We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Celal Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celal Sultan Hotel
Ranked #162 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bern
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely and friendly hotel in the historic Sultanahmet. Staff is absolutely nice , helpfull and just amazing... thanks for making my stay a special one . I ' ll be back for sure !
Enjoy the superbe view from the 4th floor. Unfortunately I only explored it in my last night...well worth to stay there for a Rakı or a tea.
I had a choice of two rooms..both were nice and mine 212 had a huge shower and a cosy bed. There is no view..but if you stay in Istanbul you will not spend time in your hotelroom , do you !
A special thank to Mr. Aziz Erdoğan for his friendly support.
It is always hard to leave ...a piece of my heart is in Stanbul since my first stay 25 years ago .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Iranlover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    296
    64
    16
    8
See reviews for
148
313
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at the Celal Sultan Hotel for 4 nights at the end of November. We got a nice spacious room with a comfortable bed and a lovely view of the Hagia Sofia. The hotel is in a great location, close to sights like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace etc. There is also a tram stop nearby so the rest of Istanbul is also easy to get to if you don't want to walk.
The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful and every morning there is a nice breakfast buffet which will keep you going for most of the day. We can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a nice stay in Istanbul close to all the sights. Another advantage of the hotel is that the road is not accessible for all traffic, which makes the street nice and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a really nice hotel and the prefect starting point if you want a hotel in Sultanahmet. It's one block from the basilica sister,blue mosque and aya sofya. Hotel is very clean and their lobby room in front of the elevator is very cosy.

The only one negative thing is if you need internet access for work or anything you need to make sure you get a room near the elevators on each floor which is where they have their wifi routers located on each floor because our room ( I think 307 ) was located furthest away from the elevators and we couldn't get wifi in our room so we had to go to the lobby to use our laptops.

Excellent breakfast. The guy who handles the bags and works their little bar at night is really nice and helpful

Room Tip: get room close to the elevators for better wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This boutique type hotel is beautifully decorated. The hotel staff were very charming,helpful and polite. My hotel room was a good size and the bathroom was lovely. There is also free wireless access in this hotel the code is given to you when you check in. The room had a telephone, hairdryer,air conditioning& heating,double glazing, kettle and mini bar (not used). This hotel has 2 conference rooms and bar in the lobby. At the top my hotel is a great restaurant with a good view of the Aya Sofia and the Bosphorus. This hotel is about 5 minutes away from The Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace and the tramway is great value for money, but walking around you soon discover new short cuts to get you where you want to be. Remember to check out the Grand Bazaar and try a fish sandwich near the bosphorus they are filling,tasty and fresh. We spent 4 days in this wonderful city, the weather was good but please remember to take some sensible walking shoes if you plan on seeing the sights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

For us the welcome and help could not have been better. The manager went out of his way to guide us in sightseeing and shopping which we really appreciated. The location is perfect and we could walk everywhere - the principal sights are close. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Celal Sultan provided us with a quiet haven in this huge bustling city, being down a quiet side street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wye valley
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Istanbul while our other hotel was carrying out repairs. This hotel is located only a few minutes walk from The Basilica Cistern and the Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque are also within a few extra footsteps away. The hotel is tucked down a small side street off a busier street with restaurants, coffee shops and carpet shops but there was no noise problems.
The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and always smiling. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated with a good supply of tea's and coffee.
On the roof is a nice terrace which has a good view of the Aya Sofia where you can have drinks and cocktails. Up some more steps there is a small restaurant where we had a nice meal in the evening with the Aya Sofia all lit up. A good start to our trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Istanbul is an impressive city; vast with almost 14 million people calling it home. So as a traveller new to the city, you want to make the most of your stay. Every trip starts with selecting your home away from home. And for my friend and I, Celal Sultan became our home for the 7 days we spent in Istanbul this past September/October. It came highly recommended by friends who have stayed there countless times over the years. We certainly weren't the first they encouraged to stay there, and those before us enjoyed a similar experience to ours...wonderful!

A common review theme for this hotel is its ideal location. Confirmed. Most every major sight within the old town is a short stroll away, restaurants and bars are abundant and public transportation is a hop, skip and jump away making it super convenient to make your way to other neighbourhoods throughout the city, as well. Although if you're a walker, you can get just about anywhere on foot if you have the time and stamina.

Although not the fanciest hotel on earth, it's certainly one run with great care and pride. The rooms are rather cozy and clean, the beds are comfortable and noise wasn't an issue for us at all (we stayed in superior rooms 315 and 215 both with a view of Aya Sofia). If you remind yourself that it's not the home you designed and keep, then you really should have very little to gripe about.

What made our stay most enjoyable though, was the hotel's team. Everyone was friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, and incredibly helpful. We're particularly thankful and grateful to Aziz, the hotel's manager, who went above and beyond to ensure our experience in his city was superb. Without his recommendations and guidance, we never would have discovered some of the hidden treasures known mostly to locals. Be sure to ask him where to find the world-famous kebap restaurant, Hamli, the delicious restaurant offering home-cooked Turkish dishes or the spectacular roof-top bar high above the river offering a particularly breathtaking view - the latter, both in Beyoglu.

Enjoy your stay. We definitely did :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#155 of 1,149 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#274 of 1,149 in Istanbul
535 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#107 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celal Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celal Sultan Hotel

Property: Celal Sultan Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkimsogut Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Celal Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Celal Sultan Hotel is surrounded by the most important historical monuments of Istanbul amongst which the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodromme Grand Bazaar, Topkapı Palaceand underground cistern are situated with in a five minutes walk.All rooms have IDD phones, minibar self control air-conditioning system, private bathroom, hairdryer, LCD Digital TV, tea&coffee maker, digital safety box, free wireless internet access, double glazing windows and some rooms with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celal Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celal Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Celal Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing