We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Istanbul for the dedicated Traveller”
Review of Celal Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celal Sultan Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I took a short break in Turkey on the end of a business trip and booked into this hotel at my sister's recommendation; so I was already looking for it to live up to my high expectations. It did! The reception staff were courteous but not over friendly and from my only mentioning in passing that I was recommended - I was upgraded at no extra charge to one of the available luxury rooms. The arrangement of the whole hotel is very charming and has a delightful feel of previous age; but all the facilities are modern, work well and the staff cannot do enough to attend to any request. The location is both convenient for all the major tourist attractions, but not so near as to be overbearing. Also the hotel's advice on which guided tour to take, was both considered and appropriate - after a short conversation about my preferences. Finally the roof terrace and restaurant was magnificent - both in terms of the view and the service; I can recommend the traditional Turkish dishes, especially the Shepherd's Kebab - served in a sizzling earthenware pot. And more than reasonably priced. All in all a hotel I will return to and can recommend to any traveler looking for the balanced blend of charm and competency, with a welcome change from the homogeneous main chain brand of hotels that I usually stay in for my work.

Room Tip: 1st floor luxury room, whilst close to the street - is quite quiet once the normal day's busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 751 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there 5 nights last November '12. The hotel is very well located two blocks from the Hagia Sophia. My room was in the smaller side but very comfortable. Bathroom was quite clean and of good size. The only caveat is that faced the street, above the main door so there was lots of noise coming in, even with the windows close at early hours in the morning.
Breakfast is plenty and with good variety and the staff is very helpful. I had offered an complimentary ride to or from the airport due to my 5-night stay.
I think the hotel is a very good value for the price, including free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A well run and well positioned hotel close to the major sites in Sultanhamet. The tram stop is easily accessible. The hotel itself is attractively furnished and the staff helpful. The superior double room I stayed in had a magnificent view of Hagia Sofia. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom attractive.

Room Tip: I have stayed at this hotel three times this year and have found each room I stayed in had its own c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vertigo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel originally for 2 reasons - the location and the price

If you are on a short trip to Istanbul it's a perfect location to visit historic locations such as the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace. These are all within easy walking distance.

The view from the rooftop is fantastic especially at night

Overall we had a great stay in a well run, clean hotel with excellent staff, especially Yunus the bar manager !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Istanbul. The location is excellent, 1minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace etc.
The staff are extremely helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patandivanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is perfectly placed for a relaxing break. It is in a quiet side street, but in the very heart of the old town. The best sights are less that 5 minutes away. Perfect for travelling with children. Don't miss the turkish baths round the corner - we were a mixed aged group of 13, 35 and 52, and all had a memorable experience - you can wear a bikini if you are shy. The advantage of being in centre is that you can time your visits to miss the crowds. Even in November the Topkapi Palace was packed by mid morning - we were glad we went to see the harem early.The Yerebatan cistern is down the road - well worth a visit. The old Bazaar is about a 7 mins walk.

Catch a tram to the port for the boats and bus to Ayup with a cable car to the tea shop with the best view of Insanbul - inspirational.

Hotel is clean and nicely decorated, with a bar in reception, and a roof top restaurant which is quiet and affordable with great views. Apart from one unhelpful man on reception, all the rest of the staff were lovely. We had a double spacious room on the front in the newer part of the building, and a connecting pair of small ensuite doubles at the back - all on the third floor. Clean and basic in an old and characterful building. Air conditioning, teamaking facilities and fridge in all rooms. The perfect place to stay if you like a great location, and a quiet hotel with real character.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneofPettsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here when we first got to Istanbul for a friend's wedding. We booked the Deluxe Room and when we were checking in the receptionist first said "room 313" and then changed his mind and directed us to the second floor. The room was clean, more standard than deluxe. We were more focused on going out and making the most of our whirlwind trip. The location is great, right in the middle of Sultanahmet so you can walk everywhere. The view from the rooftop is Hagia Sophia, which at night is wonderful. We did not eat at the restaurant and found the wine to be overpriced. Overall it was an ok stay, we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUENDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,435 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#291 of 1,163 in Istanbul
544 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#157 of 1,163 in Istanbul
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#789 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#189 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,416 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celal Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celal Sultan Hotel

Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkimsogut Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Celal Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Celal Sultan Hotel is surrounded by the most important historical monuments of Istanbul amongst which the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodromme Grand Bazaar, Topkapı Palaceand underground cistern are situated with in a five minutes walk.All rooms have IDD phones, minibar self control air-conditioning system, private bathroom, hairdryer, LCD Digital TV, tea&coffee maker, digital safety box, free wireless internet access, double glazing windows and some rooms with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celal Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celal Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Celal Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing