We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find....”
Review of Celal Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celal Sultan Hotel
Ranked #180 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, NM
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“A real find....”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Celal Sultan for 5 or 6 nights in June, 2011 and it was a great little hotel.....location couldn't have been better for exploring all the sights in the Sultanhamet, and, from there, it was easy to take trams to other areas of the city. We upgraded to a superior room when we made our reservation, and that turned out to be a wise decision as our room was actually a little suite with an adjoining sitting area....it was in the back or side of the hotel and quiet; we didn't care if we had a view! The room was all done in white and kept very clean. Breakfasts were generous and staff couldn't have been nicer. We had dinner one evening on their rooftop restaurant and it was nicely prepared.....however, there are many wonderful restaurants within walking distance that proved to be more memorable. We used travel advisor as our guide to dining and that worked very well for us.. One caveat.....we were with two other couples who did not upgrade their rooms and they were not very pleased. We would definitely stay at the Celal Sultan again. It was lovely to step off a plane after a long overseas flight and be greeted by a driver who took us directly to the hotel......gratis. A nice and much appreciated perk.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    296
    64
    17
    8
See reviews for
148
313
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Great location, great rooms and the staff was very helpfull. ask the staff everything you don't know about this country: prices of taxis (the príce is not fixed; hours to dinner - at 9pm is already to late, etc...)
We will recomend this hotel!

Room Tip: Chosse a corner room with view and ask for a copple bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

very good hotel! clean rooms,very well located, nice personal,good breakfast, everything do you need, provides this hotel! I can just recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senem292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

for once a hotel that really lives up to the reviews, it is as per their website within easy walking distance of all the major sites around Sultanhamet. The hotel itself was really "cosy", staff were all without exception friendly and helpfull, i felt that the help was genuine and the staff really did care about us having a good time in Istanbul. On arrival my son and i were upgraded from a std room which we had booked to a superior room, one word, excellent, cleanliness and housekeeping were impecable. To sum up it really feels your are at home from the moment you check in, next trip to Istanbul we will be rebooking. Only negative review but not related to the hotel was a reccomendation by a concierge to visit the FENER fish restaurant....it had no atmosphere, 1950s european decor, poor selection of fish on the menu (which was not cooked or presented that well) and without doubt was the most expensive meal we ate in Istanbul- avoid.

Room Tip: cannot really comment here as we only stayed on the second floor, but if this room was an indication...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The breakfast, rooms, location and price for a stay made this hotel a great deal. However the service provided by the staff made Celal Sultan feel like a home away from home. Concerige Cihan's recommendations for great place to eat was always perfect. I look froward to going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenieNYC254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celal Sultan H, Manager at Celal Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,
We were really pleased to read your review. I was delighted that you enjoyed all of the service and facilities the hotel has to offer. I have past on your kind words to my team here and I look forward to welcoming you back to Celal Sultan Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards and many thanks

Hamit SARI

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

this is the second time at the hotel. and if I go to Istanbul again will stay here again- it is very well located, nice room, friendly people, good breakfast; I definetly recommend it.

Room Tip: if possible, stay in the new area because the rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vera m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celal Sultan H, Manager at Celal Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,
I was absolutely delighted to read your glowing review of our hotel. I was delighted that you enjoyed all of the service and facilities the hotel has to offer. I have past on your kind words to my team here and I look forward to welcoming you back to Celal Sultan Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards and many thanks

Hamit SARI

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Nice welcome at airport and reception desk, breakfast very complete and very good, cleaning of oom excellent, we had a very nice stay and will go back again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celal Sultan H, Manager at Celal Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback.
We will even work harder to keep the same level of service and maintenance that you have enjoyed. Thanks for your time and hope to have you again in the future.

Best wishes from istanbul,
Hamit SARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,155 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#269 of 1,155 in Istanbul
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#106 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celal Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celal Sultan Hotel

Property: Celal Sultan Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkimsogut Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Celal Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Celal Sultan Hotel is surrounded by the most important historical monuments of Istanbul amongst which the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodromme Grand Bazaar, Topkapı Palaceand underground cistern are situated with in a five minutes walk.All rooms have IDD phones, minibar self control air-conditioning system, private bathroom, hairdryer, LCD Digital TV, tea&coffee maker, digital safety box, free wireless internet access, double glazing windows and some rooms with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celal Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celal Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Celal Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing