making you feel special. Absolutely recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CansuGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear CansuGermany,

On behalf of Arena Hotel team, we first would like to thank you for your time spent to write this special review, and for your recognition of our mission as Arena Hotel.

As Arena Hotel is a family owned business, and the family members are still running the business today, we give importance to make each guest feel at home by making them "feel special" with our special treatment.

We are so happy to hear that we managed to make you feel special.

Arena Hotel is your home away home, when your travel brings you back to Istanbul, we will be glad to host you once more..

Warmest Regards from Istanbul,
Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel was the perfect base to explore the city. It is located in the old part of the city, just walking distance from Hagia Sophia, the blue mosque, etc. Even walking to the Gran Bazaar and the Galata bridge to cross to the other part of the city was easy. It is close to the tram station as well. The hotel is nicely decorated, breakfast was "amazing" with all the normal buffette stuff plus turkish delicacies as dates, dried apricots, chesnuts, etc. The room was a bit small, but for 50 euros a night was a great value. Some people rate rooms forgetting how much they paid for it, so it is important to consider the deals and offers one gets before rating a place. The noise from a close mosque was not a problem at all. The hotel must have done something about this as our sleep and rest was superb. Windows have double glass. A place to come back! Definetely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AriBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear AriBsAs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about Arena Hotel with this amazing review..

My team and I are thrilled to read your comments because this feedback and recognition mean so much to us all. Especially thank you for putting emphasis on to consider the deals and offers one gets before rating a place. You exactly gave a good answer to some comments.

I’m very happy you enjoyed your trip to Istanbul and stayed with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Arena Hotel on your next visit. Istanbul really does offer quite a lot to explore so I hope we will get to see you again.

My sincere thanks and warm regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

First of all, I would like to thank Arena Hotel staff for making our trip fabulous. The hotel is an historical building and it is beautifully restored. Once we got in the hotel, they directed us to the high tea buffet which was on house on check-in day. While we enjoyed the tea with homemade cookies, the front desk clerck managed the process. We preferred to stay in a Queen Suite which belongs to the new-modern wing of the hotel. The room was very luxurious & spacious and more importantly provided the necessary comfort which made you feel at home. The location is perfect, the best sights to be seen in Istanbul are all in walking distance. Since you do not have to spend time, energy and money for trying to get somewhere, the hotel’s location deserves a bonus with a star! The breakfast was so rich, that made you feel so full. The staff is extremely kind and shows the Turkish hospitality, they went above and beyond from the time we arrived right up until we departed. Do not hesitate to ask for any help, they would love to help you out! We stayed there in Christmas Period, in 31st of December, after we got back to our room from a very long and exhausting day, we found little presents on the bed for us. They were wishing us the good luck for 2014. It was a nice touch. We absolutely recommend Arena Hotel to our friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ece K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ece K,

Thank you for your amazing review and taking notice to Queen Suites and our high-tea.

The Queen Suites belong to the new & modern wing of Arena Hotel. We are glad to hear that we managed to host you heartsomely.

The high-tea buffet is on house on check-in day for our guests who stay in Arena Hotel. We offer wide selection of local pastries, tea and coffee.

Moreover, we give importance to make our guests feel special. Once more, thank you for your recognition and for your kind words.

Warmest regards from Istanbul to New York.

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#80 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#167 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#113 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#54 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#144 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#62 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing