We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hotel, helpful staff, clean room and pleasant stay”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #169 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm hotel, helpful staff, clean room and pleasant stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel staff was very welcoming, helpful and careful during our whole stay.
The room was clean. Overall, a very pleasant stay.
From the hotel, touristic places like Ayasofia, the Blue Mosquee, the Spice Bazaar are easily accessible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deto Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    172
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
96
207
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This very well small Ottoman Hotel was a great place to stay in Istanbul . The location to The Mosques, Topkapi , Grand Bazzar and restaurants is superb and only a few minutes away. Staff cannot do enough for you to make your stay both comfortable and memorable.
The hotel interior is very welcoming and we had the Sultan's suite which was charming.
This hotel also has a lovely little restaurant (which is also very popuar with non residential guests) and serves very good traditional local/turkish cuisine

Room Tip: If you really would like an extra touch of luxury book the Sultan's suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the arena for 4 nights. Staff were very polite and helpful, rooms were more than adequate. Dinner and lunches seemed expensive by local standards, and charged in euros. Also, breakfast coffee and fresh orange juice was not part of the fare. The juice was obviously powdered and added water.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A highlight of my recent holiday in Istanbul was a Turkish cooking class offered by the Arena Hotel.
The hotel chef along with Naz who provided the necessary translations supervised our preparation of some classic Turkish dishes in the hotel's kitchen. We then enjoyed the meal we prepared in the dinning room. We we also provided with printed copies of the recipes. The experience and hospitality was first class. The price was right too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The best hotel ever! Very well located in Old Town. Rooms were quite lovely with all needed amenities. Breakfast was wonderful! But what made this the best hotel was the staff. In particular, Naz who helped my friend and I with a two day plan for the city and Erhan who handled the shuttle reservations as well as printing our tickets for flight home. We were leaving at 4:00a.m. And Erhan arranged for our breakfast. Staff was welcoming, courteous,and so helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Front Office Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for chosing Arena Hotel to stay and many thanks for sharing your very good review at Tripadvisor.
We will be glad to see you in Arena Hotel again.
Best Wishes
Erhan Eregizli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent a few nights in the Arena Hotel on a recent visit to Istanbul. This hotel is centrally located in Sultanahmet very close to Blue Mosque and Haga Sophia and is the perfect spot for exploring the area.The hotel was tastefully decorated and very clean. We had a concern in the bathroom as the bath was extremely high-sided and would have been a challenge for anyone elderly staying in the room - perhaps a small step could be installed? I also picked up on the sense of 'selling' in the hotel from the staff. There seemed to be a rush to sell us tours etc on our arrival even though we firmly stated that we did not need any. I was surprised at this approach. I also felt the breakfast was a little on the mean side - there could have been more in the way of bread and pastries rather than piles of rubbery pancakes. I got the sense that the hotel was trying as hard as possible to cut back wherever it could. Which brings me to my final point - a word of WARNING: avoid the hotel restaurant. We (stupidly) had a meal there one evening and regretted it. The restaurant is disorderly with places not set up and draughts coming from doors and windows. The menu is priced in Euros which is fine but we certainly did not get what we paid for - the equivalent of 150 Turkish Lira (approximately UK£53) for two bowls of soup, two bowls of pasta and a shared creme caramel. I would expect something very special in London for £53 for two people and therefore would certainly have expected something far better in this hotel. While this quality and service continues I would highly recommend that you avoid eating there. I would also recommend that you shop around for Turkish baths and transport to the airport before committing yourself to anything the hotel offers. I highly recommend this hotel for location and atmosphere - just be firm if you do not require any tours and avoid that restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for staying in Arena Hotel and sharing at Trip Advisor. Your comments and suggestions are important for us to improve our staff and service in the future.

We re-checked the bill you indicated in your review. We would like to remind you that you totally paid 140 Turkish Liras (59 Euro) for the things you listed PLUS two gins, one tonic, and a bottle of water. Considering the quality and service we provide, we also keep in mind the other restaurants around Arena Hotel, and then we set our prices. If you get in contact by sending e-mail to info@arenahotel.com, we would like to send the bill with the details to make that dinner clear.

We also would like to inform you that our front desk is here to make you enjoy your trip in İstanbul as much as possible. Giving information about the hotel facilities and İstanbul is their routine.Also the tours or transfers the front desk provide are confidential. Considering the previous experiences, our customers rely on the service they get from Arena Hotel. Thus they prefer to get a tour/transfer from the front desk. It is totally our customer's choice to get or not to get.

Finally again thank you very much for sharing. We would like to welcome you back in Arena Hotel again.

Naz Küçükserim
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I reckon the hotel is great value for your money. The location of the hotel is great and their breakfrust had a nice variety. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

The major drawback of the hotel is their receptionists. They felt more like sellers. Their are very helpful as long as you are interested in their options which they make money on. As an example, one receptionist did not really want to help us getting to the airport by tram and metro, instead he only wanted to talk about the airport shuttle they could help us with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#153 of 1,149 in Istanbul
471 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#63 of 1,149 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,149 in Istanbul
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#129 of 1,149 in Istanbul
835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#73 of 1,149 in Istanbul
380 reviews
Amber Hotel
#86 of 1,149 in Istanbul
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing