We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff, and super location”
Review of Hotel Turkoman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Turkoman
Ranked #526 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We picked this mid-priced hotel from two good guide books, and having read some great reviews, and happily we were not disappointed. In fact we were most pleasantly surprised. Our first commendation has to go to the staff. They are so friendly and helpful, and turned out to be the best advisors on all matters Istanbul. The location is unbeatable, being directly across the piazza from Blue Mosque, and the view of the mosque and the sea from our room and the top floor breakfast room and terrace was riveting, day and night, claiming many photo shoots in different light conditions. Very quiet position although close proximity to shops, restaurants and transport. We were two couples and had two adjacent front rooms facing the mosque. The week's stay went all too quickly as the hotel was very comfortable and made us feel so much at home, although it must be said that it was still low season, and hotel was less than half full. We will certainly not look for another hotel for our next Istanbul visit, whenever that may be.

Room Tip: Most definitely front facing, and preferably second floor - the highest with rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahiman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to see in the New Year and we were very pleased with our choice.

The main plus point is the location - a stone's throw from the Blue Mosque and therefore an easy walk to the main attractions in the old part of the city. The view from the top floor, where breakfast is served and evening drinks are available, is lovely.

The hotel has the character of a family run business and our room was spacious and tastefully furnished. Service was consistently friendly and helpful.

My only criticism is that the hotel is expensive compared to others in the city. Although attractive, this is not a higher end boutique hotel (e.g. we had a basic bathroom that easily flooded; breakfast was nothing special) which the room rates tend to suggest.

There is a lot of choice of small hotels in Istanbul so we would be inclined to look for better value next time.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a corner room with a magnificent view of the Blue Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie_FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent location minutes away from all major sights yet quiet as set back from the hippodrome. The rooftop terrace has one of the most spectacular views for breakfast I have ever seen!
Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are relatively basic but good value for money considering the location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We started our trip with 3 nights here to get over jet lag before starting a backpacking journey, traveling with two children aged 7 and 9. This hotel is steps from a number of restaurants and a short walk from the Blue Mosque. The view from the rooftop restaurant is beautiful. Staff are very friendly and helpful, especially in the breakfast room. They picked us up from the airport. Quiet and clean. A great base for a few days of sightseeing. We were there for Ramadan, and this was a perfect location to enjoy the nighttime festivities. Wifi was spotty in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BES213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I spent six nights at Turkoman Hotel in late Sept-early Oct 2012---couldn't have been more perfect! Two minutes away from all the great sites yet hidden away in a noise-free cul-de-sac, wonderful staff (especially the manager Rifat) very good breakfast and heavenly view from the terrace where you can while the hours away!

Also we adored the hotel owner Elif her delightful dog Kookie!

Please ask for the corner room on the 2nd floor. Charming and well-priced. Bathroom a bit small but we didn't need to spend long in there. Too much happening in "happening" Istanbul!

Sunil & Shalini

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunillimelightsethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great small hotel 100 metres from Hippodrome, within walking distance of all the must see attractions. Breakfast choice good, the area is upstairs with great views to Sea of Marma and Blue Mosque. When you stay you need to use the trams at the other end of the Hippodrome, its easy fast and cheap 2Lire. If you cant work it out watch the locals or ask the ASK ME kids in the blue shirts around Aya Sofia for help,

Room Tip: 4a has a balcony and is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay-and-david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

First of all, it's not really an "hotel" in the stricktest sense, it's much cozier and more like a guest house...but I like that. Our room was very small but suffiecient for a 2 night stay and clean with a GREAT view overlooking Sulthanamet Square and the Blue Mosque.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK, the dining room has an impressive view that provides the perfect start to each busy day in Istanbul!

Overall we enjoyed our 2 night stay here, and the location is right on Sulthanamet square. Litteraly 2 minutes walk from great tourist sights and the tram line.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msNightglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#288 of 1,163 in Istanbul
354 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#20 of 1,163 in Istanbul
690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#247 of 1,163 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#391 of 1,163 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,163 in Istanbul
790 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#426 of 1,163 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turkoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turkoman

Address: Asmali Cesme Sokak No 2 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $40 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turkoman 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Turkoman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turkoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing